We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kids had a good time, but overpriced!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Hudson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went there weekend in July and kids had a good time! It was our first stay at any theme campground, so at this point I can not compare with the others.
What I found strange is that check in is latest by 9pm, but we went there with the friends who came earlier, they announced to the reception that we are coming and should be there in a few minutes. The answer they got was “ too bad if they do not show up to 9pm, we can not check them in!!!!” . This comment was very surprising, I understand the working time / hours.... & that somebody might be late ... but if reception knows it is about few minutes delays and they are categorically declining to help … this I don’t understand. Luckily we got on time there and were able to check in.
We got the river side campground which is next to the highway… so there was a noise from the cars and trucks all night long. So if you can not sleep with the noise don’t get the campground next to the river side.
Campgrounds are generally small, we were lucky and got the bigger ones, but some of them are so small, I think tent is the only thing that can fit in.
Beach is small, yet river was nice and clean. Pictures of the beach from the site is actual ones … so If you like it from there you will like the beach. Usually pictures are much nicer then the actual areas, so you won’t be disappointed in this case. Pool was small, I expected to be bigger but kids didn’t mind and water in the pool wasn’t perfectly clean, but it was OK.
Water slide was filled with the extreme cold water and was in the shade … so few slides and then kids get to run to the pool to get wormed.
Generally trip was good, kids had a good time for that day as they were with the friends. There was 2 play grounds, swimming pool, and other free activities they enjoyed. We didn’t purchased activity band for the kids due to the short length of stay, but I find that these activities are to be free in the theme camp especially knowing that campground prices are higher comparing them with the other…. Also I found expensive 8$ for the 1/2h ride on the pedal cart! ; 8.5$ for the bag of wood ; 10$ per additional kid …. Money can go easy here ….…

I can recommend this campground for the first time campers with no experience with the other themed parks …..

Room Tip: stay away from the river side camplground if you can not sleep with the noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nata N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Glad to hear your children had a good time at our park! It is unfortunate that you did not participate in our pay one price program which includes one mining bag, a souvenir slush cup with one free slush, unlimited jumping pillow, train rides, unlimited pedal cart rentals, and unlimited mini golf for $23/person for the length of your stay. Most of our campers find this program to be a very good value and their children love it!

Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again!

Gina Lenhard
Owner
Jellystone Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

After leaving the North Java Yogi, we decided to try out as many Yogi's as we could because of the amazing time we had at North Java. We booked this trip along with another family and were expecting the same experience. Boy were we wrong!! This campground is NOTHING like the brochure, website or the other Yogi. We arrived an hour early after traveling 6 1/2 hours to get there. They absolutely refused to let us in. We went to the bathrooms and they were dirty and smelly! The kids refused to use them. When they finally let us in, we were lead to our site which we believed was to be on a beach. Nope it was a cliff that was completely covered in poison ivy and poison oak. The river was more like a creek with no fish in it. The staff was miserable, including the owners. We even heard one staff tell other campers that they hated children! We paid the extra money for the wrist band so the kids (ages 4 & 5) could do the activities. More waste of money. The activities were none existent, the mini golf is really old and mosquito infested. The kids enjoyed the bounce pillow which was only open at weird hours through out the day and staff was never there. Anytime there was an activity, there was a sign stating "if no activity staff is present, please go to the store". We ALWAYS had to find someone because no one was ever around. The wagon ride was horrible. We were told adults had to sit to the front of the wagon because the wagon was run down and they were afraid it was going to break. No singing and until the very end when she sang "The wheels on the bus". The pools were dirty and there was even an incident where a child had a bowel movement in it and it was never emptied out! Also, the waterslide is a blow up with a sprinkler at the top. TONS of porta potties located all over and they smelled! They were being emptied one day while we were at the pool and we watched it drip all over the walkway to the water slide. We no longer went to the pool area. We took a walk around the campground and most sites were all covered with poison oak. Also, we thought about getting the tubes that we were included with the wrist band purchase. These no longer exist. We had to venture out of the park each day to keep the kids busy and ended up spending a TON of extra money because there simply was nothing to do at the Yogi park! The friends we went with brought their own golf cart due to a permanent disability. The staff was rude and even came to the site asking who the handicapped person was. The staff did not know where sites were located and seem to not know what they were doing. After this visit we are contemplating whether we would ever go to another again. This place was a HUGE waste of money and there is nothing "family" about it. We would not recommend this site to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Do not come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah2eB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are truly saddened to hear that you were extremely disappointed with our park. Please contact us directly at campercare@adirondacksjellystone.com. We hope to have the opportunity to win back your confidence.

Hoping to hear from you,

Gina & Mike Lenhard
Owners
Jellystone Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We drove from Florida to go to paradise pines with our four small children and one teenager. We met my dad and stepmom there as well. We were hoping to have five days in the quite mountains. Instead we got a campground with extremely loud highway noise! No matter where you stay in the park this true. We stayed on the river. At night going to bed you would occasionally be woken up terrified by the loud truck noise. The highway is directly across from the park. So instead of a peaceful nights in the mountains I felt like I was sleeping under a highway bridge. I paid $340 for five nights. This was because I had to pay extra for my teenage daughter and her boyfriend because they are 18. Even though we were on one site. They charge you for almost everything for the kids. They want you to buy a $23 bracelet for each child to be able to jump on a bounce pillow and miniature golf! Why aren't these things free? They charge $10 for a HALF HOUR rental for a petal cart. So essentially you get a couple of playgrounds and a pool for free, which is the same you would get at most parks. They want to charge you $8 for each child to have breakfast with Yogi! $8! They get pancakes and bacon. Which is $3 to $4 at most diners. Their arcade was very old and most games didn't work. The games were ancient. A couple of games took my kids quarters while I was there and the lady at the desk said we would have to wait til the maintenance guy came? Wouldn't give my kids their quarters! The sites themselves are good size but offer no privacy. It feels like you are camping in a grass parking lot! They charge you $8 for a bag of firewood, a bag! basically 7 small logs. they wont let you bring logs in from anywhere else claiming its because of these tree boring bugs. we bought wood from a guy a mile away for $2.50 and got twice as much but they said we couldn't have it because of the bugs. really? if the bugs are a mile away aren't they there too? good things, the bathrooms were good and the river was nice but had a lot of trash. I would think the park would make an effort to clean their area of the river.Avoid this place ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE KIDS! It is not worth it. You can find much nicer, quieter parks for less money that offer the same things for free. The kids were bored most of the time because of the lack of things to do, lack of trails, and they charged for everything.

Room Tip: Don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are sorry that you did not bring your concerns to our attention during your stay. We would have done our very best to resolve your concerns during your visit. Not to be argumentative but please let me address some of your concerns in your review. Our park is located conveniently from the highway and at times noise is a concern if you are camping in a tent on the river. Our wood is kiln dried and $8.50/bundle. Each bundle is one cubic ft. Purchase 5 bundles for $38. Campers are asked to purchase their wood from us because of a current beetle infestation problem which will kill our trees and is spread State to State by transporting wood. When a camper brings wood from the outside it is impossible for us to know if it is from out of State or down the road. This campground rule helps prevent losing a valuable asset of ours and something our campers love--our trees! Our cart rentals are $8 for a half hour of fun or included in our pay one price program for $23/person for the length of your stay. Our $8 breakfast gives you a choice of french toast & bacon or waffle sticks & sausage. Each breakfast includes juice, milk, coffee and the tax. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy yourself and are hopeful you may give us another chance to earn back your patronage.

Sincerely,

Gina Lenhard
Owner
Jellystone Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This being our first time camping of any sorts, we didnt have any idea of what to expect. From ths photos, the place looked good and so we went with the flow. We got to book a 1 BR cabin with kitchenette, bathroom and utensils. The camp ground was pretty full as we checked in on a Friday evening. Although the camp is right next to I-87, finding it was a challenge to us as the GPS took us somewhere else when we mapped the address given on their website. The check in process was a little long and they asked us for a deposit of $110 dollars for the weekend (all cash, mind you). So, we coughed up all the cash we had to check in and this being a remote place, I was a little scared to not have enough cash but luckily they had a CC machine and an ATM around.

The area surrounding this camp is a sleepy town - so, if you head out after 6 pm, good luck finding anything until you go 1-2 exits south on I-87. The cabin was pretty clean but we had issues with the stove - the managemenet tried to correct it but after a few tries and arguments, they put in a new electric stove in our cabin. The place has a good number of activities for the kids and mine enjoyed every activity (jumping pillow was their favorite). The camp charges a $23 for unlimited activity band for the kids and it was worth it for us. The pool and the hey ride were good too. There were quite a lot of mosquitoes in the mini golf area and the kids had a problem playing depite having bug sprays put on. All in all, it was a little overpriced ($335 for the weekend) for the vacation.


2)

Room Tip: Suggestions/Tips to fellow travelers: 1) Carry extra cash for deposit / purchases 2) Dont use thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prashanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves however disappointed that you did not find us to be a good value. You did mention that your children enjoyed our activity wristband program and you felt it was really worth it since it gave the kids a bunch of things to do for the duration of your stay. A few of our campers have mentioned that the GPS directions sometimes take them left off the exit instead of right but for the most part if you are using our address of 4035 Blue Ridge Rd, North Hudson NY 12855 the GPS directions will be correct. The mosquitos have been a bit worse this year than in the past. The wet weather, especially from this spring, has increased the mosquito population throughout the Northeast. We truly hope your next camping visit will be with us! Thanks for letting us know how you feel.

Sincerely,

Gina & Mike Lenhard
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Don't waste your money...this will definitely be the last jellystone we will ever stay at...everything was shut down and staff left at 5..what? Really?..I can't believe this place hasn't gone under...it is really pathetic.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psbsavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We have tried to contact this guest and were hoping to speak with them prior to responding to their review. We had hoped to have more insight regarding their concerns. Any constructive criticism from our campers is used to improve our operations. During the spring and fall the hours of operations for some amenities and facilities will be shorter than the summer hours. We suspect this may be part of the problem. Hours of operation for any of our amenities and facilities is available at time of making a reservation. We encourage this guest to contact us at the park and hope for the opportunity to serve them again. We are confident that their next stay will be a good one.

Sincerely,

Gina Lenhard
Owner
Jellystone Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent a cold, rainy Memorial Day weekend tent camping at Paradise Pines. While the weather gave us all the benchmarks of a lousy time,
the fun activities and the helpfulness of the park staff made things much better. The kids loved the Breakfast with the Bears, the Stuff Your Own Bear activity, and the Hey Hey rides. The kids had a great time slopping around the rainy playground and the heated pool allowed for swimming in 48 degree weather. Made lemonade out of lemons at theis nice campground. The only thing is...be prepared to cough up the cash...the nicer activities are not cheap and sometime you feel that you are being nickeled and dimed to death.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shudson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Glad to hear you had a blast at our camping resort! The weather was certainly challenging over the Memorial Day Weekend but everyone seemed to make the best of it and enjoy themselves. While many of our activities are included in our nightly fees, there are some activities with nominal charges. These are usually activities which go above and beyond and provide the participant with either a ceramic piece, stuffed bear or a craft for example. Hope to see you back at the park again this season!

Gina Lenhard
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We traveled here last summer and had a great time. They had put us in a site that there was no way our trailer was going to fit so they quickly made things right and changed where we would be. We had a great site that was at the very end of the campground. It was a bit far away from things but it was very private. The waterslide, pool, train, hayrides, jumping pillow, mining space, pedal bike and night time dance party was all fun. We look forward to going again this year. Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HereWeComeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thanks for reviewing our campground on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your site and all that is offered at the park. Hope to have you camp with us again!

Gina Lenhard
Owner
Jellystone Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Paradise Pines

Address: 4035 Blue Ridge Rd, North Hudson, NY 12855-2209
Location: United States > New York > North Hudson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in North Hudson
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing