We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Adirondack Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk Lake Lodge
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Rustic Adirondack Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I can only comment on the Inn rooms. They are fairly small. One person with luggage basically fills it up. Two people will be cramped. The bathrooms are small, too. Small, but functional. You go to the Elk Lake Lodge to savor the rustic Adirondack experience. Don't go the Lodge expecting the Waldorf Astoria and you won't be disappointed.

It's a 4-mile drive on an unpaved road from the main road to the Lodge. To give you an idea of how big their property is. 12,000 acres. The views from the dock and the dining room are breathtaking. You are looking straight into the High Peaks region of the Adirondacks. Trailheads to several High Peaks dot the property. Abundant canoes & kayaks are available to explore Elk Lake and search for loons. Waves, if any, will only come from the wind. No motors allowed on Elk Lake.

Breakfast, dinner, and a trail lunch are included in the daily price. Considering how small the resort's capacity is (40 guests max), I don't consider it expensive. 40 guests enjoying 12,000 acres and a private lake. Plus, unlike other resorts, they don't charge a premium for single occupancy. If you're solo, you actually only pay 1/2 the daily rate. A bargain, in my opinion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BigBirdPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Elk Lake Lodge is a great place to go as a couple, with friends, kids over 3, or solo. This is a Lodge not a resort, there are no bells & whistles. The rooms are small & the bathroom's even smaller. The place is kept clean. This was my second stayed in the main lodge with 6 friends to go hiking in the high peaks (trails practically right out the door) & paddle around Elk Lake. The food is very good & plentiful especially after a day of strenuous hiking. They also have nice trails if you just want to go for a walk in the woods.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Elk Lake Lodge in the Main lodge. The purpose of our trip was to do some hiking in the Dix Mountain Wilderness region right next door.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful. A very warm greeting and so much explained to us for a just a one night stay! We were made most welcome.

The spot is as beautiful as all the photos and more.

The lake was gorgeous and refreshing after the 90 degree heat in July. It is an extremely healthy lake and little tiny fish will swim around you and occasionally bump into you, but no harm.

The rooms are tiny. The bathroom has a murphy door and if you weigh over 200 pounds you are not too likely to get in this room. There was a real problem with condensation (I think due to the extreme heat). Water dripping everywhere. The bathrooms do need an overhaul, but you don't really care because you are not there for a 'luxury' resort experience.

Oscillating fans were provided in our room to help with the extreme heat. Very nice.

The food is okay. The turkey dinner was not the best. Meat was dry and potatoes without much flavor.. but the dining room is full windows and you don't really care because the view and humming birds are so breath taking! Trail lunch fantastic. Staff prepared it for us extra early so we could 'hit the trails' before the heat.

We will return next year. If you want to get away from civilization... this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with a lake view. The windows in the rooms are small, but is at least nice to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The setting is one of the best of any place I have ever stayed. The constant calling of the loons over the lake makes for an eerie and magical experience. There are lots of trails to hike on, and canoes, kayaks and rowboats to make use of. The rooms in the main lodge are small and somewhat claustrophobic, and the bathroom in our room had some maintenance issues. The sitting room is beautifully decorated in the old lodge style. The staff was wonderful and the food was fine, if fairly basic. The packed lunches are a great idea, so that you can be out enjoying the wilderness all day and not have to come back to the lodge for lunch. My main issue is the high cost, which would probably keep me from going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Phila
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a remarkable property and a perfect base for an active or laid-back weekend in the Adirondacks. It's a wilderness lodge and the rooms are small and basic, with fans but no A/C, so if your accommodation standard is "Chateau" and you need gilded bedspreads to be happy, this won't suit you. On the other hand, if you keep room time to a minimum & would rather be outside on an Adirondack chair listening to loons, or on a trail through the woods to a lookout, this is a great choice. The lake is a beauty with about 20 little forested islands, and canoes and kayaks are yours for the taking. Staff is extremely friendly & helpful - we misjudged a long climbing day, were 3 hours late for dinner, and they said "We were worried about you - we saved 4 plates", then warmed it all up and fed us in the dining room. Guests tend to be easygoing and convivial too. Main room is classic Adirondacks - deep wood, handmade chairs, mounted stag heads... Massive breakfasts (if you want), trail lunches (check the boxes), nicely prepared dinners (choice of 2), all included in the very reasonable rates (about $150 pp). Easy access to the High Peaks and Adirondack towns like Keene and Lake Placid. My first trip, but definitely not my last.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ushuaian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the quintessental wilderness lodge, the setting is heart stopping, dining has great view of lake, staff very friendly and helpful, mind the bells for meals, food is good not great but who cares! Canoes and kayaks ready to go for exploring lake: we saw trout,loons(ok one loon), a beaver lodge 8' tall, mother merganser duck with 10 babies in tow, all manner of frogs and real silence: no jet skis,loud partying etc., afternoon tea a delight: i hope nobody finds out about this place! We loved it here.....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Finnegan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Horrible, needs new beds. Nasty foul suage smell. Duck crap on beach. Other than that not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IveBeenThere7times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hudson
21.6 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
19.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
20.1 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
20.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Lake Lodge

Property: Elk Lake Lodge
Address: Blue Ridge Rd., North Hudson, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Hudson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in North Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Elk Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Lake Hotel North Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing