We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place”
Review of Elk Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk Lake Lodge
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the quintessental wilderness lodge, the setting is heart stopping, dining has great view of lake, staff very friendly and helpful, mind the bells for meals, food is good not great but who cares! Canoes and kayaks ready to go for exploring lake: we saw trout,loons(ok one loon), a beaver lodge 8' tall, mother merganser duck with 10 babies in tow, all manner of frogs and real silence: no jet skis,loud partying etc., afternoon tea a delight: i hope nobody finds out about this place! We loved it here.....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Finnegan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Horrible, needs new beds. Nasty foul suage smell. Duck crap on beach. Other than that not too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IveBeenThere7times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were on day trip, it is awesum.. We are planning on come back with our friends from the south for some R&R.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank susanhaileybury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

A group of friends gathered at Elk Lake Lodge to enjoy a little decadence over a weekend when we hiked the Dix range. It was the perfect location to embark on the hike, and return in time for a swim to clear away the days mud and sooth tired muscles before enjoying a hearty and delicious dinner (salmon or ribs). We enjoyed everything from nice wine selection to the berry pie dessert while gazing out over the quiet lake, watching the loons and hummingbirds from our table. We sipped coffee in Adirondack chairs on the waters edge, and watched the sun set while being serenaded by the loons. In the evening, you can socialize on the deck or in the large living room (with fireplace). We topped off our night with a canoe under the full moon.

We stayed in the main lodge and awoke to the wonderful smell of breakfast cooking - which included something for everyone. It was very quiet even with the windows open. The rooms were small and basic, but clean. We only used them for sleeping. The remainder of the time we were either paddling (rowboats, canoes and kayaks were available at all times), walking the trails (local maps provided), or taking in the spectacular, unspoiled views of the Adirondacks surrounding the quiet waters of Elk Lake.

It is relaxed and unpretentious. I suggest you bring only casual comfortable attire suitable for the outdoors and a good book. And don't forget your camera.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fiftyfiftyspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My wife and I agree with much of what has been posted. Only thing that might be said is that some (both our visits) rooms in the main lodge are furnished with two twin beds. If you are expecting a queen bed, better ask when you reserve. Wine is available with dinner by bottle, reasonably priced. Lake paddling with a canoe is the best! Not a guest? You can park and hike the trails based on the parking areas provided. We love this place but the per person price is a bit difficult. We know of some beautiful accomodations that are similar in price but offer much higher luxury and even a similar view.(lake Placid Lodge) Nature lovers will be thrilled...as long as they have the pocketbook.

rw

Room Tip: ask about the room location and furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rwjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The only way to “legally” enjoy the 12,000 acres called Elk Lake is to be a paying guest at Elk Lake Lodge which consists of the Main lodge, Emerson lodge & seven cabins of various sizes scattered on the property adjacent to the lake. 2010 prices range from $120 per person for a room in the Main lodge, $125 for Emerson lodge & $190 per person in the cabins. On top of lodging costs, add 3% bed tax, 8% state tax & a 17% gratuity which increases the daily per person rate to $154 or $244. FOOD: All prices include 2 sit down meals per day & a “bag” lunch. (Note: when I stayed there a few years ago you could either join them for a sit down lunch or “bag” lunch; now everyone gets a bagged lunch. Breakfast is the usual fare & orders are placed off a simple breakfast menu: eggs, bacon, toast, muffins, waffles, pancakes, fruit, yogurt & granola, etc. Dinner offers one meat, fish & a vegetarian dish. At dinner you order your bag lunch which is available each morning with your breakfast (a sandwich of your choice plus condiments & munchies). Since you are sure to be busy enjoying the outdoors all day, the bag lunch works well. We ordered veggie sandwiches each time & they were great. You also get cookies, chips, trail mix, juice or water. Simple but adequate. The dinners were OK. Since I don’t eat meat I opted for the fish each time. The first night was stuffed haddock which was really dry and pretty tasteless; however the cod was done just right. Dinner comes with a small salad, homemade soup & desert. The homemade soups were fantastic! Side dishes were basic (plain) & desert was good. Don’t expect gourmet fare – but you shouldn’t go hungry. I do feel they could make some improvements with the dinner venue – from not over cooking the fish & veggies to making desert a bit grander (some ice cream with the pie would have been nice). Around 2 pm they put out coffee, tea & cake & right before dinner they set out a tray of cheese, fruit & their special blend of cucumber/mint iced water. They do take into consideration any dietary needs so be sure to let them know when you make your reservation. The wait staff is very friendly & although there are set times for breakfast (7 am) & dinner (6pm) there is some room for flexibility if you let them know in advance. Personally, I felt dinner was way too early considering it was summer & you want to stay out as long as possible hiking & enjoying the day vs. rushing back or missing dinner. LODGING: We stayed in the Emerson lodge this time, previously I had stayed in the main lodge. When I stayed in the main lodge I found it to be very noisy due to guests coming & going, checking in/out, hanging out in the common area or socializing on the deck throughout the day. Of special note were the wooden screen doors that slam shut - their loud banging can get a bit annoying, but it’s much worse at the main lodge where there is more activity, especially if you are trying to rest or take a nap. Emerson Lodge consists of 3 units; 1 downstairs with its own deck & 2 upstairs that share a small balcony. The unit downstairs has a small living area, bathroom & a couple bedrooms. The 2 upstairs units have 1 bedroom with a queen bed – this room faces the lake, then there is a small bathroom (tub/shower) in the middle & in the back is a room with 2 twin beds. There is a small common area that rooms 2 & 3 share with a tiny frig, table & sofa. The view from the top balcony is awesome & if you have night viewing binoculars I strongly suggest you bring them! One warning: we shared Emerson with some great people – they were very quiet & went to bed early. However, due to the vents in the floor of each room, you can plainly hear every word spoken by those staying in unit #1. This could be a huge problem if they have a baby, noisy kids or like to stay up late & party. And, if you stay in room #1, then you have to listen to everyone walking around upstairs which I’m sure can be pretty annoying too. We didn’t get to see the inside of other cabins but just based on location & view my favorites were Hadley & Windfall. We brought our own small coffee maker to have in the room & extra pillows although we didn’t need them because we had the ones off the 2 extra twin beds to use. No air conditioning folks – fans are provided but normally the cool Adirondack evening air will suffice. WEATHER: Be prepared for anything: hot, cool, wet & windy! During our stay the 1st week of August, the daytime temps were only in the high 70’s & evenings dropped to the low 50’s! ATTIRE: Their website makes Elk Lake look more upscale, even fancy & because it’s not that cheap one might think it is. However, it is simple Adirondack living. Leave the designer duds at home – all you need is your hiking gear, bathing suit, maybe some sweats – good shoes - anything outdoors. I brought some nice high-end jeans & tops to wear for dinner – they never made it out of the bag. And ladies, forget about any sandals or shoes with heels. Trust me on that one! ACTIVITIES: Elk Lake is a mecca for outdoor sport lovers. From swimming, hiking, trekking & canoeing. I believe you can also fly fish - with restrictions – ask the staff. The lake is huge and you can spend an entire afternoon exploring it & the various islands (canoes/row boats provided). There are 3 trailheads that I know of you can canoe to & several more if you take the hike around the lake (7.5 miles). You could spend a week there & never hike all the trails. Sunrise Mountain is a must (appx 6 miles rd trip) & although not stated, Boreus Mountain does have several viewpoints. Macomb (on state land) offers a pretty spectacular slide for the more adventurous. You can hike the flat 3 mile (1 way) path to Clear Pond or drive & either walk a short distance in or take one of the canoes. We were not aware of the canoes until we just happened upon them but they offer a quick way to get across to Jones beach which is a perfect sandy beach and great swimming (this is a large pond, clean & clear). Just remember to grab paddles from the lodge before you head out. From Clear Pond you can do 2 short hikes up Clear Pond Mountain or Grandpa Pete Mountain. We also brought our mountain bikes and explored several old back roads and trails. OVERALL: Yes, there’s definitely room for improvement: the room furnishings are old & beat up (a can of spray paint would fix that), the doors on the rooms are cheap hollow particleboard, our bathroom needed a coat of fresh paint & the shower was so low if you were over 6’8” you’d hit your head on the ceiling, dinner is served too early & often overcooked & noise could be an issue depending on where you stay – BUT these things quickly melted into the background with each breath of the fresh mountain air as the night sky became a quick replacement for Netflix & the call of the loons is better than any tunes on the radio. Elk Lake transforms you as stress melts away, I’ve never slept so well & this place brings a new vitality to anyone with chronic health issues. I love it there, it’s perfect & I hope it never changes (well except for maybe those darn screen doors!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shadow10cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

If you're an "outdoors" person, this place is pretty close to heaven. For 3 glorious days, we hiked on well maintained trails to beautiful mountain overlooks and a secluded waterfall. We canoed beside the loons, beaver huts and blue herons. We even used a rowboat on a more blustery day that brought back memories from my youth.

We stayed in the Emerson Lodge, a very rustic accommodation that met our needs for showers and rest between our outside adventures. The small porch on the upstairs unit we had provided an amazing vista of island studded Elk Lake and the surrounding Adirondack High Peaks.

The food was very good, think "comfort" food, not fine dining. High carbs/protein meals matched well to the active life style associated with a preserve of 12,000 acres begging to be explored. A 7am breakfast bell beckoned us from our slumber to the beautiful lodge dining room overlooking the wonderful panorama of the Adirondacks. You are met with the smell of bacon/sausage/coffee being prepared. Time to "fuel up" for the day's adventures. Nutritious trail lunches were provided and allowed for extended daily outdoor excursions without returning to the lodge. During meals at the lodge, pleasant attentive service was provided by the likes of "Ellie" who treats everyone like she is their favorite aunt. Mike Sheridan, the manager, was extremely helpful in suggesting hiking itineraries, or a refreshing local brew to enjoy after returning from the day's explorations. The main lodge common sitting area provided a comfortable setting for card games, good conversations, reading or connecting with some of the other guests etc. Think massive fireplace with crackling fire fending off the evening's chill. Walls are adorned with taxidermy mounts. This is your quintessential wilderness lodge that provided an excellent setting to create some special family memories.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nmsmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hudson
19.1 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
24.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,335 reviews
20.0 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
69 reviews
24.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
22.8 mi away
The Fern Lodge
The Fern Lodge
#1 of 8 in Chestertown
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Lake Lodge

Address: Blue Ridge Rd., North Hudson, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Hudson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in North Hudson
Price Range: $192 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Elk Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Lake Hotel North Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing