We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ocean View Guest House(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
$112
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$855
$475
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$237
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Resort & Spa(Beau Vallon)
$371
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clef des Iles(Mahe Island)
$296
$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$751
$642
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$235
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Bel Air(Victoria)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
525
325
136
56
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
325
136
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelsopen plansunset barour honeymoonupgraded to a suiteinfinity poolwalk along the beachmain restaurantfacing the seaspg platinumocean frontlong beachla diguethe hotel managerother islandsindian oceanhired a car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here for six nights at the end of July - our first visit to the Seychelles. We picked out this hotel after careful consideration and research and were not disappointed.
Our Hibiscus room was brilliant - luxurious in every respect and I cannot fault it in any way. I suppose it is pot luck where you end up, but we were very near the sea with a good view, and a quiet terrace. The hotel doesn't exactly have a beach, but the expansive Beau Vallon sands are a short walk away.
The hotel staff are fantastic - friendly, helpful and always looking as if they were thoroughly pleased to see you! We were on a b&b deal, and the breakfast was a good quality buffet. If I could single out one member of staff, it would be Bernadette who is simply a lovely lady - she took a real interest in us, and was so keen to tell us about all things Seychelles.If you ever meet her, you will know what I mean!
Now the rest of our meals were a slight problem for us - we'd spent nearly all our budget on the hotel itself, so the cost of lunch and dinner came as a bit of a shock, even though we'd read what it would be like. The evening buffet would have been about £45 each (without drinks) so we didn't have it. We did try Le Bourgeois for supper - and it was expensive but outstanding (so much so that we decided to hang the cost and go back on another evening) The ambience here - right by the sea - is lovely. Bar snacks at lunchtime are large portions - so you could easily share a pizza for example. Drinks are very expensive (more so than in the Maldives, which I never thought possible!) but the hotel don't mind if you buy your own at one of the shops and keep them in your room fridge. The solution to all this is to go down to the restaurants in Beau Vallon, just down the road. The Coral Strand beach side restaurant is cheap and excellent, and the hotel also boasts a more expensive Indian restaurant. There are other options here as well, including the Coco de Mer hotel up the hill towards the main road.
We like to mix up our holiday a bit, so while relaxing by the hotel pool was fantastic, we also wanted to see the rest of the island. So we hired a car at the airport, and were really glad we did. driving here is a breeze, and there is so much to see, from mountains to mind-blowingly gorgeous beaches. I really would recommend it - the hotel can arrange car hire for you if you prefer.
One final thing - the old stories of everything being paid for in dollars or Euros no longer is the case. There are new regulations requiring everything to be priced in local Rupees only - BUT you can ask to pay in whatever currency you like (though this might be awkward in the local supermarket...). So get some Rupees at the airport - they will be useful at the shops- and certainly for fuel if you hire a car (garages will not be impressed if you offer anything else other than cash in Rupees).
I'd go back tomorrow if I could. The weather was a mixed bag of mostly hot sunshine with a few showers and cloudy bits. But it was never anything other than a very pleasant climate. Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove is a relaxing and very pleasant place to stay. Expensive, yes, but for the experience - worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christanya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFCO, Manager at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the nice comments posted on TA about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that our staff and services have surpassed your expectations hence making your stay a memorable one.

Your comments have been shared with all the concerned departments to ensure that we continue to deliver and excel in the services offered. We hope to see you again at our hotel for next holiday in Seychelles.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We chose this hotel based partly on reviews from others on Tripadvisor and extensive research online regarding climate and the hotel location. We knew that it would be expensive once we got there, so were prepared, we also knew that there may be a slight shortage of hot water (mentioned by previous reviewers).

The hotel staff, from the moment you arrive, are the friendliest and most welcoming I have ever experienced. You are made to feel like a VIP wherever you are in the hotel. All the reception staff were outstanding, particularly Sophia.

The room we had (an Hibiscus room) was lovely. It had its own patio and was not overlooked at all. You could see the sea through the gap in the trees. No there wasn't enough hot water but we got by. It was such a minor factor that I feel it hardly worth a mention. The bed was excellent and so comfortable.

Breakfast is a buffet, a very good buffet! The service once again was excellent. In particular, Bernadette was so considerate and helpful. Yes the tea did take a few minutes to arrive sometimes, but so what!? We were here on holiday, not some high pressurised business trip so who cares? The food was excellent. There were also pages of news printed out in several languages given to each guest as they sat down, which again was very thoughtful.

The main reason we went to the Fisherman's Cove was to relax by the sea/pool. This we achieved. The weather was great, mostly sunny but enough cloud to make it bearable. The pool area isn't too busy and the sun beds are top quality with loads of umbrellas.

In the evening there are two restaurants at the hotel. The first is a buffet (where breakfast is served in the morning). The theme of the buffet changes every night. Some nights there is live entertainment which is of a good standard. The service we received was again excellent. The outstanding member of staff in the evening was Sophia (another Sophia). She was so kind and attended to us so well. The buffet is expensive, but we knew that before we went so it was our choice to go there.

The other restaurant on site is Le Bourgeois (an a la carte restaurant). The food was absolutely outstanding. It felt like a real top class restaurant. Service once again was excellent.

After dinner we would go to the bar in the hotel most evenings. This is where we received absolutely exemplary service from the bar manager, Ron and the staff, Alette and Samantha. They were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. On our last night they even got together to present us with a bottle of the local liquer, and requested the band in the restaurant to sing a song dedicated to us! Fantastic! I have never experienced such welcoming, hospitable people in any hotel that I have ever stayed in (and yes I've been to alot so I can make a balanced assessment).

There are other restaurants nearby which are very good. Our favourites were La Scala (Italian and fish) and The Boathouse (traditional Creole buffet). Both are a short taxi ride away and there is always a taxi driver waiting in the reception area. We always used a driver called Jim who was very courteous. He also took us on a 4 hour tour round the island for half the price the tour companies wanted.

To summarize, this hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the beach. The hotel staff made this holiday perfect. Le Meridien should be proud of the service these people provide. We hope to go back in the not too distant future as it was the best holiday either of us had ever experienced.

The most disappointing aspect to this holiday was the way in which other guests treated hotel staff like servants. Despite these guests' ignorance, the hotel staff remained courteous to them at all times. I couldn't have done it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaysaregreat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementFCO, Manager at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive review shared on Trip Advisor on our hotel.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at Le Meridien Fisherman’s Cove and took with you good memories of your holiday. Your comments have been shared with all the concerned departments to ensure that rectifications and improvements can take place where required.

Thank you for staying with us and we do look forward to welcoming again in the near future.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This is a lovely hotel that we stayed for 5 days during our honeymoon. The area is great part of Mahe, an island where it really helps to have a car or you are limited to your own resort. The hotel itself is lovely to stay at, fabulous pool area and the rooms are spacious, beautifully designed, your own little villa in the garden. We found the restaurant beside the hotel quite overpriced yet great quality. There are other restaurants nearby within a 5 min drive so plenty of options to eat. The gym, spa and design of the place is really lovely, great breakfast (included). Note there is another Meridian on the island, which we visited, it is highly inferior so not worth it even though it's cheaper. Don't forget to bring rubber shoes/booties to wear in the water as sharp coral on the shores and you can get bitten by sea urchins (lethal) if you go into the water near rocks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon in June 2010. We certainly agree with most of the other reviews in that this hotel sits in a stunning location on a beautiful beach and certainly our room was spacious and beautiful, directly overlooking the sea.

Our criticisms relate to the level of service which we felt was lacking for this standard of hotel. Specifically, we arrived after an overnight flght at 8.30 in the morning to be told that our room wouldn't be available until 3pm. Although we were allowed a shower in the Spa we then indeed had to wait until 3pm to get into our room.

Whilst I accept that most hotels dictate a similar check in time, it is worth pointing out that in the Seychelles long haul flights tend to arrive/depart first thing in the morning and to see people checking in and then waiting to get into their rooms as we went for breakfast was a daily occurance. Indeed when we checked out, we left our room at 6am as did others. Surely this situation could be addressed by the houskeeping staff starting earlier to fit in with this daily pattern?

Secondly, the daily servicing of the room was poor. We came back to our room at 2pm on our second day to find that our room hadn't been serviced. This was a problem for us in that we had a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea and wanted to sunbathe there every afternoon and didnt want housekeeping staff working around us! We rang reception regarding this and although things improved in the following days, there were still days where our room wasnt serviced until after 1pm.

Breakfast was also disappointing in that the hot food wasnt particularly appetizing and the service was slow. Every day it took around 15 minutes for tea/coffee to arrive at our table. We could never understand the reasons for this as the restaurant was never particularly busy.

Finally, we found Le Meridien to be particularly expensive. Yes, we accept that the Seychelles is expensive per se but the cost of a small beer in the hotel bar was around £7 as was an orange juice. When we did eat lunch at the hotel, two club sandwiches with a couple of beers/orange juices worked out close to £40. Although we never ate at either, the evening buffet menu was priced at 57 euros each (plus drinks) and the a la carte restaurant was frankly prohibitive, with starters on the menu being priced at around £20.

We ate out every evening, and enjoyed Les Corselles several times which offered very good food at far more reasonable prices (around £100 for two including drinks). The Boathouse was also a reasonable option, offering a cheap creole buffet.

In all we did enjoy our stay at Le Meridien, particularly due to the location and the standard of our room but would in all honesty be in no hurry to return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthamptonHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed at Le Meridien for a week and absolutely loved it. The rooms were amazing, the service was perfect. We also loved the food and wine. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews