We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Mahe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Mahe”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I couldn't wait to review this hotel and its staff, hence why I am writing this while still at the Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove. Everything in this place is absolutely perfect - the suites are extremely spacious and with wonderful ocean views of the cove. The beach access allows for all sorts of activities in one of Mahe's loveliest spots. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, the food is delicious as well as varied and the decor so tranquil that makes the thought of leaving a thought not worth thinking about. The sunset bar across a pontoon provides an excellent view of both inland and out the sea (where complimentary snacks are provided) with the highlight being the Seychellois sunset (or the fact that you can get a massage on it with the sounds and sights of the sea surrounding you). The hotel also features an infinity pool with small cascades, sun lounges, snorkeling equipment hire, hammock by the sea (equally important!), tennis court, spa, and a fully equipped gym, as well as a sea-side restaurant and bar. This must be the crown jewel of Mahe for sure!

Room Tip: Ocean-view villa is the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear GeorgeKyriakos,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

I am delighted to read of your wonderful discovery during your journey with us and that you enjoyed the comfort our rooms pre-occurred and facilities available. It was indeed a pleasure to have you in our company and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    294
    120
    46
    29
See reviews for
127
623
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located in one of the busiest and long beaches in Mahe island . We enjoyed a long romantic walks in the late evenings. The water is of a normal colour. Nothing of these impressive blue waters you see in other parts of the island. The location is good because of the easy access to the capital , some restaurants and supermarkets . All restaurants in the island are very expensive and not of a very good quality .
There is no beach in front of the hotel but you walk a very short distance (1 min from reception ) and you are on the beach.
My suit was clean but not the toilet . The decoration of the room was modern but the WC was completely old style and not renovated , and not hygienic looking . Actually this is the thing that turned me off about this hotel. The service was good .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Melina B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

I regret to read that your expectations was not fully met during your journey with us, feedbacks from our guests allows us to constantly improve our service to ensure a memorable experience and Le Meridien discovery.

I wish to highlight that our standard of cleanliness is of high priority to our brand standard.

I hope to have the opportunity welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is what I call ultimate relaxation. Lying at the pool deck of this hotel is one great place to forget that a hectic world exists out there. The scenery of vast ocean, mountains and islands before you is truly amazing.
I guess all of Seychelles is truly amazing, but going by the poor reviews I had read of other hotels in Bel Ombre I must say this was a gem. Staff were friendly, hotel was in good condition and rooms were clean.
While the hotel has no beach right in front of it, you can still enjoy the pristine beach that is adjacent and that was never too crowded.
The fine dining restaurant had truly amazing food. Seychelles hotels are expensive and it is advisable to get half board where possible, there were not too many options for good dinner even on this side of the island as expected. That said there are a few dinner places within walking distance (beach access) at low tide or taxi ride (R100) when it got dark, I was not too impressed with most.
Lovely location and I would definitely go back for the great views once I manage to beef up my depleted bank account . Had a great time in Seychelles.

The bus ride into town was less than 20 minutes and cost 5 rupees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Njere,

Seychelles is truly paradise and we at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove ensure that our guest experience total relaxation and comfort whilst staying with us.

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful journey with us, thank you for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the most remarkable hotel stays we had over the last 5 years. Now we did travel quite a bit in that period but have never felt so warm and friendly in a 5 star hotel ever. At times we wonder if that was real. All we had to do was to talk to them and all of them, from the GM to the gardners, took us in with open arm and made our holiday very special. We actually found the team at this hotel very different to the most of the other ones. Please let me elaborate.
1stly I did book through an agent and the hotel actually published a rate substantially low. With the help of the hotel personnel, I somehow managed to get the rates published. In my conversation with the hotel, I also learnt that the airport transfer offered by the agent was 3 times the price charged by the airport!!!. Hilda was our contact from the hotel. Fantastic to work with.
The hotel is not new. But is spotlessly clean. The staff is very professional, courteous and help is only a request away. The room was specious and comfortable. Never had an issue of bugs or insects despite its proximity to vegetation. NO MOSQUITOS either!!!
The breakfast spread is good but limited.
We Asians get bored with a typical English breakfast after a while and on an instance like that, my wife Rehana spoke to the waitress and she actually offered something different for the next day. And she indeed kept her promise. Rehana had a very original creol breakfast the next day. She thoroughly enjoyed it with tears in her eyes. She felt so special. Now we have never had such kind gesture in any other hotel, not even in our own country. We subsequently learnt that the hotel had even consulted a Sri Lankan staff member to figure out a suitable meal for us. Later we learnt from the GM that the hotel would do almost anything within their means and resources to meet client requests. And this came at no extra cost!!. A similar request in South Africa triggered a price that did put us off in an instant.
The dinner is expensive but the spread is great and changes on a daily basis. We also had a few meals from restaurants outside. Meals of such quality and taste hardly came any cheaper. If you have a flare for curries, you would love the dinner spread.
Water is expensive but who would buy water from a hotel. There is a decent shop down the road. We bought all our water from there. Infact the hotel provided transfer took us there even before we got to the hotel. For 200 rupees, we bought 21 bottles which along with the 2 complimentary bottles we get from the hotel daily, was sufficient for the whole trip.
We did not try the restaurant. But we used the pool bar.
The hotel is in a very convenient location. The beach is fantastic. Although it isn’t private, we still enjoyed all the privacy we ever needed. One of the most popular beaches in Bel ombre is just a walk away.
If you ever happen to select this hotel for your next break, talk to the people in the hotel when you get there. You will find the Hotels GM from breakfast to way past dinner. Now he is a wealth of local knowledge. So are the others. Talk to them and see how they respond to you. You will be amazed. WE WERE!
In conclusion, I believe this hotel has done a remarkable turnaround under the present team and its only fair and just to them that you ignore all negative comments prior to 2012.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lakmin S,

Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay, your kind comment will be shared with our team.

Our associates pride themselves in ensuring that each guest departs with a remarkable experience during their journey at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove. It was a pleasure to have you in our care and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon for another Le Meridien discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I knew that we had arrived at the perfect vacation spot when we stepped out of the taxi into the open lobby, which looks out directly onto the beach. We were welcomed with a beautiful juice cocktail and smiling faces. Our room was one half of a bungalow duplex with a terrace directly facing that same beautiful view. The room and bath were spacious and tastefully decorated. The property is maintained to the highest standards. The gardeners are hard at work every day, and their dedication shows. The housekeeping staff does an equally beautiful job. The front desk staff were always helpful with our inquiries, and the restaurant and bar staff seemed like old friends after a couple of days. This hotel is in an indescribably wonderful location, but the staff is what makes it a perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Kyhoma,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that our associates attended to your needs thus guaranteeing a memorable and comfortable stay. They work extremely hard to ensure each guest feels special and belonged during their discovery at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you in our care and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just got back from our vacation in Seychelles and had an amazing time there. We stayed for slightly more then a week in Meridien and was very impressive by the service of the staffs especially Sophia & Nigel. The front desk staffs are really helpful and the hotel manager was also very involved in making our stay an unforgettable one. Thumbs up for the staff!

We had the suite facing the sea and the beach are just steps away. Despite that, we still enjoy the tranquility and waking up to the sound of the wave every morning :) There's tea session every day from 4-5 and you can enjoy complimentary tea, coffee and cakes while watching the sunset next to the Le Bourgeois restaurant. It was simply heavenly to sit back, enjoy the sun set as you sip your tea/coffee. Totally enjoyed ourselves and will definitely recommend this hotel to those who are going to Seychelles

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cactemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Cactemp,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

Thank you for reminding us of the comfort and tranquility that our suites offers and i am delighted to read that it met your expectations to ensure a relaxing holiday. It was a pleasure to have you in our care, it is our aim to ensure that each guest feels special and belonged during their journey with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon for yet another discovery.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had the pleasure of recently staying at the Le Meridien and our expectations were exceeded. The staff consistantly went beyond the standard call of duty to ensure our stay was one that we will never forget. This extends from the staff at reception, to the waiter/waitresses at all restaraunts onsite and the spa staff. What a treat!

Room Tip: choose beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jugal K, Management at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Arti J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove.

Such pleasure to read of your wonderful experience during your journey with us and I can assure you that it was indeed an absolute pleasure to have you in our care thus ensuring a memorable holiday.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
13.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
0.2 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
10.4 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Property: Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Address: PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Fisherman`s Cove Hotel Bel Ombre
Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Bel Ombre
Bel Ombre Le Meridien
Le Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing