We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, unique room, great concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing location, unique room, great concierge”
Reviewed February 23, 2008

My husband and I spent a part of our honeymoon in the Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove and we had a great experience there. The room had a unique floor plan with very nice furnishings. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful and went above and beyond in assisting us with our sailing plans. My only complaint was that the omelette's station cook was reluctant to prepare fresh scrambled eggs for me.

  • Liked — The lobby, the bathroom
  • Disliked — The omelete's station cook at breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    292
    117
    46
    28
See reviews for
123
616
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

My husband and I just got back from the Seychelles. We spent the first five days in Mahe at the Fisherman's Cove. We were very pleased with our time spent there. We had a huge fabulous suite overlooking the ocean. The staff throughout the resort were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast buffet that was included in our stay was great--lots of fresh squeezed juices and fruit, delicious breads and champagne. The Hermes tolietries were a nice addition to our room. Complimentary bottled water and the tropical fruit basket were very much enjoyed during our stay. We used the small gym, plunge pool and steam room daily. Only 1 complaint-- The pool was adequate-- but not as nice as the pictures portray and much smaller--so if that is important--you might look elsewhere. Overall a wonderful experience and would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Liked — oceanview room
  • Disliked — pool was small
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneBoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We first went to the Seychelles in 1981 and then again in 1982, staying at the Fisherman’s Cove on both occasions. In those days the hotel was privately owned, had only 38 rooms and was listed in Rene Lecler’s seminal work, The 300 Best Hotels in the World. It was the very first tropical island resort we ever visited and we absolutely adored it.

Back after 26 years, the Fisherman’s is now a Meridien with nearly 80 rooms. Of the hotel we remembered, only the soaring, thatched nave-like lobby remains. Much of the lovely old garden has been removed to make way for the new swimming pool, while the small original pool has been replaced by a smart new restaurant. Despite these major changes and a significant loss of its old cosy, quaint charm, it is still a good place to stay. Some dislike it because it lacks a proper beachfront. We disagree: the cove at the end of Beau Vallon is extremely pretty, full of birdlife at low tide and always quiet. And you can always stroll down to the sweeping arc of Beau Vallon anytime you want to.

There is, though, a serious problem to be addressed and that is the cost of staying here. In 1982 we stayed three weeks in the Seychelles - two weeks at the Fisherman’s and a week on La Digue - and that trip, including airfares, cost about £1000. One night at the Fisherman’s now costs about £400 and that is, frankly, a rip-off. As nice as it is, the Fisherman’s is not a five-star hotel, though it thinks it is and indeed we were told as much by the receptionist. Our room, in Papaya Wing which has the best views, was a pretty, Creole-styled, split-level junior suite but the bathroom was outdated, with grubby or cracked tiles which had been badly installed. The finish was pretty lousy. We hated the huge plasma TV set which we never turned on.

Breakfast buffets were also a bit below-par for an alleged five-star hotel and a seafood buffet dinner lacked the sort of variety one expects - no individually grilled prawns, scallops or lobster for instance, just pre-cooked salads. The cost was staggering, about £150 for two, so we ate out the next two nights at a sensibly priced, charmingly retro and very buzzy Italian place called La Scala. The Fisherman’s smart restaurant was virtually empty every night, probably due to the ridiculous prices.

As I have already said, the once spacious grounds have been reduced to make way for additional rooms and the new pool. The pool is strikingly designed but can get very crowded and the management have imposed a one-towel-only regime and fine you £30 if you fail to return it. There are also far fewer sun loungers than guests, many of whom were Russians on our visit.

We hired a car and drove the entire island. This was in December 2007, the height of the rainy season, though it hardly rained at all. Mahe island has seen quite a few new hotels since our earlier visits - notably the Banyan Tree and Maia - but I still think Fisherman’s Cove is the best option. It doesn’t exactly offer value for money but the location is great, and it isn’t a pretentious zen-spa sort of place, either. It is a welcoming, traditional tropical resort, the perfect place for our three-day stay before we joined a Christmas cruise to Aldabra, Mayotte, Mozambique and Zanzibar.

  • Liked — Pretty setting
  • Disliked — Over-priced everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We stayed 3 days in Le Meridien Fisherman hotel this summer.
We had written many reviews about the hotel so we were a little bit afraid of what to expect.
The hotel itself is fantastic. It has no private beach BUT the public one is only 20m away from it.
We were upgraded and our room was really nice and had explendid views to the ocean.
The hotel is fantastic BUT the staff is even better.
People in Seychelles are very nice and friendly. Staff from hotel were always willing to help.
We loved our stay in Seychelles and I really recomend the Fisherman cove hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ferni02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Really and truly a great hotel. We booked a suite there during our stay and the service was up to the standards of the best European hotels. Great hotel for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We stayed in the Fishermans cove in July 2006 for 11 nights.

After a long overnight flight from the UK, we were pleased to be given a warm personal welcome and a soothing drink.
At first the hotel takes your breath away as its sits on the edge of a large bay with panoramic views across the Indian Ocean to the sister islands.

All rooms are clean and designed to a good and modern standard with the usual 5 star facilities. They all have ocean views. Ask for a balcony on the upper levels and not a terrace as the views are that much better. The only thing i did not like was the lack of privacy when it came to the toilets in the room. Unless you like to take a dump in front of your partner (a flimsy blind) i would reccomend using the restaurant loos.

The hotel is quite small and intimate with only 2 restaurants and 2 bars. The night life is very low key with most people opting to go to bed by 10pm. This is probably because the hotel is full of honeymooners who wish to ‘do the deed’ or it could possibly be the ridiculous bar prices.

Expect to pay around £6 for a small bottle of local beer, £11 for a short and mixer, £6 for a milk shake around the pool, £5 for a coke and £4 for a small bottle of water.

The food is excellent, but again expensive.

The staff are excellent and attentive but can get a little confused when it comes to working out your bill. Everything is billed to your room and I would strongly advise anyone to settle up daily as mistakes always happen.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Fishermans cove but would never return as it just lacked something. The Seychelles as a whole is overrated and, unless you have endless amounts of money and can go to a far remote island, you would be much better off in the Maldives, Mauritius or Caribbean.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The high prices
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Whatawickedname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2007

this was the third stay at Le Meridien Fisherman´s Cove and the first after the renovation 3 years ago. Many thing s has changed with the renovation but not the charm and ambiance of the Hotel. The staff deliver a genuine friendly and attentive service thoughout our stay, from the personalized check in in the room to the gastronomic outlets. Restaurant Bourgeois was one of the highlights at our stay due to the superb service delivered by the restaurant crew and the chef who has deserved a star. The chef comes every evening to every single table to the restaurant to verify the satisfaction of his clients and even offer tailor made menu´s for the next evening. The rooms are featuring open plan bathrooms and you can enjoy the sea view from any corner by still retaining privacy.

we will come back again

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradisebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
13.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
0.2 mi away
The H Resort Beau Vallon Beach
10.4 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove

Property: Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Address: PO Box 35, Bel Ombre, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Fisherman`s Cove Hotel Bel Ombre
Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Bel Ombre
Bel Ombre Le Meridien
Le Meridien Fishermans Cove
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing