We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rates, nice front desk but lacks character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Flamboyant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Ziguinchor B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Spent two nights over the Easter week-end there, having requested room on garden side a week before (reasonably quick answer by local standards).

Everybody knows the place so the taxi will drop you right at the front steps. Location is good (Ziguinchor proper is tiny though, so you can't really be far from the center), with a decent (slightly overpriced for quality, but portions are generous) restaurant from the same team just opposite.

Did not try the pool, which is quite tiny anyway. The rooms are on the basic side (bathrooms slightly better), and no mosquito net. The front desk team is very helpful however.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very cheap and it looks great.
The location is perfect, near the port and close to a few restaurants and markets... The place is beautiful, with a nice swimming pool and a nice terrace to get some sun. Some rooms are very nice, spacious and bright, some are darker and smaller, while the price is the same.
They have a restaurant just on front that is very good, but also very expensive for local rates. You can find much cheaper places for a good quality.
The service in the restaurant is very good, but the staff of the hotel it's quite bad. Disorganised and bad faced all the time. The cleaning ladies are lovely though.
No mosquito net, what it's a problem specially if you are on the first floor, next to the pool. They put some killing mosquitoe spray instead. It actually works, but you cannot stay in the room for a while.
The first room we had was very nice, but the shower was broken and the courtain bar fell on my head. The second one (they made us change the room) was smaller, and there was no water during the 2 mornings we stayed there (no shower, no toilet, no brushing teeth...)
It's spotless, really clean, and there is free-wifi. They have beer for a reasonable price.

So, suming up: the place looks very good, but we found many broken things, and it could be a very pleasent place, but the staff ruins it.

Still is a good option in Ziguinchor, not so many good hotels around,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

In a hot, dusty city this hotel is a relaxing oasis. The rooms were well sized, with hot water and soft pillows. Senegal is not as cheap as other African countries, but the value was pretty good. The service was on the whole very good, although you needed to catch the manager when she was in a good mood! Probably the best choice in town, especially at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

i stayed at le flamboyant after a colleague said it was "THE best hotel in senegal." the staff were very friendly, the hotel clean, dinner in the hotel restaurant (across the street) delicious, plus free wi-fi and a lovely pool. what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedwagon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We came to this very nice hotel just strolling through the streets of Ziguinchor. We stayed in another hotel at the riverfront and being not satified of that one (le Perroquet) we were looking for a better option. Recommended by the Lonely Planet we entered this hotel and immediately we felt that this was what we were looking for. But the question was, could we afford it?

Le Flamboyant was having an excellent promotion at that moment, and we were shown around the place. Wow this felt great and we deciced to move to here.
We rooms were spacy and airconditioned. The showers had hot water, and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms even had an small fridge and a tv. This was what we needed.
The pool was very attractive, especially for our children this was a big plus!
Wifi was widely available, and the staff was very attentive and nice for all of us.
What a niuce oase in hectic Ziguinchor!

The promotion that was running from july 1th to October 31th was 15.000 CFA for a room with a fan, or 17.000 CFA for a room with airconditioning.
For a triple with fan only we payed 23.300 CFA
This promotion was for the rooms near the pool only.
For the breakfast ; an additional 2.200 CFA

In the back there are more, even nicer gardenrooms available. They are more expensive and all have airco. They look very nice, and all have a tribal wooden statue near the entrance.

The only negative thing that I can mention is that the wifi breaks down sometimes (but just tell the reception and they will try to fix it immediately), and another very african problem is the countless flies at the breakfast. They serve the breakfast idyllic near the pool, which attracks whole swarms of flies. This is more an african problem rather than a problem typical for le Flamboyant I should say.

Owner Veronique is a very friendly and amable person.
We can recommend this hotel very much, it's a great spot!
Just in front of the hotel is a very nice restaurant as well, it's part of le Flamboyant and the food is very delicious too there.

Their website; www.flamboyant.info
mail; resaflamboyant@casamance.net

Room Tip: Teh budget room near the pool are excellent price/value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Acceptable hotel in downtown Ziguinchor, to be considered as an option for an overnight in case better quality accommodations (eg. Kadiandoumagne) are unavailable.

On the bright side, the hotel has a web presence and it quickly replies to e-mail inquiries. Full/half board, b&b or just simple overnight can be arranged (the hotel restaurant is across the street). Room rates are average for Ziguinchor, and promotions are advertised in the hotel web site. The hotel is centrally located, close to a market and the ferry terminal - probably they may organise a pick-up at the airport if required. Rooms have a minibar with soft drinks at cheap prices. There is a quick, 24/24 wifi service at no cost. Service is helpful but not really friendly. The hotel has also a little swimming pool.

On the dark side, hotel directions are not mentioned on their web site, so no hints are offered to those arriving with their own car. Furthermore, there is no hotel parking so you have to leave the car in the street... Contrary to what happens elsewhere in Ziguinchor, credit cards are not accepted. Room furniture is basic and surprisingly impersonal. The lock in our room (#108) had an issue, so we needed someone from the reception to come with us and open our door every time we returned! Our room also had no mosquito net -not even a hook on the roof- which posed a problem as mosquitoes were entering from below the door (due to the rains, at the time of our stay the hotel garden was a huge mosquito breeding place). Despite the boiler, we had no warm water at all. No remote for the a/c (which just slowed down mosquito activity) and available TV channels were just a handful.

All considered, it seems unlikely that we will return to Le Flamboyant, unless we are stuck in Ziguinchor for the night and no suitable alternative is at hand...

Room Tip: Try to get maybe a room on the first floor, swimming pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiviFrancoforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank marielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ziguinchor
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kadiandoumagne
Hotel Kadiandoumagne
#1 of 9 in Ziguinchor
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya
Maya
#14 of 17 in Cap Skiring
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Motel
Casa Motel
#3 of 3 in Ziguinchor
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aubert
Hotel Aubert
#6 of 9 in Ziguinchor
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel

Address: Rue de France BP 208, Ziguinchor, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Casamance > Ziguinchor Region > Ziguinchor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ziguinchor
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Flamboyant Hotel Senegal/Ziguinchor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing