We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kadiandoumagne
Ranked #1 of 9 Ziguinchor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dakar, Senegal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quite Charming”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Quite a charming gem in the middle of Ziganchour. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the hotel was and how clean it was. Beautiful views of the river. Good food at the restaurant and pleasant staff. The food does take a little long but once you get it, it is worth it and our fish and gambas were fresh. Our children enjoyed the pool which has an amazing view of the river and the pirogues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
19
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, but came here for lunch one day. Great spot by the river, and we could see people fishing and the ferry leaving for it's journey to Dakar. Very relaxing spot, and perfect for spending a few hours over a couple Gazelle beers. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjolicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I had a look at this hotel during my travel across West Africa and sadly I wish I hadn't. The rooms are very basic yet rather pricey. The bathroom we had a look at was a bit mouldy but OK for a three star hotel but not OK for the price you are asked to pay. The coffee in the bar is 10 times more expensive than in a local bar. The swimming pool is tiny and also a bit mouldy. The location is good but beware of mosquitoes. We looked at two other hotels and finally stayed in the hotel next door ( La Pierogue) that was cheaper, cleaner and offered clear prices and same views. Any money and Africa wise traveller should do the same.
When we looked at the rooms, we sat down in the cafe area to discuss if we want to stay or not. We ordered coffee and wanted to leave after paying but we were stopped by the hotel staff claiming that we should pay a fee ( a rather hefty one!!) for using the pool. We explained that we purchased the drinks and there was NO SIGN of any fees for staying in the bar/swimming pool area. No one told us about the fees either when we ordered or paid for our drinks. We explained that we were looking for a place to stay and we wanted to compare it to the place next door. Then the staff became very agressive. Suddenly 5 men came and cornered us (2 female travellers) against the wall. They shouted we have to give them 'their money' and would not listen to us at all. We asked to see the manager but if course there was no manager around. They started to threaten us and held our arms and even tried take our camera! It was a very scary experience and I cannot believe that actually happened. I hope the manager if the hotel will read this message and deal with his staff (especially Lamin). They have to understand that this practice is shocking and totally unacceptable and I feel obliged to warn other travellers. Hidden prices is one thing, physical approach towards the customers is another. We went to see the police afterwards but the policeman could not speak English so we could not explain what happened at all. We had to pay extra fees. All in all - avoid if you can. Who knows what other hidden prices might be there for you...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeon_Flux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Kadiandoumagne for one week in March 2013. I arrived in Ziguinchor from Gambia around midnight. I contacted this hotel to see if a room with air-con and full bathroom with hot water (can't stand cold showers no matter how hot the weather) and they did! I was pleasantly surprised of how reasonably modern and clean this hotel was. I loved the location, beautiful scenery with the rooms facing the river and the well kept landscape. I almost thought I was at a secluded American resort! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Ziguinchor and I plan to stay there again myself.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper lever are more expensive - they might not tell you that at check-in, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice place to stay in Ziguinchor, situation direct on the river, in the restaurant you can seat and have a drink on the river Casamance. Room n°5 no noise.
Many possibility to travel around, Cap Skiring, on the bayou, boat or canoe trip, fishing and visiting village around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crewswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

As I stated a few times I'm travelling in Africa a lot, this was the first time in Ziguinchor with an African and two European Colleagues (Ladies). The ladies had never been to Sengal before, we met them in Dakar on business - for me it's a first in Senegal as well. Our African colleague had booked the hotel - he was greeted with great pleasure by the staff and we immediately were made to be feel like family. We all had rooms upstairs, and they were of a quality which I had not quite expected in Zuiginchor, ACs were working, which I personally do not use, moskitonets were drawn over the beds. Of course there was the occasional power cut, which doesn't really bother anybody, and Internet - well it was working in our colleagues office, and sometimes in the hotel.
The restaurant was good, senegalese and french food, no porc.
They are organizing boat trips to the local reservations, unfortunately we didn't have time to go. We extended our stay for a day without any real valid reason just to 'hang out'
My ratings for the place seem over the top - but don't forget you're in Ziguinchor and not in a European Capital. People worried about contacting Malaria in Africa should take prevention,
as the hotel is right on the river

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Given my experiences of many hotels in West Africa that are outside the major cities, I had little expectations of the Kadiandoumagne. I was very pleasantly surprised. We had an upstairs room that opened on to a balcony from where there are beautiful views of the garden and rive (Rom 29). The air con worked, the mosquito nets were well-organized and hole-free and there was good water pressure in the bathroom. We had no problem with the hotel wi-fi service although Skype dropped out a little too often to make it useful. The hotel has a very pleasant pool and restaurant area and - most notably - everything was neat, tidy and well maintained. The garden was particularly well cared for and green - a dramatic contrast with the rest of Ziguinchor and indeed the rest of the Casamance at the end of the Dry Season (early June 2012). Recommended with confidence.

Room Tip: Upstairs - Rm 29 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ziguinchor
0.4 mi away
Le Flamboyant Hotel
Le Flamboyant Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ziguinchor
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya
Maya
#13 of 17 in Cap Skiring
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Abene
Atlantic Abene
#1 of 8 in Abene
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Motel
Casa Motel
#3 of 3 in Ziguinchor
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aubert
Hotel Aubert
#6 of 9 in Ziguinchor
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kadiandoumagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kadiandoumagne

Property: Hotel Kadiandoumagne
Address: Embarcadere de Boudody B.P. 363, Ziguinchor 52024, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Casamance > Ziguinchor Region > Ziguinchor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ziguinchor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kadiandoumagne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kadiandoumagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kadiandoumagne Senegal/Ziguinchor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing