We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Hotel Keur Saloum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Keur Saloum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If we could be certain of spending every one of our holidays in a hotel such as this one, we would be very happy indeed! We have just spent 9 days in this very unpretentious hotel, which has a relaxed and happy atmosphere, excellent service and standards, polite and friendly staff who did their utmost to make our stay a fantastic one. We were pleasantly surprised that we were not given as much opportunity as we had expected to exercise our French, apart from with our birdwatching guides.
We felt the upgrade to an appartment overlooking the river was worthwhile. We enjoyed the no-choice, home cooked local food which was different every day. Breakfast we felt could have had a bit of variety, of which there was none.
Birdwatching with a knowledgeable guide almost to ourselves was amazing. Our one companion who was a serious birder had seen over 100 on her first day, over and above nearly 200 in The Gambia. We spent happy hours completely at ease wandering on our own. The locals were friendly and happy to help.

Room Tip: The view from the spacious appartment rooms is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice clean and quiet rooms, with air-conditioning, and en-suite facilities. The only thing missing was a TV, but that didn’t matter.

We arrived early afternoon, so tried their two and a half hour island river boat tour. It was a nice afternoon out, but not many birds or wildlife, so not recommended for birders.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent two weeks at this hotel returning 3 days ago. We have nothing but praise for it. The majority of the staff speak English and if they don't will find someone that does. It is useful and courteous to speak a few words of French and the local language. We were on full board but if you didn't like something on the menu then you were only to ask and they would make some suggestions and it wasn't a problem. Being near a river there was quite a lot of fish on the menu which was excellent. A fellow holiday maker didn't like fish and once the manager was told an alternative was always served. While we were there the owners Alain and Simone were staying and Simone made a point of asking us if everthing was OK especially the food and she spoke excellent English. They both left after about a week but Olivia their manager can speak English and like Simone continuously asked if we were enjoying our stay and the food. Our room wasn't cleaned at 2.00 p.m. one day as we vacated quiet late. I pointed this out and it was done within the hour. Some people say they didn't get fresh towels but all you need to do is leave them on the floor. We stayed in one of the appartments overlooking the river and it was huge. A couple we met were staying in one of the cottages and said it was fine but the only drawback is that you couldn't sit outside. My husband loves fishing and this was arranged without any problems. Bird viewing was arranged and we would recommend Carlos a local guide who knew where to look for the birds and knew all of the latin names! We saw over 150 birds which was brilliant. If you want to walk on your own in the surrounding areas this is not a problem and very safe. If you are bothered just say you would like to walk on your own and that is exactly what will happen - unlike the Gambia. All of the staff from the men who cleaned the rooms, the boatmen, office staff and waiters were always friendly, helpful and with big smiles. Many times we have been to East Africa and love Africa. There is a saying you either love it or hate it!

Room Tip: We went for one of the suites so that you could look towards the river and sit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

On our way back from Banjul to Dakar we decided to have our last night in this wonderful hotel and we were very happy we did. we arranged a pick up by the hotel from Barra and with the crazy Banjul Barra ferry ended up 2 hours after our expected arrival time. Te driver was there waiting for us in the chaos of the terminal area and hen helped us to the car which was by far the bet car we had though out our stay. we arrived late and the reception told us not to even worry about check-in till the morning that we should just freshen up and dinner will be served for us. The menu is a set one and while the main course was not to my taste it was still well prepared and lunch the next day was lovely. While there are numerous trips that the hotel can organize, and if you like fishing the place is really tailor made for you, we just relaxed around the pool and watched the abundance of bird and lizards that the lovely grounds are full of. If it was full it may not be as relaxing but for us it was the perfect place for a final day of a busy vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himawari1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent a couple of nights at this resort in January 2013. The restaurant area is beautiful with great views of the mangroves below and lots of flowering vines and trees decorating the dining area (open air). The huts/cabins are comfortable with air conditioning and instant hot water. I found the food options to be limited. It is not a real restaurant where you can order a la carte. Breakfast was buffet style and quite good. Lunch and dinner were set menus prepared en masse ahead of time and arriving at the table in a lukewarm state rather than hot. The appearance of the food was good, but the taste less so.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeroma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are looking for a plush and fomulae driven place then this ain't it. BUT if you want somewhere that ;
1. is comfortable with warm and hospitable staff
2. has simple food which is well cooked
3. gives a base to learn about the Keur Saloum delta
4. a kingfisher may fly in to join you for breakfast ( it happened to us )
5. where the bats roosting over the bar may stretch their wings and shuffle round a bit whilst you listen to the soft beat of Senegalese music
5. has lots to marvel at,e.g. crab eating monkeys, shell beaches, giant beobab trees and signal crabs and beautiful birds ( 17 species seen in two hours from the sun lounger by the pool- thats my kind of ornithology) and mangroves which crackle and pop
6. a place to stop and think and watch the sun go down
7. a place to go fishing and actually stand a chance of catching a whopper. It was my first time fishing and I caught 11 beauties on a hand line( 4 were over 2 and half kgs)
8. a place where the local people are so friendly despite the fact that they may spend all day wading in water to catch fish or paddle upstream with a load from their village whilst you whizz by in a boat with motor/laddened down with binoculars, cameras, phones, sun tan lotion etc etc etc
Then definitely go...maybe 3/4 nights is about right. WE stayed in a suite---perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheltenhamsparkle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed for a weekend: 3 families & were almost the only ones. Yet service was sometimes difficult (though very fast!): it seemed as we were disturbing the waiters!
no power on Sunday meant the swimming pool was unusable.
View is breath taking.
They had first put us in some awful little rooms next to the parking lot - we quickly changed fo the spacious rooms facing the river (why not put us there in the 1st place?)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcLepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toubakouta
0.2 mi away
Les Paletuviers Boutique Hotel
24.4 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
#1 of 4 in Toubakouta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge
22.7 mi away
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
#1 of 2 in Mar Lodj
95 reviews
24.5 mi away
Le Pelican du Saloum
Le Pelican du Saloum
#3 of 8 in Ndangane
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keur Saloum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keur Saloum

Address: Toubakouta, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range: $74 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keur Saloum 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keur Saloum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keur Saloum Senegal/Toubakouta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing