We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for families”
Review of Hotel Keur Saloum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Keur Saloum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed at Keur Saloum with a group of friends; two families and two couples on a long weekend from Dakar, May 2012. Great location, wonderful small pool, very friendly owner (dog friendly too!). The location is spectacular, overlooking a branch of the Saloum Delta. We fished a lot and caught several interesting (and tasty) fish from a launch arranged by the hotel. They rent rods, provide shrimp for bait, and even give you cushions for the boat! You can charter trips out to the ocean, and we saw other guests bringing in several barracuda! Spectacular bird life is a highlight, too, and birding trips can also be arranged. Food is top shelf. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The suites are more expensive, obviously, but down near the water and spacious. Great bocci court ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneinDakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 182 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We can only speak in superlatives about our stay in Keur Saloum. From the warm welcome in the airport of Dakar to the relaxing stay at the waterside and the bird-watching trip at sunrise: Alain,Simonne and the guides have always devoted themselves with their full heart. The service was warm and caring, the food was more than up to standards, and most of all: the surrounding villages – and the people we met there – have provided us with unforgettable memories.
Anne & Christ Marichal

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Little bit difficult to review this hotel as it seems to suffer from a conflict of identity. It is in a truly 5 star setting, with wonderful views and gardens, Pool & restuarant setting all very good. The rooms are 2-3 star as expected, the room is nice, and bathroom big, but a bit tired looking. Breakfast is disappointing and I have had much better in hostels and then dinner is like a family guesthouse or pension. And all this at a 4 star price...

Towel card used to get towels which is a bit out of sorts with the guesthouse aspects of this hotel.

Past guests have complained about lack of English speaking. Bare in mind this is Senegal! That said, the receptionist spoke English, as did the general manager, who is a Swiss guy who greeted us personally and also gave personal farewell. The service was very good in this respect. One of the two shopkeepers could speak English. The rest of the staff are being taught English, and most can speak a bit, but a little French may be useful. All good fun though.

We went half board, which I would recommend. . No need for a guide in the village, everyone friendly enough, and 'prettier' than the coastal Gambian villages/towns.As for food in the hotel... breakfast was breads and fruits, which was fine, but seemed out of place with what the place is trying to be, and desperately lacking compared to the much cheaper hotels in Gambia. We noticed Belgian/French tourists brought their own yoghurt! To match a decent hostel breakfast they need to provide a boiled egg and some cereal; to become cheap European hotel standard they need to add cold meats/cheese on top of this. The more I think about that breakfast, the more rubbish i think it was!! There was no local foodstuffs except a soft drink. Gambian hotel breakfasts are brilliant!

Dinner was a bit weird. It was like a guesthouse, where you get what you are given! The day's food is shown on a board (you couldn't call it a menu, as there is no choice!) so you know what the food is in advance, but it is in French.. we used a translater which came up with steak, which we thought would be ok, however it was fish steak, which was not so good as I don't eat fish (and did inform the manager of this at check-in). On a positive note, they were happy to change it, and cooked up a decent steak pretty quickly. Would be good to get a choice in advance though, even if it was just one or two options. I've just remembered that on the first night, they tried to fob me off with an omlette instead of the fish for dinner; I was pretty shocked by that - would have been the most expensive omlette of my life!!!

This place could be truly great if they sorted out the dining issues, as it stands it is still recommended and a good place for a couple of nights whilst in this part of Senegal.

Banjul to Toubacouta took about 3 hours including ferry and border crossing. We paid 10,000 CFA (about £12) for taxi each way to and from Toubacouta to border. Then paid 200-225 dalasi (about £4.25) to get to Barra by taxi, ferry was 10D (20p) each, and then taxi to Atlantic coast in Gambia about 20 mins and 250D (£5). So total cost less than £11 each - brilliant!

Toileteries were not provided except soap from dispensors, this does not bother us. Mosquitos are about at dusk and can be annoying. Pool a bit cold, but once again, that view is lovely!

Tips - Wander round the village, and talk to the locals. Keur Boum for lunch.Outside the hotel, many of the local tourist shop owners can speak good English, and this is where we spent a lot of time. We had tea with the locals and he translated so we could talk to kids etc. We spent about £2 in his shop and were with him for almost 2 hours...more ». It was nice. However be careful about going on trips in pirogues with locals, some are good, but others are note - we had a leaky boat, with a busted motor! Hotel trips are fairly priced and use good boats; however the boatman could not speak English, hence we were tempted by the locals!as for lunch you can try Keur Boum in the village. They have a limited menu, but the steak I had (£5) was very good and with one of the best sauces I've had in a long time. You can also pick up cheap local stuff in the village, but French will be useful here. Crisps etc about 20p a pack in small shops

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is my second visit to Keur Saloum, chosen as it has been the nicest hotel in this region for some time. The staff is friendly and the location is beautiful, but it is very expensive, and as is the case with some foreign owners they run it a bit like their own little kingdom and so it feels stuffy and out of touch with the community and the region. Le Paletuviers next door has been newly purchased and renovated and may be the new best place in the region. Both staff and management there are very welcoming to all.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OjaiRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We felt we must respond to some of the negative comments this hotel has received. We spent a fantastic week there in March 2009(unable to enter the correct date above) and was even disappointed we had to leave to spend our second week in Gambia.
Like in any French speaking country a basic knowledge of the language is appreciated. We were the only English people there at the time, but found everyone to be so friendly and helpful. We are also vegetarian and know in many French speaking countries this can cause problems, however we advised the management and staff and after just a few minor hiccups the food was excellent, especially the French bean salad. We were also looked after by a member of staff who was attentive at all times.
Excellent birding trips were layed on at the Hotel and we would like to thank everyone for making it a memorable holiday.
Can't wait to go back for two weeks as one week is just not enough.

Lynne & Roger

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malachite60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We just got back from Senegal. We were visiting our son who is in the Peace Corp in Parmarin, Senegal. We stayed in a number of Hotels and I have to say that Hotel Keur Saloum was extremely disappointing. The surrounding are pretty but nobody speaks english. Fortunately, our son speaks french. The food was absolutely awful. The first night we were served mashed potatoes and some slop over it and it never got any better during our 3 night stay. Lunch was crumbled hamburger with mashed potatoes on top! Breakfasts were mundane-rolls and butter. When ordering drinks at the bar, the bartender thought he was doing us a favor-lots of attitude. The room was clean; however, during our 3 days stay, our room was never cleaned on a daily basis. We thought perhaps it was the "custom" so we did not complain. Reading other reports, it appears other guests has there room clean and received clean towels every day. We did not feel like the owners and staff were the least bit accomodating.

Room Tip: Request daily clean room and towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkcitychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

An oasis of charm in Africa, go with a sense of adventure and an open mind, a very well run hotel and nothing too much trouble, Alain and Simone (the owners) and Hugues (the manager) all constantly made sure our needs were met,( far beyond owners/manager titles. ) Evening meals were delightfull and a lot of thought regarding the variation of menus,far beyond expectations,with the added bonus of eating on the open terrace.
The thatched huts were fun,basic but very clean,hot water and air con' a definate bonus.
The staff were lovely and very professional, we were made to feel welcome even with our lack of French. Go sooner rather than later! Wish we were still there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justjenny40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toubakouta
0.2 mi away
Les Paletuviers Boutique Hotel
24.4 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
11.0 mi away
Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
#1 of 4 in Toubakouta
28 reviews
22.7 mi away
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
#1 of 2 in Mar Lodj
94 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
#1 of 8 in Ndangane
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keur Saloum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keur Saloum

Address: Toubakouta, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range: $78 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keur Saloum 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keur Saloum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keur Saloum Senegal/Toubakouta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing