We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid first impression of Afrika, in a village flirting with a beautiful nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Paletuviers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Paletuviers
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Certificate of Excellence
Kortrijk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A splendid first impression of Afrika, in a village flirting with a beautiful nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

The very friendly people from Les Paletuviers welcome their guests with a warm heart. It is a holiday village that is owned by a Belgian family and runned by Pap, a Senegalese partner and a young Belgian couple, Pieter and Anouk. They do a lot with and for the people around by integrating them to your holiday. The guides are excellent. As a customer you have the choice between participation with the village life or staying in the holiday village. But it would be sad not to discover the nature (Mangrove delta f.i.) and people of Senegal. A driver and a travel guide go with you and give you a good feeling while they inform you about the habbits. If you want to relax some day at the pool, all is possible. The kitchen is good, the climate is excellent, and februari or march are excellent months because few moskitos.
The rain season starts in june of july and ends around october nov.
Wifi all over the place. Renovation of different aspects give the place a new look with respect for nature and environment. What you see on the website is reality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KoenKortrijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
36
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We arrived at Toubakouta not knowing what to expect and were delighted with what we found. Les Paletuviers is a delightful small hotel overlooking the mangroves. We arrived in the dark rather weary from our travels but were met with a very warm welcome and a cold Mojito. We had a delicious dinner and were entertained by some fabulous Senegalese dancing afterwards. The dancing was mesmeric and some of the most energetic I had ever seen.
We stayed in a little thatched cottage. It was simply furnished but the beds were comfortable, the shower was good and there was air-conditioning. We stayed for 4 nights and had perfect weather every day - 28-30 degrees which made a wonderful contrast to the UK. We could have been lazy and spent out time relaxing by the large, circular swimming pool but the excursions on offer and the chance to see something of the country with a local guide were too tempting. We visited a local market - awesome even for seasoned travellers - and met the charming Senegalese at a nearby fishing village. We took an early evening boat trip through the mangroves and were amazed at the birdlife - this is an ornithologists' paradise. We visited The Island which is also owned by hotel and had a typical Senegalese lunch. We also spent a night at the beach in a whitewashed thatched cottage where we were served a fantastic dinner in the moonlight with a campfire behind us and the ocaen in front of us. Perfect....
I would anyone who visits Les Paletuviers to take the excursions on offer - the guides are delightful, knowledgeable and multilingual.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilbeeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

I've just returned from a long weekend to Les Paletuviers in the village of Toubacouta, which was fascinating.
Not only were the staff charming and friendly, the locals were also one of the most friendly that I have come across in Africa. The women are also beautifully dressed.
This is a great destination for winter sun and action, including canoeing, fishing, mountain biking, Senegalese dance clases, boat trips through the Mangroves, bird watching, a stay at The Beach, visiting local markets and villages, not to mention fabulous dancing and fascinating wrestling!
The food is delicious and they also make a mean Mojito!
The Belgian owners have started refurbishing, so it will only get better

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbeeY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at Les Paletuviers in Toubacouta for 1 week with our 4 year old daughter and loved it. Getting to Les Paletuviers already gives you a good impression of the Senegalese culture. Arriving from Dakar it is 5-6 hour drive, from Banjul (Gambia) a taxi ride (45minutes), 1 hour ferry on Gambia River and 1 hour drive brings you to this wonderful place. Very close cooperation with the local people of Toubacouta. Nice excursions focussing on nature & culture, also good for young children. Rooms are recently upgraded (excellent beds!!) and more renovations are in progress. Great friendly staff makes you feel at home. Good food, and easy adjustments to kids' desires. They make you feel at home in the bush. We made a day trip to their beach location (Place D'Or). Beautiful beach, shallow sea water, nice renovated bungalows. No electricity on the beach, but who needs electricity when sleeping on the beach under the African sky?? Chance of seeing dolphins. The fish which you just caught lies on the barbecue a few minutes later.
Owned by a Belgium couple. Very friendly. Wish we would have stayed another week... Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaseik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

Back to basic. The domaine is loacted in the heart of a small African village. When you pass the wicker entrance you are in the "real Africa;" the locals are everywhere (they invited me and my friends to play a game of soccesrat a plain in the village and they want to sell you almost everything. But the people are very friendly and there's no crime) The cabins are very basis (but I guess that's logic in this part of the world) We had two beds, no furnutire, a toilet and a small shower in our cabin. The airco worked but made a lot of noise) The pool is ok and i can guarantee you that you are goingf to like it afer an excursion. The meals are very monotonous. A lot of fish. (because there is a lot of fish available in the Siné Saloum). Breakfast was also monotonous. The serve pancakes and toast. You can order a la carte, but overall...the meals are not that great.
The excursions were fine. i enjoyed making a trip on a bicycle trough the area with a local guide and vistiting the surronding villages I wouldn't recommand the trip to "the plage d' or" -this is really primitive and there are a lot of bugs irritating you.
Sometimes the's no electricity. Don't come here expecting luxury, but when you want to make contact with the real Africa and when you want to meet local people and hear their stories..this is the right place. be aware of the mosquitoes. Especially in the rainseason (july, august) there are plenty of them and they spread malaria. Take precautions

  • Liked — the contact with the local people.
  • Disliked — Of course there's no real luxury, but it didn't bother me
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boekenbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

A pleasant hotel in quiet surroundings, basic but clean and tidy, they even have mosquito netting! stayed one night only having booked a trip to Senegal through the Corinthia Atlantic hotel Gambia. If you want a peaceful holiday the Paletuviers hotel will fit the bill. Situated within walled surroundings, the hotel is very relaxing, we would rather stay there than return to the Corinthia Atlantic hotel in Gambia again!

  • Liked — Clean and tidy
  • Disliked — No refridgerator in room
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

This is a delayed review of a delightful Christmas 2006 stay.

We stayed at the relatively remote Les Paletuviers for three days as an add-on to a Gambia vacation and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. This won't qualify as "luxury", nor does it purport to be, but it is quite excellent given its location.

It has a nice camplike atmosphere with well maintained grounds and air-conditioned bungalows which are basic but completely adequate, clean and well serviced.

There is a nice pool and restaurant which serves an OK breakfast and lunch. Dinner was most appealing.

A variety of excursions are available and we signed up for several, all of which were extremely interesting, informative and enjoyable.

There was a nice comfort level wandering on our own in the adjacent village where sales efforts, if at all, are refreshingly low key.

The Les Palutivier staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were especially impressed with Karin, the Manager, who arrange a special transfer to and from Dakar and just generally "made things happen" for us

Finally, a special mention of the dance entertainment. We have viewed traditional dance performances in literally scores of countries and this was perhaps the very best. A plus is that the neighboring villagers are invited to watch the performance and, if they wish, participate. One or two of the locals were every bit as talented as the troop members.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiefer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toubakouta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keur Saloum
Hotel Keur Saloum
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
#1 of 1 in Mar Lodj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
24.2 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge
24.4 mi away
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
#1 of 7 in Ndangane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Paletuviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Paletuviers

Property: Les Paletuviers
Address: BP1, Toubakouta, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Paletuviers 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect mix between the comfort of a luxury lodge and out of your comfort zone excursions, cultural encounters and adventure, run by the Belgian Karolien. Located in the most beautiful bay of the Saloum delta, protected by UNESCO and in the authentic village of Toubakouta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Les Paletuviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Les Paletuviers Toubakouta
Les Paletuviers Senegal/Toubakouta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing