We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Paletuviers -a Jewel on the West Coast of Africa”
Review of Les Paletuviers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Paletuviers
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Les Paletuviers -a Jewel on the West Coast of Africa”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Les Paletuviers for a week in November, our first experience of West Africa having travelled extensively in East & Southern Africa. During our visit we found the staff most helpful and eager to please. Although all are fluent in French the staff, particularly the waiters are very eager to learn and practise their English. One guide in particular is fluent in French, English and Spanish and his enthusiasm for the birds of the area is bound to win over even the least interested bird-watcher. Bird life in the area is amazing and we found that all staff taking guests on excursions were eager to point out the birds; most carrying well-illustrated guide books to reinforce their descriptions. The rooms are air-conditioned and comfortable. The food was of a high standard and there was a set menu for lunch and dinner but guests could choose a la carte; we didn’t see any guests choosing a la carte as the set meals were so attractive. There are a large number of excursions to choose from and it might be advantageous to give some thought to these before you arrive at Les Paletuviers. As the staff become more proficient in speaking English there is bound to be an increase in English-speaking visitors to Les Paletuviers. The owners are developing and improving the hotel and grounds and the pool area is attractive to laze around. Their team of friendly and helpful staff provided us with a relaxing and fascinating stay. We recommend a stay in this unspoilt area with its superb climate throughout the year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hflewis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
38
49
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our first time this far in Africa was a wonderful and colourful experience! The friendly guide from Les Paletuviers picked us up in the airport and arranged the shuttle to the hotel. A young and dynamic Belgian couple is refurbishing this magnificent place in to a real 'feel and taste' African hotel. Outside on the terrace we enjoyed the very good kitchen of the local chef who is cooking to a higher level. Nipping of our mojito and watching the sunset is something that could last for ever... ;-). We booked each day one of the nice excursions: visiting the village of Toubacouta, a fishing village, a market without other tourists, bird island,... and last but not least, we took a romantic trip to Plage d'Or! This paradisebeach on the outskirts of the delta and into the Atlantic is a must stay and enjoy! Your personal chef and waiter give you the time/night of your life... Oysters, gambas on the BBQ, hmmmm ! We will come definitely back before the rest of the world will discover.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Superglues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Came here for the night whilst on a trip to Senegal from Gambia. The rooms are basically little huts and i had to change mine because the first one i was put into was dark and shabby but when i changed i got a much nicer, brighter, more spacious one. The pool was nice but cold, the location very good for exploring the nearby village, and you could not beat the wonderful feeling of relaxation sitting on the porch and having an ice cold beer overlooking the mangrove swamps.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seasonedtraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAWORTH, YORKSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on a two day trip to Senegal from Gambia. We found it lovely. Simple elegance and a lovely tranquil feeling. We wished we could have had longer. The rooms were simple but beatifully clean and nicely furnished and the restaurant and food just superb. The pool area was lovely. Everything beautifully clean and well presented and the service friendly and really pleasant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAEMEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The very friendly people from Les Paletuviers welcome their guests with a warm heart. It is a holiday village that is owned by a Belgian family and runned by Pap, a Senegalese partner and a young Belgian couple, Pieter and Anouk. They do a lot with and for the people around by integrating them to your holiday. The guides are excellent. As a customer you have the choice between participation with the village life or staying in the holiday village. But it would be sad not to discover the nature (Mangrove delta f.i.) and people of Senegal. A driver and a travel guide go with you and give you a good feeling while they inform you about the habbits. If you want to relax some day at the pool, all is possible. The kitchen is good, the climate is excellent, and februari or march are excellent months because few moskitos.
The rain season starts in june of july and ends around october nov.
Wifi all over the place. Renovation of different aspects give the place a new look with respect for nature and environment. What you see on the website is reality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KoenKortrijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We arrived at Toubakouta not knowing what to expect and were delighted with what we found. Les Paletuviers is a delightful small hotel overlooking the mangroves. We arrived in the dark rather weary from our travels but were met with a very warm welcome and a cold Mojito. We had a delicious dinner and were entertained by some fabulous Senegalese dancing afterwards. The dancing was mesmeric and some of the most energetic I had ever seen.
We stayed in a little thatched cottage. It was simply furnished but the beds were comfortable, the shower was good and there was air-conditioning. We stayed for 4 nights and had perfect weather every day - 28-30 degrees which made a wonderful contrast to the UK. We could have been lazy and spent out time relaxing by the large, circular swimming pool but the excursions on offer and the chance to see something of the country with a local guide were too tempting. We visited a local market - awesome even for seasoned travellers - and met the charming Senegalese at a nearby fishing village. We took an early evening boat trip through the mangroves and were amazed at the birdlife - this is an ornithologists' paradise. We visited The Island which is also owned by hotel and had a typical Senegalese lunch. We also spent a night at the beach in a whitewashed thatched cottage where we were served a fantastic dinner in the moonlight with a campfire behind us and the ocaen in front of us. Perfect....
I would anyone who visits Les Paletuviers to take the excursions on offer - the guides are delightful, knowledgeable and multilingual.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilbeeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I've just returned from a long weekend to Les Paletuviers in the village of Toubacouta, which was fascinating.
Not only were the staff charming and friendly, the locals were also one of the most friendly that I have come across in Africa. The women are also beautifully dressed.
This is a great destination for winter sun and action, including canoeing, fishing, mountain biking, Senegalese dance clases, boat trips through the Mangroves, bird watching, a stay at The Beach, visiting local markets and villages, not to mention fabulous dancing and fascinating wrestling!
The food is delicious and they also make a mean Mojito!
The Belgian owners have started refurbishing, so it will only get better

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbeeY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toubakouta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keur Saloum
Hotel Keur Saloum
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
182 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
Le Bazouk Du Saloum
#1 of 1 in Mar Lodj
93 reviews
24.2 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Fathala Wildlife Reserve & Lodge
0.7 mi away
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
Keur Niaye Maison d'Hotes
#1 of 3 in Toubakouta
27 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
Hotel Les Cordons Bleus
#1 of 8 in Ndangane
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Paletuviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Paletuviers

Property: Les Paletuviers
Address: Bp1, Toubakouta, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Fatick Region > Toubakouta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Toubakouta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Paletuviers 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect mix between the comfort of a luxury lodge and out of your comfort zone excursions, cultural encounters and adventure, run by the Belgian Karolien. Located in the most beautiful bay of the Saloum delta, protected by UNESCO and in the authentic village of Toubakouta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Paletuviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Les Paletuviers Toubakouta
Les Paletuviers Senegal/Toubakouta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing