We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too windy for a beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foya Branca Resort Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mindelo
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Strange place which doesn't really live up to the idea of a 'resort' hotel. The beach is lovely for a walk but it is VERY windy and there is no patrol, so no swimming or wind surfing. We asked about sailing which we had had advertised to us and they told us it was 800euro to hire a boat - great if you are travelling as a group of 10 people but rather useless for a couple. We ended up hiring a car for a day and driving around as there wasn't much else to do.

But... the hotel was clean and it did have a nice pool, which we used a couple of times - for brief periods as the wind was so strong that it'd get cold. There are buses which run regularly into Mindelo for free which was good. Room was fine - our shower was broken and they fixed it within a few hours. The food varied between rather good breakfast and the worst fish dish I think I've ever had - soaked in about a litre of oil! The wasn't a lot of atmosphere though, people kept to themselves and it was quiet.

Overall it was fine, it didn't ruin our holiday but wasn't a highlight either. I think its overpriced though, and I'd advise young couples to stay in mindelo itself.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheldita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 218 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2008

the sea to rough to swim in. The beach covered in broken glass. No ambience at the Hotel..The staff not really friendly. Husband went down with tummy bug first week, I went down with it second week. High metal fence all around, couldn't make out if it was to keep people in or people out!!Ok to stay for a break if you are travelling around the islands but 'what ever you do don't book in for 2 weeks like us. Horrendous.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank VeronicaEastWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We are a small family with one boy and a baby. We have stayed in Foya Branca for 17 days from 10/3 - 27/3 -2008.
Hotel has not european standard. First night we had cats peeing in to the ventilation of the villa. Next morning it was ant coloni at the kitchen. We have to move to another villa, with lesser ants, only in the bathroom and the terrace.
Both toilets stopped to work, and they was not able to repair.
We was only eating in the hotel, and even when not eat salad, only use of bottelded water we was all sick with diarrea. (exept the baby)
The solution was to eat in the Hotel port grande in Mindelo.
There were also suage smell in the evning, so we had to close for ventilation.

Service was good with frendly staff. The beach of San Pedro was stunning. I advise at trip to Santo Antao. The best is to buy fresh food in Mindelo and cook yourself. We are very glad we bring babyfood from Norway.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TrygveOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

Having read and agreed with most of the other reviewers i will not repeat their comments but add some additional remarks which i hope will prove useful:

While you are on Sao Vincente you must arrange a trip to Santo Antao. Speak to the rep (ours was Sonia) and get them to arrange a tour and an overnight stop at the Hotel Pedracin. The views are breathtaking and its a must do. Be aware the hotel does not take credit cards but its only 70 Euros for Bed/Breakfast and evening meal.

The local banks in Mindelo will not change sterling but if you go to one of the International banks (there is one in the square) they will and they only charge 500 Esc (£3.68) per transaction

There is a lovely cafe behind the library (Biblica) in Mindelo called La Pergola. Great for a coffee

The food in the hotel is good but be aware one of the cod dishes in the restaurant is salt cod and unless you are ino that sort of thing it's uneatable. It was titled "Cod with potatoes" but ask if you are in doubt

The Sunday buffet and Saturday Bar B Q are great value and you can eat as much as you want

The restaurants in town that cater for european tastes are not cheap - About £35 for a two course meal which is what you would pay in the hotel

The Cape Verde islands are not ready for tourism and quite a few people that stay in some of the other hotels on some of the other islands are very dissapointed.

There is no doubt that the Foya Branca is the best hotel out of all that are available anywhere on the islands but unless you just want a relaxing holiday with nothing much else to do then go somewhere else

Thats exactly what we wanted and we had a great holiday

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Few hotels in Cape Verde can be described as luxurious, but the Foya Branca makes a reasonable stab at providing an above average and comfortable environment. We liked our room (try to get one up on the third floor with a view of the bay) which was simple but adequate with a balcony that was shaded for almost all of the day. The food was reasonable given the difficulties of sourcing fresh materials etc, and the dining room and adjacent bar pleasant and relaxed. We would definitely return.
The regular mini bus into Mindelo was reliable, and runs late into the night for those interested in the local nightlife!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JennyWrenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We have just returned form Foya Branca.
It is a very pretty hotel with high standards of cleanliness everywhere!
The gardens and pool areas are very well maintained.Plenty of sunbeds and towels.
We had a room in the new block with a lovely view of the pool and beach, well worth it. There was also a spacious balcony.
The food was good and the staff very friendly and eager to please. The service in the restuarant can be a little slow as everything is cooked fresh.
The hotel bus ran into Mindelo and back, so it is easy to get into town with the great advantage of the peace when you return.
The pools are chilly to swim in January, but lovely when you are in.
The sea has undercurrents so we were advised to be cautious and always go in twos.It is not guarded.
On Sundays local families come in to use the hotel as a sort of country club. We found it all fine and the buffet lunch was good. You have to pay extra for that as the usual snack bar is closed until three.
It is a quiet and relaxing hotel. A good place to unwind.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilledill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Have been back four times now - I love this hotel. It is very peaceful and relaxing - the standard rooms with the sea view are great and the restaraunt is superb. I was in two minds as to whether to comment as I do not want it to become well known so that it is fully booked when I next want to stay there !

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank steve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mindelo hotels
6.8 mi away
Residencial Alto Fortim
Residencial Alto Fortim
#10 of 13 in Mindelo
64 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis Porto Grande
6.8 mi away
Don Paco Hotel
Don Paco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mindelo
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Residencial Goa
Residencial Goa
#1 of 13 in Mindelo
166 reviews
6.8 mi away
Residential Jenny
Residential Jenny
#11 of 13 in Mindelo
74 reviews
6.8 mi away
Apart Hotel Avenida
Apart Hotel Avenida
#8 of 13 in Mindelo
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foya Branca Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foya Branca Resort Hotel

Address: Sao Pedro, Mindelo, Sao Vicente 2110, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Sao Vicente > Mindelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mindelo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mindelo
Price Range: $74 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foya Branca Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Foya Branca Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foya Branca Hotel Mindelo
Foya Branca Resort Hotel Mindelo, Cape Verde - Sao Vicente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing