We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the center of Mindelo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Porto Grande
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mindelo
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The hotel was just what you need as a base for exploring downtown Mindelo and the harbor, or if you intend to travel on to Santa Antao, or visit the island of Sao Vicente. Restaurant and Service were excellent. The rooms are rather small (but we are used to that in Europe). On the other hand, the swimming pool and the terrace have a generous size for a hotel located by one of the main squares of the city. And don't forget: This is Cape Verde; they are (still) unspoiled by jet set tourism. --- Have you ever seen taxicabs as inexpensive as those in Mindelo?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oasis Porto Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 166 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

Have travelled a few times to Mindelo and without doubt this hotel is the best on offer on the island. - Certainly better than the Foya Branca which is out of town. Reasonable rooms, good lively bar area and decent restaurant for breakfast. Service is all relative of course -generally speedy by local standards.

Well located in the centre of town, so have never eaten dinner in the hotel - no need when there are plenty of other places a short walk away. Beware you get a bit of hassle outside the hotel from beggars.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acl1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Clean and with a good service, always with African ritms...
Ask for a room in the back if you want to sleep: the front in on the principal sqare of the town.
Stand up early in the morning if you want to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Porto Grande is located in the center of Mindelo. You can easily walk to the bay and take a walk across the city of Mindelo. The hotel is very nice and confortable. It has no elevador but it only has 3 stores :-). It has a very inviting swming pool if you just wanna to relax. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The restaurant serves very good food but I would recommend you to go out and eat at the nearby restaurants. We went to "La Pérgola" (located in the building of Aliance Française in Lisboa Steet) to have lunch (it's closed at dinner time) and I would definetly recommend you to go there :-). Café Mindelo just across the street of the Marine was also a reference given by our guide althought we didn't went there.
Clube Nautico (Nautic Club) also across the street of the Marine serves grilled fish and has an open kitchen.
In the afternoon I would recommend you to go to the Laginha beach (you can walk from the hotel or if you feel lazy just take a cab. It's 180$00 CV or less 1.8€). You can relax there and take a beer at Caravela's bar while you enjoy the beautiful view of Monte Cara. At night around 11:30 pm there is live music and it's very alive with lots of people.
Club Nautico also has live music in the evening sarting at 8:30 pm until 11 or 11:30 pm.
Regarding the island itself we did a guided tour due to lack of time but you can rent a car or a moto to do it by yourself. I strongly recommend you to go the "Monte Verde (Green Montain)" to see the view of Mindelo Bay.. it's breathtaking. If you want to go to the beach you should go to Praia Grande or Baia da Gatas and have lunch in Baia da Gatas
restaurant "Atlanta" if I'm not mistaken, where you can eat a wonderful grilled fish.
Just to resume it: We liked vey much the Hotel, the City and the S. Vicente island and we definetely want to came back one day and also go to S. Antão Island!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leonor_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We were back in Mindelo after a night on Santa Antao and shopping around when we ended up in the Oasis, with no real intention of forking out over a hundred euro a night for the privilege but, even though it was Christmas, the town's hotels were not that busy and we were quickly offered the single rate for a double and went for it. And we were delighted we did. Comfortable rooms and the ones at the front have a great view over the town square, which was absolutely throbbing throughout the Christmas period (ask for a pool view if you're a light sleeper). The pool is excellent! Didn't try the restaurant as the surrounding restaurants had more atmosphere. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meddlesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

My partner and I stayed here in October at the start of a fortnight’s island hopping. We arrived in the early evening after a 6-hour fight from Gatwick to Sal, a few hours layover in Sal airport, a 45-minute shuttle to São Pedro airport on São Vicente island and a 20-minute transfer to Mindelo.

The hotel is situated on the lively Praça Amilcar Cabral in the centre of Mindelo and effectively occupies the top 3 floors of a 4-storey block that takes up half of one side of the square. At street level the row of shops and restaurants is punctuated by a flight of steps up to the hotel. Porters are available but no lift or wheelchair ramp. Taxis are available at the bottom of the steps at most times during the day.

The reception is friendly and several languages are spoken. Reception, dining room and bar are spacious, taking up the whole of the floor. There’s a selection of postcards for sale at reception, but most patterns I wanted weren’t in stock and they don’t sell stamps.

Left of the reception is the bar, with large terraces in front of it (one covered, one open) overlooking the square. Service was good. The covered terrace is the venue for evening music on some days – this starts and continues quite late, say 11:30 – 02:00. The TV in the bar is used to show major football games.

To the right of reception is the dining room. There’s a very restrained atmosphere in the evenings; the food is OK. This room is also where breakfast is served. Breakfast is a buffet with a very good choice, particularly the large selection of breads, pastries, fruits and juices. Hot dishes consist of scrambled eggs, frankfurter-style sausages, and a dish of mixed vegetables with shredded chicken. There’s another large terrace in front of the dining room, but it’s not clear how you get out to it directly from the dining room.

Our room was at the back of the hotel (requested as front rooms are reputedly noisy) overlooking the pool. The balconies at the back fit just one chair so forget about sitting outside with your partner. The room was quite basic, rather like the rooms in an Ibis hotel. There was not much storage space. The bathroom was OK size-wise, and clean, but with poor water pressure and something of a ‘drains’ smell. The aircon was effective. You can pay extra for a key to the safe in your room. There are no lifts to the rooms, just stairs. The corridors are wide, dotted with plinths holding historic ‘artefacts’ – clay pots, iron pans etc.

To get to the pool you need to go out the front door, along the terrace in front of the dining room. At the end of the terrace there’s a broad flight of steps up to the gym, pool and pool bar. The pool is surrounded by sunloungers.

Most times we left the hotel we were very mildly hassled by beggars – after a while we recognised the same small set of characters and no-one was very persistent. It’s a little off-putting but we quickly realised not at all representative of the rest of Mindelo, whose people are friendly enough and also not particularly geared towards tourists, so you can wander through the crumbling streets at your leisure. Certainly it’d be a shame to avoid the square – there’s an atmospheric little turn-of-the century kiosk where you can get coffees or beers in the evenings. Crowds of families and friends turn up to chat and stroll around the square. On Sundays there’s a brass band that plays enthusiastically in the bandstand; a van off the square sells the slowest fast food ever (tasty though) and on the Sunday we were there the kids from the local capoeira club were holding an event with drumming and chanting.

In summary this is a hotel where most things work (but not everything). Its spacious public rooms and terraces and its central location more than make up for any slight deficiencies.

We took a half-day tour organised through Joelson Duarte (mobile +238 994 1201); our driver for the day was Senhor Paulinho; as this was a Sunday we chose the lunch at Baia das Gatas. The headline price looked expensive for just a lunch but in fact it’s a lunch plus a half day tour. We travelled out through the dry countryside (only the ribeira floors had much in the way of green to be seen) to Calhau – this is the more usual location for Sunday lunch. Calhau is surrounded by old volcanic cones but otherwise is nothing special. We then went up the steep winding road to the top of Monte Verde, which was cool and covered in green maize and wild physalis bushes. Then down to Baia das Gatas with its beach and swimming lagoon. The promised lunch was a delicious buffet, and there was good live music. I should maybe note this was not a tourist event; every Sunday families from Mindelo come out to their beach houses and the Sunday buffets are a tradition. After lunch we crossed the headland to the fishing village of Salamansa with its long, deserted beach – just one kite surfer when we visited. Finally we headed back to Mindelo and saw a lot of the non-touristy parts of Mindelo and Monte Sossego – most families live in tall breeze block houses; in poorer areas these are unplastered and the streets are dusty and unpaved, while wealthier areas are plastered and painted and look quite nice places to live.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gebwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

definitly the better hotel in Mindelo, nice pool, had a nice room with balcony overlooking the (sometimes noisy) square, hot (!) shower, I really felt spoiled after a week of hiking in San Antao

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindelo
0.2 mi away
Residencial Alto Fortim
Residencial Alto Fortim
#10 of 13 in Mindelo
64 reviews
7.0 mi away
Foya Branca Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Residencial Goa
Residencial Goa
#1 of 13 in Mindelo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Don Paco Hotel
Don Paco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mindelo
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prassa 3 Boutique Hotel
Prassa 3 Boutique Hotel
#6 of 13 in Mindelo
32 reviews
10.3 mi away
Santantao Art Resort
Santantao Art Resort
#1 of 1 in Porto Novo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Porto Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Porto Grande

Address: CP 103 - Praca Amilcar Cabral, Mindelo, Sao Vicente, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Sao Vicente > Mindelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mindelo
Price Range: $100 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oasis Porto Grande 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes away, by foot, from the main tourist attractions of the city - the Mindelo bay; the harbor neighborhood with its famous Belem Tower copy; the old Mindelo town, where one can feel the influence of the British presence in the XIX century - the guest can also from the hotel Oasis Atlantico Porto Grande start its journey towards the discovery of the several bars, cafes and restaurants that characterize this Capeverdian city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oasis Porto Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Atlantico Porto Grande Hotel Mindelo
Hotel Oasis Porto Grande Mindelo, Cape Verde - Sao Vicente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing