We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Sunday lunch in Calhau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Loutcha

Chez Loutcha
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Mindelo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Try Sunday lunch in Calhau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We did not sample the food at this pension/restaurant BUT we did enjoy three Sunday buffet meals by the same owners in their restaurant by the sea in Calhau. Booking is essential and well worth the 7,000 eschudos (+ drinks) for an extensive buffet. Three or four long tables are covered with a very wide variety of dishes.Eat as much as you want and then enjoy the professional band and dancers who encourage client participation. The experience is so enjoyable, the atmosphere a treat and the service superb, watched over by the friendly yet efficient senora. We were delighted the first time we ate here and each Sunday following , we were not disappointed. Book a taxi from Mindelo and be at the restaurant by 13.00 hrs at the latest. The bell is rung and customers help themselves to dishes which are constantly replenished and replaced. However, it is hard to get a table after 1p.m. and the food is over by 2.30p.m. This was a great experience which we looked forward to the following Sunday. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing…”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Chez Loutcha is an institution in São Vicente. There are two restaurants, one in Mindelo (which I visited) and another near Calhau village, which has a famous brunch with Cape Verdean music on Sundays. The Mindelo restaurant is small and charming, and the service was good, but the food - though the portions were enormous was, unfortunately, was uniformly bland… A seafood stew was mostly prawns and squid with potatoes, beans and pulses but it was pretty uninspiring - the seafood was overcooked, and the spicing so bland as to be nonexistent. Sadly, I was there on a night when there was no live music, so the ambiance was somewhat subdued. Local wines (from Fogo) are good, but were hugely overpriced (1500CV/€15 for a half bottle). I rather wish I'd managed to get to the Calhau brunch instead.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terribleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
169 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Food is bland and uninteresting. Everything looks and tastes like it was boiled. Even grilled and fried food tastes like it was boiled. Tastes like the chef doesn't use salt at all.

TONS of flies are cruising around. They are in your drinks, on your food, on you - everywhere.

The staff is more interested in their local friends than in tourists - they serve locals first, no matter who made an order first.

Bathrooms are dirty.

It was such a big mistake and waste of stomach room to go there - there are much more interesting options in town - go along Rua de 5 Julho and you will stumble upon several places.

Worst of all - I was nauseous the whole evening after having a dinner there. Was so scared that I got a stomach bug from this unsanitary place.

I went there following Lonely Planet's advice - well, it's not the first time LP send me to a truly terrible restaurant. But enough is enough - I will stop buying their useless expensive guidebooks, they make no sense anymore.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moscow_Irina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sensible menu, great music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This restaurant is fun, and the food is good. But the helpings are far too large and prices high. Go for the music and the dancing. Enjoy it. Maybe plan to share dishes to keep the bill down.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank walton_rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good food and excellent music. Staff very friendly and attentive. Would certainly go back next time I am in Mindelo

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Loutcha also viewed

Mindelo, Sao Vicente
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 

Been to Chez Loutcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing