We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst food in all 6 islands of Cabo Verde that we have been visiting for almost one month”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pica Pau

Pica Pau
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Mindelo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
San Francisco
Level Contributor
431 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“The worst food in all 6 islands of Cabo Verde that we have been visiting for almost one month”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

It looks much older than it really is. It started in 2006. If you start reading the letters and notice the dates and the content, it becomes obvious that it is nothing but a tourist trap. Anyone who likes these things called lobsters, never really had Maine Lobsters. These are called "Galda" Shrimp in Asia and can be cooked in a spicy sauce. We have been frequenting the fish markets in Mindelo for last few days and all the other fishing boats gathering places in other islands that we have been visiting but never saw a single "lobster" yet. And hence decided to go for the fish. My husband ordered the fish fillet and I ordered the fish with potato. There was no smell of food being cooked but someone was hammering something in the kitchen. It was frozen fish that came to our table later. Two plates full of previously frozen, packaged French Fries, over salty rice, a bunch of over boiled cabbage, a few pieces of fresh tomato, three strips of fresh red pepper and underneath of all this mess, there was a tiny fish on my plate and a few pieces of NOT FRESH fish pieces (NOT a fillet because I suppose during hammering it fell apart) on my husband's plate. A cat ran into the kitchen while we were eating. I am seriously considering reporting this place to the Camera Municipal to investigate their hygiene standard... Do not go there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    12
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Charming and unique”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

You can easily walk right on by this hole-in-the restaurant. The street is dark and the sign is small. The interior walls are covered with handwritten pages of glowing reviews of the restaurant. Frankly, our meals were okay. You go to this place for its unique atmosphere and personalized service from the owner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dk424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

In a side street in Mindelo parallel with the sea/port lies a tiny, unassuming restaurant. Do not be put off by the man/owner who stands at the entrance like a Greek pillar. Also, do not be put off by the quirky, minuscule dining area.You need to book or certainly be outside before 6.45p.m. as this tiny restaurant fills up quickly. If you like seafood, then this is a good restaurant to choose. Portions are large and deliciously cooked. Lobster is a favourite.
The walls are adorned with messages of praise written by customers from all over the World. Not recommended if you have a large party or small children but definitely recommended if you want good quality, inexpensive food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disgrace”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

this is still one of the more highly recommended restaurants in mindelo but appears to be cashing in on past success.
the four of us ordered (their famous) lobster and were served what i can only describe as the leftovers from a previous client, retrieved from the waste bin and heated up. heaped up on one plate for the four of us.
when we complained the owner shouted that the plate was filled with potatoes, salad and "his famous sauce" and he has only satisfied clients. we replied there was actually no lobster on our plate. he then shouted some more and said he would make a new lobster, which turned out to be a copy of the previous plate served. salad, potatoes and bits and pieces of lobster shell.
getting quite annoyed, three of us left the restaurant leaving the fourth to settle/negotiate the bill. he proposed the owner to pay for our drinks and one serving of lobster.
the owner consequently disappeared and within a few minutes the police showed up. their choice was simple - pay the full bill or join them to the police station. the owner was still nowhere to be found.
long story short, we paid the full bill but this was a completely ridiculous experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DrAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“promised more...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

it is situated in a dark street. when you go in it looks really nice, with lots of letters in the walls, but the food did not delivered. the service was not good at all, we felt unwanted but the people that were serving us. with better service and better food the place can be a "must go"

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiagoferreira79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pica Pau also viewed

Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 

Been to Pica Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing