We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disgrace” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pica Pau

Pica Pau
Ranked #24 of 34 Restaurants in Mindelo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disgrace”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

this is still one of the more highly recommended restaurants in mindelo but appears to be cashing in on past success.
the four of us ordered (their famous) lobster and were served what i can only describe as the leftovers from a previous client, retrieved from the waste bin and heated up. heaped up on one plate for the four of us.
when we complained the owner shouted that the plate was filled with potatoes, salad and "his famous sauce" and he has only satisfied clients. we replied there was actually no lobster on our plate. he then shouted some more and said he would make a new lobster, which turned out to be a copy of the previous plate served. salad, potatoes and bits and pieces of lobster shell.
getting quite annoyed, three of us left the restaurant leaving the fourth to settle/negotiate the bill. he proposed the owner to pay for our drinks and one serving of lobster.
the owner consequently disappeared and within a few minutes the police showed up. their choice was simple - pay the full bill or join them to the police station. the owner was still nowhere to be found.
long story short, we paid the full bill but this was a completely ridiculous experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DrAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    12
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“promised more...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

it is situated in a dark street. when you go in it looks really nice, with lots of letters in the walls, but the food did not delivered. the service was not good at all, we felt unwanted but the people that were serving us. with better service and better food the place can be a "must go"

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiagoferreira79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“funny strange place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Near praca igresia you can find this strange little restaurant, 5-6 tables, customer's notes decorate the walls, the food is good, fresh lobster well coocked, but the tuna was stringy and dry. Nice atmosphere. Average prices for Cabo Verde

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diporzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Go for fish sourp and lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a tiny restaurant and is probably always full. The night we tried it there was a mix of tourists and locals. Fish soup was excellent as was lobster. Great piri-piri.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Little Place, Big Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place, if you didn't know anything about it, you'd probably pass it by without a glimpse. This is our little gem in Mindelo! It's non pretentious and not fussed. It's all about the food!! The seafood "risotto" is absolutely delicious and my favourite! My girlfriend and I ate here many times, even during a blackout, they simply lit some candles and oil lamps which actually made it very romantic!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pica Pau also viewed

Mindelo, Sao Vicente
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
Mindelo, Sao Vicente
 

Been to Pica Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing