We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Rooms at Budget Rates”
Review of Solar Windelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solar Windelo
Ranked #1 of 21 Mindelo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I am an American living in Senegal. This is the eighth hotel I've reviewed on Trip Advisor since joining in January, and the first "Excellent" rating I've done. This place was an incredible value for the money. I stayed here for two nights with my wife during a one-week trip to Cape Verde. We stayed in the studio one night and the "estoico" the second night. We paid 25 Euro per night for both rooms, and breakfast was included both times.

Cleanliness - everything was clean, neat, and organized. They are doing lots of remodelling work, so most stuff is new or relatively new, but there's no mess from the remodelling to be seen.

Service - the host, Anmaury (spelling?) was great. I'm not sure if he was the owner, but he was doing lots of the remodelling work and taking care of the guests along with a Cape Verdean receptionist. He spoke perfect English, and the receptionist lady spoke French fine. They were both VERY helpful. Anmaury gave us some good restaurant recommendations, made sure we got our Santo Antao ferry tickets on time (this involved getting up before 7 to drive us to the ferry), and arranged a taxi for us to the airport at 6:15 am. He made sure we had breakfast both mornings even though they were both very early mornings. The breakfast was great - local cheese, fresh bread (he goes and gets it at the crack of dawn), jam, butter, juice, and coffee. There was even a sign offering free massages from Anmaury, who is apparently a massage student.

Location - The place is up a steep hill, but that permits a beautiful view of Mindelo, the bay, and Santo Antao. Even though the hill is steep, it's short and walking to the port or somewhere else in town can be done very easily in 15 minutes or less. The deck where breakfast is served is a GREAT place to spend an afternoon lounging/recovering from hikes on Santo Antao.

Value - We had a few other 25 Euro rooms during our stay in Cape Verde and they didn't compare to these rooms. They were clean, bright, comfortable, and secure. The estoico even has a safe in the room for your valuables.

Rooms - The rooms were very good, like I said above. Both had private bathrooms. The studio has great air conditioning and even a little kitchenette. The estoico has beautiful wood shutters and glass windows that open out to a courtyard kind of area. It also has a very nice wardrobe. The woodwork in the place was very well done. Wireless internet was available for 1 Euro or 100 escudos per hour (honor system). It worked well.

Sleep Quality - Other than neighborhood noises in the evening, the place was fine for sleeping. The estoico was a little warm and the ceiling fan was a little too noisy to leave on for the night, but it cooled down a few hours after dark. There were no mosquitoes, even with the windows open.

If you're coming to Mindelo, I honestly don't see why you wouldn't stay here. I didn't get a chance to see the more expensive rooms, but based on my experience I would guess they are also a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senegeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Solar Windelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

The hotel has different types of rooms for different prices, we stayed in two of them, and it was good value for money. Neat and clean.
Wireless internet with 1 EUR per hour, hot shower available whole day (not so obvious in Cape Verde).
The staff was multilingual, although they preferred French over English.
Also, we used the loundry service, with 5 EUR per machine load.
The most fantastic was the breakfast - standard cape verde menu (bread+ goat cheese + jam + banana), but the view over the city is magnificent.
Breakfast is served in a room with nice windows, but you can take it outside on the terrace - tastes a whole lot better :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zosiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Solar Windelo during a three week trip around the Cape Verde islands last November. After a week at an all inclusive resort on Sal, it was great to experience the real Cape Verde. The Windelo is a nice hotel with a beautiful view of Mindelo. It's also very reasonably priced. Our room was huge with two full beds and a modern bathroom. The owners were very friendly and gave us great suggestions for restaurants and bars in Mindelo. The city center is just a short walk from the hotel. It is advisable to take a taxi at night (less than 3 euros). Also, speaking some basic French or Portuguese is very useful. If you're in Mindelo, the lunch at the Alliance Française restaurant is a must.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I would just like to say that myself and my wife really enjoyed our stay at the Solar Windelo hotel.
We found Veronico and his wife to be great hosts who made us feel very welcome indeed, and the rooms themselves were lovely. The hotel also has marvelous views over the bay of Mindelo from its balcony and some of the rooms.
Our only wish is that we had more time to spend in Mindelo, which on our brief visit to and from Santo Antao, seems like a charming place.
I would certainly have no problem in highly recommending the Solar Windelo to friends visiting Cape Verde and St Vincente, and we certainly hope to visit again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kareimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Very nice place with a stunning view of the town and bay. Website booking is extremely fast and helpful and staff are nice. Very good value and actually located pretty close to town centre and ferry - just a steep hill. Only caveat - the budget studio is really a converted garage just outside the main building, with cold water and no view, so that explains the bargain price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Good value for money. Clean big rooms with good beds.
A bit away of the centre but the climb up the hill gives you a nice view of the harbour!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 188590Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

In June 2010 we stayed first two nights, and later one night in Solar Windelo.
We had their most expensive room "suite Vasco" which is very spacious with a superb view. We didn't miss the AC as we slept with open balconydoors. Yes, their is all kind of neighbourhoodsounds, but we have a barking dog at home so we didn't mind.

Of course, if you have a great view, this means it's quite a walk uphill back to the hotel. At night, we often walked to Praça Amilcar Cabral to have a drink, watch the capoeira and pick up a taxi which usually brought us to Solar Windelo for CVE 180.

Veronico is very nice, can arrange ferrytickets in advance and if you want he can arrange all kind of things at Santo Antao.
That's why we came back here after our first two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindelo
0.5 mi away
Residencial Alto Fortim
Residencial Alto Fortim
#10 of 13 in Mindelo
64 reviews
8.3 mi away
Residencial Goa
Residencial Goa
#1 of 13 in Mindelo
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Avenida
Apart Hotel Avenida
#8 of 13 in Mindelo
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Don Paco Hotel
Don Paco Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mindelo
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residential Jenny
Residential Jenny
#11 of 13 in Mindelo
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Ponta do Sol
Residencial Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Grande
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Windelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Windelo

Address: Alto Santo Antonio, seguir Alto Miramar | ex Casa de Vasco Martins, Mindelo, Sao Vicente, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Sao Vicente > Mindelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mindelo
Price Range: $33 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar Windelo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our small hotel you will have one of the most beautiful views in town. You will dominate the whole city, from the Porto Grande bay, known as one of the most beautiful in the world, to the Monte Cara, with, facing, the island of Santo Antão.We are offering 3 types of accommodations: - studio flats/efficiencies, - rooms, - suites,in a convivial atmosphere and at very moderate prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Solar Windelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Windelo Mindelo, Cape Verde - Sao Vicente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing