We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect. A place where I wish to return”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overlooking a protected beach for nesting turtles. Super-king  bed with extra thick mattress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Overlooking a protected beach for nesting turtles.
Super-king  bed with extra thick mattress
Twin beds can be pushed together to create one king with soft joiner so no hard edges
Indoor sitting area
Or sit outside weather is always good.
Kitchen area
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sdp_trave...
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect. A place where I wish to return”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you want to enjoy your stay in Sal Island, Avalon Villa is a great option, probably one of the bests in Santa Maria.
The appartment is on the ground floor, modern, composed by two spacious bedrooms and a wide living area and it is a place where you can definitely feel like you were at home. The appartment is described correctly and the pictures are representative, but there is much more you will discover as soon as you arrive.
Located just 5-10 minutes walking from Santa Maria center and from the main long beach, the house is seafront, so that you will have the chance to enjoy breathtaking views of the Ocean from the patio and be touched by the amazing atmosphere of this warm island. The place is safe, quiet, comfortable and very inspiring.
The appartment is fully furnished and equipped, to allow you to completely relax. Appliances range from microwave to tea boiler, from electric grill to toaster, from washing machine to iron. An air-drier is also provided. Wifi works quite well in all the appartment.
The owners are honest and trustworthy and they made every effort to make my acommodation pleasant.
I have travelled to more than 25 countries in the world and this was one of the best places where I stayed. I have nothing but good things to say about Avalon Villa: this is an excellence, absolutely recommended.

Traveling group: Da solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Thank you so much for such a nice review. It was really good to meet you and we were very happy that you liked our apartment and Santa Maria. We welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsCalaba...
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This review is based on a three-month vacation stay in one of the apartments at Avalon Villa, so plenty of time for an in-depth assessment.

Furnishings = top of the line; Equipment = complete to the smallest detail; Extras = filtered drinking water, window screens, wifi, washing machine, large sunny patio with parasol; Decor = pleasant and understated; Comfort level = 10/10; Communication = faultless; Problem solving = immediate; Proximity to services = within easy walking distance even for seniors; Views = frontline to the ocean; Landlords = gracious and welcoming; Suitability = any age, singles, families, retirees; Recommended = absolutely! Will we be back? What do you think?!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quality of everything and the filtered water.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here. You were the most perfect guests, we really enjoyed your company and sincerely hope that you come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacek K
Lodz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best apartament in Santa Maria”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The apartament was fantastic, very big, spacious and fully equipped. Even in tap was installed a filter so we shouldn' t bought a mineral water. Very important is fact that in this villa was not extra charge for water and electricity what is obligated in the rest of apartments on Sal Island. The owner Vicky is very calm, pleasent and helpful person. We were with only 8 months old child and the owner take care for everything even Vicky equipped fridge with desser for our child. We recomend this appartmen in 100% and if we came back on Sal we chose Villa Avalon for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Sebastian. It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us, (especially little Blueberry). I enjoyed meeting you and I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZS81
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am really happy that you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jörg L
Hohenstein
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you Jorg for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and our apartment. I would like to thank you for leaving the apartment so very clean and tidy. We were happy to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina W
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and your holiday. I agree with everything you have said about the island and hope that some of these things will change in the future, especially the poverty in some areas. Many of us try to help where we can and we ask guests if they have any spare room in their luggage to bring any kind of donations, particularly childrens clothers. I also think that the new mayor is trying to do something about this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing