We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but nice hotel.”
Review of Hotel Pontao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pontao
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Reviewed March 7, 2012

It's not a resort hotel like others on the island of Sal, but it doesn't cost the same.
I stayed there 3 nights.
Room was big and very clean.
The pool area and other common areas were clean too.
Breakfast was good.
Staff was quite nice.
Close to the center of Santa Maria and the beach.
The hotel also has a rent-a-car service; be advised the 80km included in the price, might not be enough to visit the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

I was very dissapointed that i had friends in santa maria i have known for 10 years, i came to visit & the hotel staFF WOULD NOT LET MY FRIENDS IN TO VISIT ME. I FINALLY CHANGED HOTELS as the staff was not accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skyspice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Being in our forties, my wife and I have traveled extensively. Having seen the poverty etc. in India, Africa, and Egypt and Tunisia to mention a few, we have never had such an awful holiday. We would rather have stayed again in a tent in the jungles of India than this hotel or Sal. illness was rife amongst our fellow travelers some quite serious but trying to get medical treatment was a joke. Food was terrible and so boring. I understand all water is imported but don't go near anything not bottled, not even for a swim. Service was none existant unless you wanted to buy a property on this, the most boring place on the planet. We spent best part of two weeks playing scrabble drinking what ever the hotel had available at the time and only when we could find some one to serve us. After 10 at night, forget it! Leave the hotel and the story is the same. No culture, no quisine, no local people or traditions, no natural resourses or habitats. Sorry there's a hole in a rock and a disused salt pan. The beach is nice if you dodge the glass, litter and dog dirt, assuming the 'breeze' doesn't knock you off your feet. Two fellow travelers, in their twenties, we met at the hotel paid £220 each to curtail their holiday by three days to fly to Gatwick. They lived in Manchester!! Don't waste your time coming here, there's millions of more interesting, pleasant and exciting places on the planet.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank happychapKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed at the hotel pontao for a week and that was enough the area around the pool was awful there were only 9 sunbeds and half were broken, the room was ok and the breakfast was allright but we did not like Cape Verde (SANTA MARIA) at all.

I think the travel agents are making it sound tropical and it's nothing like that we have been to many far and away place's and this is the worse.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank LeavesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

we stayed on sal at the hotel pontao for 1 week in nov 08 with friends, we were looking for a relaxing week in the sun with out spending a fortune and this is what we got.The hotel is small offering just a b&b basics,the breakfasts are good but do get a bit boaring by the end of the week, the rooms are a good size and cleaned everyday. The hotel is located right in the town with loads of restrants and bars with in walking distance offering a good range of foods.Opposite the hotel is a very good fish restrant owned by a german couple who are very help full and the food is first class,we asked one of the guys who work there about doing the tour of the island he sorted it out,for the 8 of us to go for the full day in a jeep with alan as a guide seeing all the sights in our own time it cost 10 per person (thomsons wanted 38 per person) well worth doing.Dont worry about going out and about you may get asked to go to shops,but just say no thanks and keep walking we had no problens at all.The beaches are fantastic the sea warm and ok to swim in.We would go back but go soon before it gets spoilt.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank indiogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from staying at the Pontao for a week and had a great time. If you arrive thinking it will be the lap of luxury and you can spend a lot of time here, you will be disappointed. If you are after somewhere to lay your head and to use as a base for exploring the town, it's perfect. The rooms are cleaned to a spotless standard every day, the pool is fine for a quick dip but it's quite small and the scenery surrounding it is less than inspiring so you couldn't really spend the day there. The breakfast is good - cereal, cheese, meat, bread, cakes, fruit and eggs cooked any way you like. As far as we could tell the bar was open 24 hours and the staff weren't over-friendly and didn't speak great English but the manager was quite fluent so I'm sure any problems could be ironed out without issue. You can hire a car from there for 61 euros for 24 hours which is a great way to see the island - Pedra de Lume, Espargos and Palmeria are all pretty close and you can see everything in a day. There is a club called Pirata across the road which is quite noisy - if you are a light sleeper then it's probably best to request a poolside room when you book. It didn't bother us too much but I did hear some other guests complaining about it at breakfast. All in all we loved Santa Maria and thought this hotel was great as a base but it's definintely not for someone who likes to lie around the pool and be waited on all day - probably best to try either of the Riu hotels for that.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Siany1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

The hotel Pontao and Sal on Cape Verde in general is a lovely island converted into package holiday hell. If you like nothing but to stay cooped up in a hotel eating the same damn thing amongst other chav Germans, Swedes and Brits give it a go. If you want to walk around the small town and see any african culture - forget it. If you want to try the local cuisine - not an option. But you´ll find many a pizza place and even a typical chav sports bar serving fry-ups. The hotel Pontao is the best bet for people lookign to escape package holiday hell, but when there´s nothing to do in the main town you may as well be in a resort - although avoid the "Riu" a Vegas-style monstrosity. Most hotels seem to have great construction site views too. If you like water sports and wind then you can probably overlook the accomodation, culinary and cultural gaps but other than that i´d not recommend. The other islands are meant to be stunning - so try that - if you can afford it

One final thing, people are lovely - don´t be scared, just friendly. They´re not out to mug you, just looking for a chat

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank Feb08Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pontao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pontao

Address: Avenida dos, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $59 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pontao 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pontao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontao Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Pontao Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing