We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of Sal”
Review of Odjo d'agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the Odjo d'Agua hotel from May 13th until May 26th and we loved every day of our stay.
We had booked a sea view room and that appeared to be a wise decision. Our room was room 106 which had a beautiful view on the turkoise ocean.
Room was rather simple but comfortable and very clean. We loved our terrace with 2 comfortable chairs, a small table and a hammock. It was wonderful to sit there at the end of the evening, drinking a beer and watching the waves.
People at the front desk are very friendly.
There is a small swimming pool. We didn't swim but spend some time relaxing near the pool with a beautiful view on the ocean.
There are also sunbeds at the beach with a little small bar. A trendy guy is running the bar; he is not really friendly which is a pitty. Rest of the staff is. You can get a beach towel there for a deposit of 20 euro's which you get back after returning the last towel at the end of your stay.
Breakfast is really good and the buffet is located in the open restaurant with view on the ocean. They even have tuna carpacio for breakfast!
We also had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and enjoyed that very much. Not cheap but very good with a very good athmosphere.
Location is unbeatable. We noticed that many tourists came by to make pictures of the hotel. It looks so pitoresque!
There are some nice little restaurant close by.
When we would return to Sal we will defenitly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeeland Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 484 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I am writing to talk about their restaurant. I didn't stay in this hotel, but did dine in this place.
it's the best in Santa Maria. Of course the price is high as you can expect. The grilled octopus is a dish you don't want to miss. Atum (tuna) and serra (saw fish) are things you don't want to miss as well.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank sleeper24hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you want to experience the real Santa Maria Sal then you must stay here. This is a beautiful quaint hotel in an amazing location, so much so people come here in the afternoon, from other hotels, for coffee/drinks to enjoy the full view of the bay. The food is simple but tasty, the hotel and rooms are clean and well presented. The staff are curteous and gracious. In my view this is the only place to stay when in Sal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank claire58009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We chose Odjo d'Agua for its location and were not disappointed. It is located right on the beach (practically in the sea) and in the centre of town. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly the ladies in reception. We had a room facing the courtyard but soon discovered that where our room was positioned that if you opened the shutters at the back of the room we had a sneaky sea view as well! The room and bed were comfortable and kept clean. The wardrobe was large but half of it was almost impossible to get to as the door was fixed. The shower screen in the bathroom was too large and precariously fixed to the wall making it a challenge to get in and out of the shower. These are just little gripes that in no way spoilt our enjoyment of the holiday.

Breakfast is taken either on the outside verandah or in the inside area which is open all around. When the waves are particularly high they can splash up onto the table. The views are spectacular and make it a wonderful way to start the day. The choice of breakfast was enormous and the food of good quality. We only ate one evening meal in the hotel and found the amosphere and entertainment good but the food average.

Would recommend the day trip round the island with Barracuda Tours - the rep was enthusiastic and friendly. We also went out on Neptunus, the glass bottomed boat, which was fun. For good quality, value for money food and drinks try Lanchonete Angela. This is located behind the hotel's beach. Our favourite restaurant was the Cultural Cafe in the main square, their house wine is very good.

All in all if you are not the all inclusive type try Odjo d'Agua - you will not be disappointed. You will always find a vacant sunbed either round the pool or on the beach. You are never more than a few steps away from the sea, bars, cafes, shops and local life.

Best feature of Odjo d'Auga? This has got to the its location.
Least favourite feature? If I have to find one I would have to say the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aquarius1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were staying in the Riu hotel along the coast but wanted to get out and see a little bit more of the island. For anyone in a similar position would heartily recommend a meal at the Odjo d'Agua. We went twice.. both times my wife said the prawns were among the best she'd ever had.. and my food (brazilian style steak one night, fresh fried fish another) was also really good.

The main appeal though was the location and the friendliness of the staff. We sat overlooking the sea and for me the highlight was actually when the power failed for a few minutes.. all the lights off meant an even better view of the moon reflecting on the sea and a beautiful starry sky. Our waitress came over with a grin and a torch pretty much straightaway - am guessing it's a fairly frequent occurence and it's nice to be somewhere with a bit of character!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDonathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I think this hotel is the best on Sal island. In case you don't need big hotel chains or basic bungalows and you prefer smaller, more intimate place, book this hotel. It also have excellent restuarant (literally above the sea) and also it's very close to all attractions you may need. Just a few rooms have direct sea view, so confirm in advance if you want this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked this hotel through Thomson and spent two week here.

It was simply fantastic. This family owned hotel has a warm and friendly welcome and is situated in a wonderful position with sea on three sides. We booked the hotel on a half board basis and found that the restaurant was exceptionally good. Specialising in seafood, which was delivered direct from the nearby fishing jetty, the fish was exceptional.

The hotel itself is quiet, just perfect for a relaxing holiday reading books on the private beach or by the side of the small pool. When we went there were mainly adult couples as guests which provided a very laid back atmosphere.

The rooms were very clean (as was the whole hotel) and had minibar, AC (which worked!) and a balcony (with a hammock!). Also, the WiFi system in the rooms gave access to the outside world, but we found ourselves using this less and less as the holiday progressed as our brains relaxed into books.

The staff at the hotel were warm and friendly - and really welcoming.

If you want a change from the all inclusive ghettos, then this is certainly the place to be - total quiet relaxation.

Note to the hotel - please don't be tempted to go down the all inclusive route. What you have at the moment sets you apart from the rest. Please don't change and we'll be back.

Many thanks to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: The WiFi is a bit expensive at 35 euros per week, but apart from this the hotel has excellant value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jetlaga380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,596 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,987 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Melia Llana Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odjo d'agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odjo d'agua Hotel

Address: Zona do Farolinho, CP 71 | Ilha do Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $121 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Odjo d'agua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a small promontory where the Vera Cruz Lighthouse is located, the hotel is partially built over the sea. From the hotel restaurant you can enjoy the stunning overlooking of Santa Maria Bay. We offer a warm welcome to our clientele, who can relax in a quiet, intimate and family atmosphere while enjoying the surrounding beauty of the ocean and Santa Maria beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Odjo d'agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odjo D'agua Hotel Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria
Hotel Odjo d Agua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing