We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sal Nightmare!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Reviewed April 2, 2013

At the time of my stay at the Belorizonte, I had already stay at Riu Karamboa (Boavista island) and Riu Garopa. These two hotels were both pleasant and I enjoyed both stays. When I arrived at the Belorizonte I thought it was a nightmare, for true!

The Hotel:
It is formed by rooms and bungalows. I stayed at a bungalow. The hotel has three pools, but only one is made of fresh water, not to mention that the floor around the big pool (near Santa Maria restaurant) hurts your feet. You have three restaurants and several bars. The beach club is ok, but some things from the bar are not included in the ‘all’ inclusive package. And sometimes the sea is a bit dangerous (the lifeguard is just useless), so be careful with small kids and people who are not very confident with the sea. But it is still pleasant, actually I think the beach is the best of the hotel. The wifi internet was supposed to work but it didn't, not even the computers at the lobby. So, no internet at all in this hotel. However, in the village there is a government building where the 'Centro Cultural' is located, with free and fast wifi, so I got used to walk everyday to Santa Maria (10 minutes) just to FaceTime with my family and check my emails.

The Room:
As I wrote, the hotel has bungalows and normal rooms. Part of our group stayed at the main building and for the little I saw, these rooms are way better than the bungalows. Unfortunately I didn't. First thing: safety (in this case, lack of). The doors are so crappy that are easily broke into. The bungalows have holes that allow cockroaches to enter (I 'hunted' three only inside the room during my stay). The safe in the room doesn't work properly and it is so small that things won't fit in there (and one person can carry it away from the room easily, for sure), not to mention that you have to pay for it. Apart from the beds, which are normal, all the furniture is falling apart!! Our wardrobe demounted when we opened it! The desk was so unstable that I was scared that it would break! The lights in the room were buckets filled with sand that looked like dustbins! One pillow on the 'couch' was dirty with a white fluid that I don't even want to think about what could be (!!). The facilities are not properly cleaned (they just sweep!!). And the bathroom was even worse!! The shower doors were broken so were always falling and the water sometimes was boiling sometimes was freezing! Terrible terrible room! There is a mini-bar which is filled with two bottles of water daily (in the Riu you have to ask the reception for the bottles and carry them to the room). But the bungalows are of a three or even two star hotel for sure.

Food & drinks:
I stayed at the Riu and the food standards there are high, with big variety of choice and also good overall quality. At the Belorizonte, being a smaller, 4-star hotel, I was expecting a little bit different. But the difference is way too much. The variety is terrible, I don’t know why they bother having two restaurants if they have the same horrible food in all of them. The supposed 'fancy' restaurant Salinas (à la carte menu) that you receive a voucher for, is simply disgusting and everybody from my group got sick after eating there shrimp, cocktail sauce or pasta. I had diarrhea and vomits, so on the last three days all I enjoyed from the all-inclusive was melon and some cold salads. The drinks were ok but they don’t know how to prepare cocktails properly.

Night shows & animation:
At night there is always some kind of show with Cape Verdean people at the Salinas restaurant, but very amateur, they just put on some music and then the animation team dances with the guests. At the Riu there are shows a lot more well prepared and with themes like Grease, Shrek, Mamma Mia, etc. At the fresh water pool and at the beach there is animation (spinning, aqua sports, break dance, volleyball, football, etc) several times a day with very kind and funny animators. The team does a good work in this point, amusing even the smaller kids.

Overall experience:
It is an old, bad quality hotel, and the food is terrible (don’t forget if you’re staying in the all inclusive package you’ll be paying to eat ALL the meals at the hotel, and restaurants in the village are not cheap), but if you just want to go to the beach and the pool to enjoy the Cape Verdean sun and kind people, it is ok. If you want the best, go for Riu brand hotels, which are way ahead of the Belorizonte in what concerns security, food quality and variety, comfort and quality of the rooms. If I return to Cape Verde, I’ll definitely go for the Riu, it is for sure worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Go for the main buildings, the bungalows are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Tomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were a bit surprise by this review, as some of the things mentioned are far from reality.
If you did in fact know well Sal Island you will understand the following:

- Our hotel compared to the one you mentioned is on the best spot of the island, with a white sand beach and a calm sea. Much better to children and families who choose to be with us because of our best location. Ponta Preta where the other hotel which you insist on saying is best is known for having big waves and is where surfers often go.

- Our food offer is known to be one of the best in the island. Guests from other hotels come to dinner at Salinas Restaurant and watch our evening shows. We have a top chef and plenty variety. We believe that other hotels can also have a good food offer but we don' t consider ours inferior, on the contrary.

- Our animation team is one of our best values in the hotel. Night shows are thematic and show the Capeverdean culture. The hotel you mentioned as your reference of wonderful has the same animation as the other hotels of the same chain that are in different parts of the world. In fact in this point we know for sure that we don' t have any competition because we want to show the music and the culture of this beautiful country and make our guests feel that they are in Cape Verde and not in any other part of the world. If you enjoy an hotel that makes you feel you are in another country and doens' t show you the good things about Africa and Cape Verde, then we understand all your critic.

Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed there Feb 1 - Feb 7 (eg. Feb 2 as there was some mistake with the booking so we had a night at a more fancy All-inclusive hotel for a night but I must say I prefer this - even though:
The food was not the most delicous (I then mean the buffet which we had once) escpecially not the red wine (which was a joke- was it water in it?) and even was not included. The breakfast was more than OK. One should also consider this is Africa, Shall everything be exactly as in Scandinavia? The restaurang Salinas was in a better class.
We had a bungalow superior (283) and that was not so bad. However, the style with washbasin outside the bathroom is obiously common but strange and "irritating" as well as the switchs to the funny but not so practical bedlamps placed so you have to almost rise to switch off... The disposition of the room are perhaps not even the best but - never mind.
Many people have also wondered about the system (if there is any) for the roomnumbers. Besides, if these bungalows was paid in something else than this dark brown the whole area should look more "fresh"!
However: It is a nice, familiar atmosphere. The "animation team" which performed during the evenings, had aerobics, teached dancing etc was a lovely group of people, So was even the hotel staff!
Must mention that my friend became very sick the same day as we arrived. (Do not blame Belorizonte - he felt ill even the day before) - so ill so they assisted a transportation to a nearly situated clinic there he rather quick recovered. He was of course still not quite fit they day after but the staff was so helpful and caring and came with special food etc. We loved them and will send a special greeting to Mario L. and Nelida L.

Room Tip: The rooms in the central apratmentbuilding are more traditional but it is some charm with the bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Glad you enjoyed the overall atmosphere and all our staff.
We will take all your observations under consideration in order to improve our quality and our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

You have to admire how the staff does handle and manage so many bungalows and tourists of all walks of life. Bungalow 276 encountered a few problems, but were fixed immediately when pointed out to them. Wi-fi and internet werea bit slower than in other countries, but it has to be considered that Cape Verde is neither Europe nor USA, etc.
The charm and courtesy of the staff and local people made up for everything else.
One should not forget that they have to import most things what we take for granted at home! As Anja mentioned in her comment it is nice to see that there are still some countries which have not yet too much changed their way of living. I loved the saying of the locals: NO STRESS and enjoy a relaxing holiday! For me the beautiful beach outside our bungalow, clean sea, sunshine, wind and escape from the winter weather in Euope in Feb. 2013 were the more important things than to complain, about small things that was fixed by the staff.

Room Tip: Bungalow 267 was close to the beach and between two restaurants of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Primerli4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback.
Glad you had a good time and enjoyed this country and this people.
Hope you can return next winter!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were 14 days in this hotel and enjoyed the beautiful beach (beds, umbrellas and towels), lovely pools, excellent food and drinks (offered in 2 restaurants with buffet 1 restaurant served) the friendly service the enthusiastic animation team and the attentive staff. We used the all inclusive option which was a hit because the prices in the hotel are at European level +. The Internet is quite expensive, certainly not quickly and only in the reception area bruikbaar.De bungalows are simple but clean, they have a fridge, air conditioning, TV and safe (fee).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajheideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
Glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were there in January 2013. Mixed feelings about this hotel. Nice, big and good location.

What disappointed us:

1. waiting for 2hrs to get our room at check-in. We got it at the end at 15:30
2. Wi-fi is extremely expensive. After buying a 30mins, we noticed that it was extremely slow, making it impossible to use.
3. receptionists - trying to explain to them something in english, they do not always get it.
4. towels - terrible service here. After 3days using the same towels which is ok for us, we threw them on the floor to get them changed. We came back from the beach finding no towels. I went to the receptionist and she told me they are coming with clean towels. Waited 30mins and no towels. Called the receptionist and she again told me they are coming. Waited another 15mins and still no towels. Went to the receptionist again. At the end we got towels after 50mins waiting. For them, 'they are coming' means can be in 30mins, 1hr, 2hrs. Happened to us also with the beach towels. Very poor service here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toninu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We value every feedback and we will take under consideration the points mentioned in order to continue improving our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned yesterday from a 1 week stay, all inclusive, at Belorizonte, Sal, Calp Cape Verde.
It was our 1st time in Cape Verde and it was just like going back in time as we are living in Portugal.
Nice to see that there are still some countries which have not changed their way of living to adapted to modern standards.

Complex was very nice, well located, just a short walk away from the village of Santa Maria (take some good walking shoes with you as the walk ways and streets are not all that good!!)

The 2 bungalows (162 & 164) we stayed in, was comfortable and well located (near the pools, restaurants & beach) but a bit dated (all could do with an upgrade).
They do offer up grated bungalows for a higher price but as it is a 4 Star complex they should all be up grated we think.

Beds are a bit hard and can make noises when you turn in the night. No shutters on the window so if you are a light sleeper like me you are awake as soon as the sun comes up. Hotel has internet access and WIFI but you need to pay 3,50 Euro /half hour.

Staff was very very friendly and also extremely helpful. Many thanks especially to Audenise (hope I spelled the name correct).

When staying all inclusive you will have 3 vouchers for dinner: 1 at Salinas which is a à la card restaurant and 2 at Flor do Sal which offers buffet with typical dishes from Cape Verde. The rest of the evenings you can eat at the buffet restaurant Santa Maria.

The food was very good in all 3 restaurants, lots of choice and every day different.

For anyone who likes suba diving there is a dive center on side called Manta Diving. Check it out on Trip advisor. I dive with them and was very pleased with the service & the safety aspect.

We did a tour with Dany Lopes around the island of Sal, who is a certified tour guide. He took us to places were the tour guide´s from the tour operators would not have taken us.
He spend 5 hours with us, explained everything about the important places of the island and answered at least 1 million questions we asked him about the locals, the way of living and anything else about Cape Verde. His trio is highly recommended-
He is located just outside the complex on the side of the beach.

One last thing to mention: there is always wind on the island BUT in January & February there is a lot more wind so take a jumper and jeans with you for the evenings as well as a light scarf

Room Tip: We stayed at 162 & 164 which is well located, cose to reataurant, breakfasdt, pool & beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anja1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Anja,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can return to our hotel!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is the best in Santa Maria. It is close to Santa Maria town and also beach near the hotel is good (very clean). We had all inclusive and it was worth of it. Food was good and there were always lot of different kind of salads and main courses. Also deserts were amazing every day. All in all the whole all inclusive worked very well.
There were 3 pools, all very clean. Only problem was there weren't enough deck chairs. They all were booked already on early morning. But from beach we found free chairs.
Hotel staff were nice, we didn't have any problems with them. Also entertainment crew was good.
We had a bungalow. It was clean and size of it was good for two people. During a week we saw one cockroach in our bungalow.
All in all this hotel was very good with nice pools, big area, good food, nice staff and perfect beach. We enjoyed our holiday in there a lot!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We value every feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your vacation!

Hope you can return!

Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cabo Verde Sal Resort
Hilton Cabo Verde Sal Resort
#15 of 20 in Santa Maria
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Address: C.p. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $119 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing