We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere at an average standard apartment hotel close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed there Feb 1 - Feb 7 (eg. Feb 2 as there was some mistake with the booking so we had a night at a more fancy All-inclusive hotel for a night but I must say I prefer this - even though:
The food was not the most delicous (I then mean the buffet which we had once) escpecially not the red wine (which was a joke- was it water in it?) and even was not included. The breakfast was more than OK. One should also consider this is Africa, Shall everything be exactly as in Scandinavia? The restaurang Salinas was in a better class.
We had a bungalow superior (283) and that was not so bad. However, the style with washbasin outside the bathroom is obiously common but strange and "irritating" as well as the switchs to the funny but not so practical bedlamps placed so you have to almost rise to switch off... The disposition of the room are perhaps not even the best but - never mind.
Many people have also wondered about the system (if there is any) for the roomnumbers. Besides, if these bungalows was paid in something else than this dark brown the whole area should look more "fresh"!
However: It is a nice, familiar atmosphere. The "animation team" which performed during the evenings, had aerobics, teached dancing etc was a lovely group of people, So was even the hotel staff!
Must mention that my friend became very sick the same day as we arrived. (Do not blame Belorizonte - he felt ill even the day before) - so ill so they assisted a transportation to a nearly situated clinic there he rather quick recovered. He was of course still not quite fit they day after but the staff was so helpful and caring and came with special food etc. We loved them and will send a special greeting to Mario L. and Nelida L.

Room Tip: The rooms in the central apratmentbuilding are more traditional but it is some charm with the bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Glad you enjoyed the overall atmosphere and all our staff.
We will take all your observations under consideration in order to improve our quality and our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

You have to admire how the staff does handle and manage so many bungalows and tourists of all walks of life. Bungalow 276 encountered a few problems, but were fixed immediately when pointed out to them. Wi-fi and internet werea bit slower than in other countries, but it has to be considered that Cape Verde is neither Europe nor USA, etc.
The charm and courtesy of the staff and local people made up for everything else.
One should not forget that they have to import most things what we take for granted at home! As Anja mentioned in her comment it is nice to see that there are still some countries which have not yet too much changed their way of living. I loved the saying of the locals: NO STRESS and enjoy a relaxing holiday! For me the beautiful beach outside our bungalow, clean sea, sunshine, wind and escape from the winter weather in Euope in Feb. 2013 were the more important things than to complain, about small things that was fixed by the staff.

Room Tip: Bungalow 267 was close to the beach and between two restaurants of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Primerli4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback.
Glad you had a good time and enjoyed this country and this people.
Hope you can return next winter!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were 14 days in this hotel and enjoyed the beautiful beach (beds, umbrellas and towels), lovely pools, excellent food and drinks (offered in 2 restaurants with buffet 1 restaurant served) the friendly service the enthusiastic animation team and the attentive staff. We used the all inclusive option which was a hit because the prices in the hotel are at European level +. The Internet is quite expensive, certainly not quickly and only in the reception area bruikbaar.De bungalows are simple but clean, they have a fridge, air conditioning, TV and safe (fee).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajheideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
Glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed our hotel and services.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were there in January 2013. Mixed feelings about this hotel. Nice, big and good location.

What disappointed us:

1. waiting for 2hrs to get our room at check-in. We got it at the end at 15:30
2. Wi-fi is extremely expensive. After buying a 30mins, we noticed that it was extremely slow, making it impossible to use.
3. receptionists - trying to explain to them something in english, they do not always get it.
4. towels - terrible service here. After 3days using the same towels which is ok for us, we threw them on the floor to get them changed. We came back from the beach finding no towels. I went to the receptionist and she told me they are coming with clean towels. Waited 30mins and no towels. Called the receptionist and she again told me they are coming. Waited another 15mins and still no towels. Went to the receptionist again. At the end we got towels after 50mins waiting. For them, 'they are coming' means can be in 30mins, 1hr, 2hrs. Happened to us also with the beach towels. Very poor service here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toninu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We value every feedback and we will take under consideration the points mentioned in order to continue improving our services.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned yesterday from a 1 week stay, all inclusive, at Belorizonte, Sal, Calp Cape Verde.
It was our 1st time in Cape Verde and it was just like going back in time as we are living in Portugal.
Nice to see that there are still some countries which have not changed their way of living to adapted to modern standards.

Complex was very nice, well located, just a short walk away from the village of Santa Maria (take some good walking shoes with you as the walk ways and streets are not all that good!!)

The 2 bungalows (162 & 164) we stayed in, was comfortable and well located (near the pools, restaurants & beach) but a bit dated (all could do with an upgrade).
They do offer up grated bungalows for a higher price but as it is a 4 Star complex they should all be up grated we think.

Beds are a bit hard and can make noises when you turn in the night. No shutters on the window so if you are a light sleeper like me you are awake as soon as the sun comes up. Hotel has internet access and WIFI but you need to pay 3,50 Euro /half hour.

Staff was very very friendly and also extremely helpful. Many thanks especially to Audenise (hope I spelled the name correct).

When staying all inclusive you will have 3 vouchers for dinner: 1 at Salinas which is a à la card restaurant and 2 at Flor do Sal which offers buffet with typical dishes from Cape Verde. The rest of the evenings you can eat at the buffet restaurant Santa Maria.

The food was very good in all 3 restaurants, lots of choice and every day different.

For anyone who likes suba diving there is a dive center on side called Manta Diving. Check it out on Trip advisor. I dive with them and was very pleased with the service & the safety aspect.

We did a tour with Dany Lopes around the island of Sal, who is a certified tour guide. He took us to places were the tour guide´s from the tour operators would not have taken us.
He spend 5 hours with us, explained everything about the important places of the island and answered at least 1 million questions we asked him about the locals, the way of living and anything else about Cape Verde. His trio is highly recommended-
He is located just outside the complex on the side of the beach.

One last thing to mention: there is always wind on the island BUT in January & February there is a lot more wind so take a jumper and jeans with you for the evenings as well as a light scarf

Room Tip: We stayed at 162 & 164 which is well located, cose to reataurant, breakfasdt, pool & beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anja1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Anja,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you can return to our hotel!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is the best in Santa Maria. It is close to Santa Maria town and also beach near the hotel is good (very clean). We had all inclusive and it was worth of it. Food was good and there were always lot of different kind of salads and main courses. Also deserts were amazing every day. All in all the whole all inclusive worked very well.
There were 3 pools, all very clean. Only problem was there weren't enough deck chairs. They all were booked already on early morning. But from beach we found free chairs.
Hotel staff were nice, we didn't have any problems with them. Also entertainment crew was good.
We had a bungalow. It was clean and size of it was good for two people. During a week we saw one cockroach in our bungalow.
All in all this hotel was very good with nice pools, big area, good food, nice staff and perfect beach. We enjoyed our holiday in there a lot!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We value every feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your vacation!

Hope you can return!

Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is located on the best beach of the island, close to village center. It is a big hotel with apartments and bungalows. There are 3 pools (one with salty water) and some other small pools for little kids. The hotel is huge and well maintained with palm trees, grass and gardenlike areas.NICE (on a completely desert island)! We stayed in a bungalow just next to the fence, far from the reception. It was silent and safe due to the guards (day and night). This bungalow was not renovated yet (rusty metallic parts in bathroom, tiny and very very old fridge...), but it was clean. Big double bed, but the bunk beds in the gardrobe (yes, like beds in the cupboard) were only 150cm long, no air, claustrofic. It was ok for us that our 6 years old slept with us, but might be problem for others with older kids staying here. Tiny TV, incredible old and dirty aircon machine, but very effective and silentest ever had.The pools were clean and not crowded, although many people reserved the sunbeds from early morning, even it was marked it is forbidden. The beach in front of the hotel is very nice. Windy, as everywhere in Sal island. Just a short walk to the fishers harbor/jetty where you can watch every morning the fishermen´s arrival with colorful fishes. From here departs the glassbottom boat as well. The hotel has own sunbeds on the beach, also reserved from early morning. Sunrise is very nice from the beach. Sunset is on the west side, not visible from the hotel area. Sand is yellow and fine. Sea water temperature was around 25 Celsius in November, air temperature 25-29. Not humid, VERY good weather, although it was usually cloudy in the afternoons. So pleasant to sit on the beach and watch the waves. (Our kid loved to float on the big waves, this only with adults supervision, otherwise too dangerous for kids even on the shore due to the strong waves.) There are a few trip options on the island, trip organizers just outside the hotel, also the official Tourist Info office next door. Walking to the village center can be done along the asfalted road or on the promenade between the hotels and beach, latter the nicer. Approx 10 mins, small souvenir shops, many restaurants but many of them is not open for lunch, starting serve dinner from 6pm. The hotel has several options (restaurant, bar), also all inclusive. We had only breakfast in the hotel, which was very nice, lots of choices. The Santa Maria restaurant, where the breakfast was served, was airconditioned, clean and no flights inside. Good food, not hot always, but we were satisfied. Other restaurant of the hotel made pizza for us out of dining hours, we were grateful for this. Playground for kids, morning and afternoon activities by stuff, tennis court, massage, hairdresser, pool activities for adults, music shows every evening at 9pm. Cleaning personnel OK, receptionists are not very quick, restaurant personnel OK. One bottle of water per person is provided every day, so you do not have to carry it yourself from a shop, nice gesture. All in all, this is not a 5 star hotel (marked 3), but clean, nice and in a good location. The weather in November is fairly good (compared to Europe) and we highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for recommending us.

We hope you can repeat the Oasis Experience!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,008 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Address: C.p. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $166 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing