We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hi,
we stayed at the Belirezonte Hotel in Sal at the Cape Verde Islands in
November of 2012 and it was awesome! The hotel is nice, probably not four
stars like they say but a good 3.5. The reason for the little lower star value
is because the rooms a little bit older, but still nice. They are basically
bungalows, with a private porch. The rooms are air conditioned, and clean and
perfectly fine. One problem we had was a necklace and a watch was stolen from
our room, I guess by the cleaner but that was only because we didn't use the
safe that is in the room. The local populace is poor though, so we can't
really blame the hotel since we didn't use the safe which is available.
The hotel itself is nice, there are three different pools, with a kiddy pool
all with lawnchairs. There are two pool tables in the bar area, as well as
ping pong table, and the hotel organizes entertainment each night. The best
thing about the hotel is the food, as it is very good. They have a large
variety with salads, fish, meats, vegetables, and really awesome deserts. We
have stayed at all inclusive resorts in Turkey and the Canary Islands and this
food was the best so far.
The best thing by far is the beach, which the hotel is right on. We could walk
out our door and basically step onto the beach. It is an awesome large, sandy
beach with clear warm water. There are lots of lawn chairs on the beach in
front of the hotel, and a bar right on the beach where you can get all
inclusive drinks (including alcohol) all day. In addition there is a
kiteboarding center and a dive center on the beach right in front of the hotel
so you can go on diving trips and take kite boarding lessons right from in
front of the hotel.
Sal itself is poor and undeveloped. There is a lot of construction going on of
new hotels and apartments and I would say that Sal is currently where the
Canaries were 30 years ago. The streets are cobbled or paved but are old, and
there is a shortage of sidewalks. People in the street come up to you trying
to get you into their stores to buy stuff, or try to sell you stuff on the
street, but this is typical of any undeveloped country. The people are very
friendly though, and we had a great time walking around the town at night
visiting bars and restaurants, including a cool rooftop reggae bar in the
center of the town.
There is not a lot of touristy stuff on the island so you can explore the
whole island in one day. We went on the Itaka Island tour, but this was a
mistake and I do not at all recommend it. It was very expensive and was not
good, plus the tour guide has a deal with one of the market owners to get cash
on what the tourists buy so that was not cool. I would recommend you take the
island tour by renting 4x4 quads, or by a small local tour guy with the tour
toyota trucks for four people. We didn't do it but some other guests did and
they said it was really good.
Overall we had a awesome time at Sal, and I would highly recommend you go
there. It's 28 degrees and sunny everyday, so nothing wrong with that! We went
diving and kiteboarding everyday and lay on the beach and enjoyed great food
at the hotel. It was really great!

Room Tip: superior bungalow close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cliffy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We were happy to see that you really enjoyed our food and location. Hope you can return and relax once more in this fabulous beach!

Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Don't listen to people complaining about everything in this hotel. I was there with my boyfriend and we were very happy with Oasis Belorizonte Hotel. Our superior bungalow was nice, had working air condition, safe, tv (there is a deposit for tv and air con remote controls). The only complain about the room was that we had 2 single beds joined together beside one big bed and the drain in the shower didn't work very well (but you don't spend that much time in washroom). I didn't here anything through the walls and we weren't bothered by noise. Cleaning ladies were very nice and they were cleaning rooms every day, changing towels and sheets.
The personnel was very nice and helpful even though not everybody speak english very well.
Food was amazing (we had all inclusive option). Big variety, lot of fresh vegetables and fruit, nice deserts and even sea food. There was no flies on food or any other insects as some people were saying. Waiters were cleaning tables all the time and bringing new cutlery if needed. Probably I gained few pounds on this trip ;)
We didn't spend much time in the hotel so I don't know anything about entertainment programm but lot of people were going to see it every day. We were mostly diving, kitesurfing (sport centers right in front of the hotel at the beach -Orca diving center and club-mistral) and going to Santa Maria town at the evenings.
Local people wants you to buy from their shops but they are nice even if you refuse. We also went to reggae bar at the roof of the building and it was very cool party. Local people were dancing with tourists and they were very friendly.

Room Tip: I recommend Superior Bungalows close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending time writing a review.
We were glad to know you enjoyed our hotel.
Hope you can repeat the experience!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We read some criticism on these pages about the hotel, hygiene etc but still took the risk. We had a standard room which was clean and spacious and had a balcony. The bungalows seemed to be rather small and I do not know whether there might be an insect problem but nothing to complain on that front in a block standard room.

The meals were abundant. We paid attention to the hygiene levels but everything seemed ok. Maybe the hotel has undertaken some improvements since the last complaints were posted.

Overall we were very satisfied with the hotel choice. The personnel was very friendly and the organisation ran smoothly. Once we ran out of water and once the towels were scarce due to a laundry problem but this probably has more to do with the overall infrastructure on the island.

As for the rest of the island, Sal really is a boring spot. The beaches are wonderful and it is cleaner than we thought it might be but unless you do water sports, there is not much to see or do. We had hoped to get introduced to the famous cap verdian music tradition - well it was impossible to see anything authentic, or even local. The only disco in the village and a few bars were playing mostly western music (and reggaeton and kizomba). If you are staying for a couple of weeks, try and organise a trip to the more inhabited islands (not Boa vista, that is a similar, artificial turist attraction as Sal).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
It is very important for us to receive client`s feedback in order to improve.
Glad you enjoyed our food!

Hope you can return to Belorizonte Hotel!

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It´s a good place with little bungalows in front of the beach to stay relaxing and 3 pools to take a bath if you don´t like swimming in the sea.
It´s the only hotel with static umbrellas in the beach and one "all in all" very nice. The alcohol is not very strong and yours cocktails are very lights.
There are many trips to go in the other islands of archipelago like Santo Antao, San Vicente, etc., you can ride a horse over the long beach, you can walk along the beach for kilometres or ride a quad near the beaches.
The food is incredible, with many fish, fruits, eggs, all of kind of meats and other traditional foods well preparated in this hotel.
The hotel is 10 minutes far of Santa Maria. A nice avenue next to the sea joint the hotel with the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SANTOS__1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Glad you had a good time and really enjoyed our hotel and services.

Hope you can return soon and enjoy a little more the "wonderful view"...

Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is not the best hotel ever, really. The bungalows are pretty standard, without any special amenities, and they are rather worn down. I wish they did something about the insects. I realise that it’s impossible to get rid of them entirely, but regular fumigation does limit the number of ants crawling everywhere.
The food wasn’t the worst in the world but it was definitely monotonous. It felt like even the dinner dishes are similar to each other.
The island is very small, there are a few shops in the centre, but they’re quite pricey.
I guess it’s fine for a couple of days, but a longer holiday might be a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message.
According to the Oasis Atlantico policy, we consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. We will continue our efforts in order to guarantee a better client satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from Cape Verde. Stayed in the Belorizonte near Santa Maria and how disappointed and let down we are. Alarm bells should have been ringing the minute we got off the plane and were bundled into a taxi on our own when the rest of the passengers boarded the two coaches. We arrived at the hotel and after hanging around at the reception desk for about ten minutes a woman finally acknowledged us, after some time it was clear they were not expecting us and our room was not ready so we were given a map which she put a cross on a told us to "go eat come back later"....... great welcome. We found the restaurant only to find everything covered in flies and I don't mean one or two we are talking loads of flies, so we walked straight back out again in disgust and sat in reception for an hour and half until our room was ready.
Finally we get to our beach bungalow again pointed out on a map by a cross, to find out we had a below budget 1970's style Butlins HUT (no disrespect to Butlins as there accommodation nowadays is 100 times better that the HUT we were given at the Belorizonte) OK so they are redecorating them and this one was defiantly in need of it, it was dowdy, run down with an old rusting shower and overall small, by this time my wife was in tears we had not paid for a Budget holiday and this was not what we were expecting, the pictures in the brochure are not a true reflection at all.
We went to see Karinna (the brilliant Thompson rep) as by this time we had already had enough of the Belorizonte, she said she would look into trying to move us when the office reopened the next day but it would cost us about 500/600 Euros. That night we did not unpack or go to eat as we were totally fed up we just slept as it had been a long day. The next day unfortunately Karinna was unable to move us to a different hotel but she did manage to get us moved to the main block into a better room overlooking the pool so after 26 hours we could finally unpack and start to enjoy our holiday (Oh how wrong we were) .
By day three we were both ill and spent a day and a half confined to our room. On day five we complained about the pool as it was disgustingly dirty with black bits floating about everywhere and even scum floating on top. It was then I realised the filtration system was not even working.........if this pool was in England it would have been closed under health and safety regulations. We again got Karinna involved who also complained. The next two days a pool cleaner arrived and it needed two days to get it clean, it also did not help that the pool side shower that had a dodgy tap but worked was removed? It still was not replaced by the time we left seven days later so no one was showering before entering the pool; we moved to the sister hotels pool which was better. We would have used the beach but for the roaming dogs that wanted to follow you about or lay by your sun bed and c##p where ever the wanted to and with my wife having a fear of dogs the beach was pretty much out of bounds to us.
The food was occasionally ok but mostly poor but never good, if lucky warm but never hot and often cold and always covered in flies with the odd cat here and there roaming about looking for hand outs. To be honest after we were ill we did not eat much at all apart from toast and pancakes in the mornings and soup, rolls and butter, cake and bananas mid day and evening
The evening entertainment 8-9pm was generally of a reasonable standard but from 9pm very amateurish and most nights we never hung around much beyond nine we would returned to our room to watch a film
Overall the service this hotel provides is poor which is a shame to say because there were a couple of really nice staff there, our room maid was excellent and always had a smile and said hello (the only person we gave a tip) the pancake lady as I called her again always had a smile even though she stood and cooked a couple of hundred pancakes every morning and one of the girls in the bar who again was always happy with a hello and a smile (sorry but no names) if all the other staff including the hotel Manager took their approach it would make a massive difference.
In our opinion Thompson UK should pull out of this hotel it does not represent the Thompson brand at all, we have had some great holidays with them but this one was a total let down the Riu up the road is by far one of the best hotels on the island according to feed back from guests we spoke whilst out on trips, so think carefully before you book

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RussoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.
According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. Particularly because customer satisfaction is our primarily concern, we express our sincere disappointment for this situation.

We will continue to work hard and to improve our product.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrive at the hotel and went to reception and had to wait for what seemed like forever to get a key to the bungalow. When we get to our bungalow, we realise we had no tv remote, no air con remote and no safe key so back to reception (last thing you want to do after a days travelling).

Food was awful. Flies covered the food and the hot food was only warm! Desserts tasted awful. Cats wandered around the restaurant. In the a la carte restaurant, I was served chicken and chips which I did not eat; the chicken was not cooked. Towards the end of our stay I was violently Ill! Sickness and diarrhoea (the shakes, blurred vision, dizziness, passed out). My new husband also had diarrhoea during the stay. Husband visited 2 pharmacies and none sold Imodium so I had to suffer a 6 hour flight with diarrhoea.

The beach looked nice, but stray dogs everywhere! Beach bar and most of the bars you cue for ages for a tiny drink in a plastic cup.

The electric in our room went off completely more than once leaving us in the pitch black. No one spoke English. Pizza place never open. 3 restaurants but you can only eat at one as u are allowed to book one meal in the other restaurants during your whole stay.

The management and the staff were so miserable.
Entertainment was boring and we watched grease which was hilarious. Never seen so many people clap over myming and the most simple dance routine.

The main swimming pool with the bridge was dirty, scum round the sides. At the pool bar my husband went to us A bottle of water each and she'd only serve him one.

Ice cream not available.
Hotel smelt of sewers, not nice.
Local ppl in the town practically bullied us into buying things and followed us if we didn't.

We will never return holiday from hell :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.
According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. Particularly because customer satisfaction is our primarily concern, we express our sincere disappointment for this situation.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
#2 of 20 in Santa Maria
795 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Address: C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $146 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing