We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to stay with a relaxante view in a little island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A place to stay with a relaxante view in a little island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

It´s a good place with little bungalows in front of the beach to stay relaxing and 3 pools to take a bath if you don´t like swimming in the sea.
It´s the only hotel with static umbrellas in the beach and one "all in all" very nice. The alcohol is not very strong and yours cocktails are very lights.
There are many trips to go in the other islands of archipelago like Santo Antao, San Vicente, etc., you can ride a horse over the long beach, you can walk along the beach for kilometres or ride a quad near the beaches.
The food is incredible, with many fish, fruits, eggs, all of kind of meats and other traditional foods well preparated in this hotel.
The hotel is 10 minutes far of Santa Maria. A nice avenue next to the sea joint the hotel with the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SANTOS__1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Glad you had a good time and really enjoyed our hotel and services.

Hope you can return soon and enjoy a little more the "wonderful view"...

Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    627
    334
    130
    74
See reviews for
453
672
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
148 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is not the best hotel ever, really. The bungalows are pretty standard, without any special amenities, and they are rather worn down. I wish they did something about the insects. I realise that it’s impossible to get rid of them entirely, but regular fumigation does limit the number of ants crawling everywhere.
The food wasn’t the worst in the world but it was definitely monotonous. It felt like even the dinner dishes are similar to each other.
The island is very small, there are a few shops in the centre, but they’re quite pricey.
I guess it’s fine for a couple of days, but a longer holiday might be a little disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message.
According to the Oasis Atlantico policy, we consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. We will continue our efforts in order to guarantee a better client satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from Cape Verde. Stayed in the Belorizonte near Santa Maria and how disappointed and let down we are. Alarm bells should have been ringing the minute we got off the plane and were bundled into a taxi on our own when the rest of the passengers boarded the two coaches. We arrived at the hotel and after hanging around at the reception desk for about ten minutes a woman finally acknowledged us, after some time it was clear they were not expecting us and our room was not ready so we were given a map which she put a cross on a told us to "go eat come back later"....... great welcome. We found the restaurant only to find everything covered in flies and I don't mean one or two we are talking loads of flies, so we walked straight back out again in disgust and sat in reception for an hour and half until our room was ready.
Finally we get to our beach bungalow again pointed out on a map by a cross, to find out we had a below budget 1970's style Butlins HUT (no disrespect to Butlins as there accommodation nowadays is 100 times better that the HUT we were given at the Belorizonte) OK so they are redecorating them and this one was defiantly in need of it, it was dowdy, run down with an old rusting shower and overall small, by this time my wife was in tears we had not paid for a Budget holiday and this was not what we were expecting, the pictures in the brochure are not a true reflection at all.
We went to see Karinna (the brilliant Thompson rep) as by this time we had already had enough of the Belorizonte, she said she would look into trying to move us when the office reopened the next day but it would cost us about 500/600 Euros. That night we did not unpack or go to eat as we were totally fed up we just slept as it had been a long day. The next day unfortunately Karinna was unable to move us to a different hotel but she did manage to get us moved to the main block into a better room overlooking the pool so after 26 hours we could finally unpack and start to enjoy our holiday (Oh how wrong we were) .
By day three we were both ill and spent a day and a half confined to our room. On day five we complained about the pool as it was disgustingly dirty with black bits floating about everywhere and even scum floating on top. It was then I realised the filtration system was not even working.........if this pool was in England it would have been closed under health and safety regulations. We again got Karinna involved who also complained. The next two days a pool cleaner arrived and it needed two days to get it clean, it also did not help that the pool side shower that had a dodgy tap but worked was removed? It still was not replaced by the time we left seven days later so no one was showering before entering the pool; we moved to the sister hotels pool which was better. We would have used the beach but for the roaming dogs that wanted to follow you about or lay by your sun bed and c##p where ever the wanted to and with my wife having a fear of dogs the beach was pretty much out of bounds to us.
The food was occasionally ok but mostly poor but never good, if lucky warm but never hot and often cold and always covered in flies with the odd cat here and there roaming about looking for hand outs. To be honest after we were ill we did not eat much at all apart from toast and pancakes in the mornings and soup, rolls and butter, cake and bananas mid day and evening
The evening entertainment 8-9pm was generally of a reasonable standard but from 9pm very amateurish and most nights we never hung around much beyond nine we would returned to our room to watch a film
Overall the service this hotel provides is poor which is a shame to say because there were a couple of really nice staff there, our room maid was excellent and always had a smile and said hello (the only person we gave a tip) the pancake lady as I called her again always had a smile even though she stood and cooked a couple of hundred pancakes every morning and one of the girls in the bar who again was always happy with a hello and a smile (sorry but no names) if all the other staff including the hotel Manager took their approach it would make a massive difference.
In our opinion Thompson UK should pull out of this hotel it does not represent the Thompson brand at all, we have had some great holidays with them but this one was a total let down the Riu up the road is by far one of the best hotels on the island according to feed back from guests we spoke whilst out on trips, so think carefully before you book

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank RussoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.
According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. Particularly because customer satisfaction is our primarily concern, we express our sincere disappointment for this situation.

We will continue to work hard and to improve our product.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrive at the hotel and went to reception and had to wait for what seemed like forever to get a key to the bungalow. When we get to our bungalow, we realise we had no tv remote, no air con remote and no safe key so back to reception (last thing you want to do after a days travelling).

Food was awful. Flies covered the food and the hot food was only warm! Desserts tasted awful. Cats wandered around the restaurant. In the a la carte restaurant, I was served chicken and chips which I did not eat; the chicken was not cooked. Towards the end of our stay I was violently Ill! Sickness and diarrhoea (the shakes, blurred vision, dizziness, passed out). My new husband also had diarrhoea during the stay. Husband visited 2 pharmacies and none sold Imodium so I had to suffer a 6 hour flight with diarrhoea.

The beach looked nice, but stray dogs everywhere! Beach bar and most of the bars you cue for ages for a tiny drink in a plastic cup.

The electric in our room went off completely more than once leaving us in the pitch black. No one spoke English. Pizza place never open. 3 restaurants but you can only eat at one as u are allowed to book one meal in the other restaurants during your whole stay.

The management and the staff were so miserable.
Entertainment was boring and we watched grease which was hilarious. Never seen so many people clap over myming and the most simple dance routine.

The main swimming pool with the bridge was dirty, scum round the sides. At the pool bar my husband went to us A bottle of water each and she'd only serve him one.

Ice cream not available.
Hotel smelt of sewers, not nice.
Local ppl in the town practically bullied us into buying things and followed us if we didn't.

We will never return holiday from hell :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.
According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. Particularly because customer satisfaction is our primarily concern, we express our sincere disappointment for this situation.

Kind Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a vast resort with lots and lots of people, but the distribution is well done and we never felt crowded. We stayed in a bungalow, which was not super luxurious, but was always kept clean and had fantastic air conditioning and consistent hot water. The beach is just paces away and is absolutely gorgeous. But the best part about our experience was being able to scuba dive. I can't imagine going to Cape Verde without taking a look at the absolutely amazing sea life there! The Manta Dive Center works right out of the hotel and are extremely competent and professional. We went diving twice and it was the highlight of all vacations, bar none. Other people have complained about the food on this site, but to me it looked great. (I didn't try it though; we only booked breakfast ´cause we enjoy going out to restaurants.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaTarragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Glad you enjoyed the hotel and our super location.

Hope you can return soon!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Belorizonte in november 2011 for 2 weeks. We went to Sal for a diving trip and we could not have picked a better hotel for that. There is a diving club right on the premises of the hotel, the hotel is right on the beach so after our dives we were usually dropped off right at the beach of our hotel. Santa Maria center is just a short walk away. The food and drinks are ok, but you really should try the local cuisine in the small restaurants at Santa Maria.
We stayed at the bungalows which were great, you have your own little terrace, the rooms were clean and cleaned daily.
All to geather a great vacation, we will return this november.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sven,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very excited to welcome you again next November.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 27 June 2012 til 3 July 2012, when we were moved to the Rui Garopa ( which wasnt much better, see review) I fell ill on 1 July 2012 with sickness and diarrhoea, I was serveley ill for 36 hours.

It was common knowledge in town the hotel had had problems for last few weeks. And after listening to some French people realised at least 50 people on a French flight were ill at this hotel.

The food was never even warm never mind hot, and as in the rest of Sal island flies are everywhere including over the food.

The location was great but thats about it!

Room Tip: All rooms are distrubed by noise of kareoke which happens by the pool once a week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank saxoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review.

We deeply regret that you didn`t feel well during your stay.

We know that it can be very upsetting to be ill on vacations. It is an unpleasant situation that can ruin your all experience and determine your perspective.

Best Regards,
CRM Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#6 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#13 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
#4 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis Belorizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis Belorizonte

Property: Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Address: C.P. 63, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oasis Belorizonte 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the white sand beach of the Santa Maria beach, bathed by a calm, turquoise, crystal water sea stands the hotel Oasis Atlantico Belorizonte. Being in first line on the beach, this is the ideal place for those who look to rest from the daily stress and who try to enjoy some relaxing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oasis Belorizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Belorizonte Hotel
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing