We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,189)
Filter reviews
2,189 results
Traveler rating
564
876
471
181
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
876
471
181
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior bungalowbeach barair confishno stressthomas cook repisland touranimation teambig wavestaster menusanta maria townper weekhotel entertainmentpastade salcape verdeanplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 2,189 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

one week at the oasis . The rooms are very basic and a little tired but functional. The bedsheets are just to small for the matresses and found myself constantly tied in knots with sheets and covers . The food was very good but the service from the staff was brilliant our waiter entertained the kids joking around and generally being funny . He was a major asset to the stay.. ( sr. sansu,,) one problem I am horrified treatment this General Manager,

The buffets ....provided a large variety of foods but I am not a big fan of buffets. The grounds were gorgeous, pool great and bartenders at pool side were good........ ¡¡¡¡¡¡ great beaches. ¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡ The gym was good,
We're going back in a few months !!!

thank oasis

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aduramos r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

We will take your comments regarding the room service under consideration in order to improve our product.

We do hope to see you and your family in a few months!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Well on reading the previous reviews of the hotel I was prepared for what could be good, bad, ok or excellent. We arrived end on 29 January 2012 and was very pleased with what greeted us with a wonderful white sandy beach on the doorstep, a choice of restuarants for the 'a la carte' on three days of our ten day stay to what I would say was an excellent choice of food and a wide variety. This hotel was excellent VFM and you will find it hard to spend any money with being AI. We stayed in the main building which was clean, bright, fridge (always stocked with free bottled water)v comfty bed and the room cleaned daily and excellent service. We were also offered a bungalow if we wished also however, we stayed in 323 with no complaints. The drinks were always offered in glasses with excellent measures. Staff were friendly and treated us how we treated them which was polite and courteous. Took lots of diarrhoea tablets as from reading previous updates and neither of us luckily had to use them. All I would say as a developing Country currently caught up in the recession then lots of building work OUTSIDE which didnt interfere with the beauty of the hotel and surroundings. Tip for those who are not too nible on their feet that underfoot outside not really for walking as saw at least three people in bandages due to the rough services and road surface work still ongoing. However, I would recommend this hotel and have already done so. Lovely pools too x3. Would return.x

Room Tip: If you want to be quiet 323 in the main building by the entrance overlooking pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leah o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommended the hotel and our destination.

We do hope to see you again!

Best Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

PRO:
- superb beach, free beach service (sunbeds and umbrellas) (early risers get the front row)
- close to the beach
- bar at the beach

CON:
- well, it’s not a european 4*, but it’s better than some greek 4*
- expensive internet, walk to the town, find the main square there should be free internet

Been there one week on AI plan.

2 am arrival, no problems with the reception, everything was prepared, just the 30 EUR deposit was a surprise. Important: keep all papers and receipts -- you’ll need it on checkout.

Generally don’t be surprised if everything goes slower than usual. Accept it, tip: ask for twice the amount of drinks.

There are 4 room types
Main building, crowded bungalow, less crowded, spacious. Seems like they have the same rooms. The best are the spacious bungalows there’s plenty of space between the bungalows.
Saw some flatscreens shipped the other day, we had a small tube TV.
No seaview from the bungalows, you need to be at least first floor, because the beach is that high.
Safe is around 1EUR/day.
Sometimes the drains smelled a bit, but knowing that we were almost at sea level, it’s OK.
Bigger problem was the low water pressure and no real hot water. (oh well, water is a treasure on the island)
Room cleaning is tops (don’t forget to give some tip to the ladies at the beginning of your stay).
Our room (613) was rather quiet, what we really appreciate with the little one.
Well, the ocean is still a 200-300m walk from the rooms, but believe me it’s still closer than RIU’s where you can easily walk a mile. The bay has a LOT smaller waves than the ocean-open RIU side.

You can do some limited number of special reservations to some restaurants, but we were OK with the “Santa Maria” buffet. Food is quite OK.
Breakfast: Quite wide cold and hot choices. Orange juice is crap, around 10%, coffee and such drinks made from powder with the automat. Wait for a bar to open to get ordinary coffee.
Lunch, dinner: Some 3 fresh dishes served for EVERY lunch and dinner, NICE!. As always with buffet go early, before you are left with the wasteland. As stated above, the buffet is better than some greek 4*, with more choices. 3 fish dishes, additionally 3-4 main courses, LOTS of salad, LOTS of fruit, incl. melon. Only madness: queueing from the wrong side -- choose first the salad, then the main course then the appetizer (bread). Oh and ditch the glasses, buy a lot of the same (and spares) instead of the flatscreens, yeah?
TIP: cooked pear (or how’s that called, found at the sweets)

Kids eye view (2 years old):
We had bungalow 613, good place. Sandbox at the door, plenty of space to run around. Lots of sand in the garden -- see pictures.
Pools: smallest is 90cm, filled with seawater. That’s a bit too deep for little ones. I’d want one around 40-50 cm, probably heated. Head down to the ocean if there are no big waves.
Breakfast: cacao is called hot chocolat, damn hot coming from the automat. There’s cold milk in the morning to cool it down. Little spoons are scarce, secure one early.
There’s kids animation, a small playground and a room for kids with toys and stuff. That’s near the tennis court. There’s a lady looking after the kids.
Brunch and snacks are almost always available from various restaurants (of course AI required). Some parents had trouble figuring how to get food for kids without AI.
Lunch and dinner is OK, you always find something. Chicken, pasta...

Room Tip: need a quiet room? avoid pools and restaurants
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adamg_hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for sharing your experience.

Hope you can return to Belorizonte Hotel and Sal Island!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked a 10 day holiday, but we moved after 4 days because :-

- The unpleasant smell from the drains

- One afternoon completely no water

- The food was disgusting hot food served cold of luke warm!

- People were suffering from diarrhoea

- Lots of stray cats (which wont eat the food either!!!)

- Drinks machines that didnt work

- Fighting to get a cup, glass or spoon (I ask 5 members of staff before I got a spoon!!)

- Only one bar staff on at a time, there were at least 10 waiting at a time!

- Toaster that only worked on one side so a half hour wait for toast!

- Ice cream (one flavour) was under lock & key

- Staff not helpfull or friendly

- 30 euros deposit for beach towels, Air Con remote & TV remote (which didnt work)

- 9 euros for the safe key

- 3 resturants but you can only eat in one the other two you are limited to once or twice a week (but the food was the same in all of them COLD!!!!)

- We had a BBQ one night, they shut all the resturants for this BBQ (so you had no choice!) but we never saw them cook the food! it came out of the kitchen and was still was cold!

We were ALINC so you should not have to pay extra!!!! FOR BAD SERVICE!!!!!

SO PLEASE DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for your message. According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each single complaint and individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

Although we had some very good feedbacks in this period, we know that there is always some clients which prefer a different hotel and a different experience. We try to guarantee all clients satisfaction, and we are truly disappointed for not having met your expectations.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We expect more. This hotel is 2*, not more. Simple accomodation, unpleasant smell from drains all over areal. First 4 days no hot water in pipes. One afternoon we were completly without water, which was very unpleasant because we travelled with 13 months old baby.

No great variety of food. Half of people got diarrhoea. Disgusting and awful coctails - don't try it. You ordered Mojito a got greenish water from 5 liters plastic bottle. No ice, no lime, no mint. You have to write your sign when you order coctails. We had AI but they want us to pay for it.

Wonderful beach but beachboy doesn't pick butts so be careful where you children play.

No services, they offered cleaning room in time you want. In Friday we asked for cleaning around 10am. Saturday cleaning was done around 1pm (our baby sleeps in this time). we complained. Sunday ok. Monday cleaning at 2pm. We complained again etc. We asked for new towels and bedlinen - they took everything away. But we didn't get new one. So we complain again. This happend again two days later.

Cape Verde again? Yes, but certainly not in Belorizonte.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Veronika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for your message. According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each single complaint and individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

Although we had some very good feedbacks in this period, we know that there is always a few clients that don`t like their experience.

We try to guarantee all clients satisfaction, and we are truly disappointed for not having met your expectations. We will continue to do our best efforts to improve our services and product.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews