We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,189)
Filter reviews
2,189 results
Traveler rating
564
876
471
181
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
876
471
181
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior bungalowbeach barair confishno stressthomas cook repisland touranimation teambig wavestaster menusanta maria townper weekhotel entertainmentpastade salcape verdeanplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 2,189 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

A week in hell when we were looking forward to a family holiday in the sun. Reception was a one hour wait at 2.30 am,eventually we were given 3" bungalows" in different places they refused to put us together, we asked to see the manager but after another long wait no one came. you have to pay a deposit of 30euros for towels. the safe deposit box costs one euro a day! The bungalow is a smelly, shabby, dirty beach shack, the bathroom disgusting. The worst thing was the smell, it wouldn´t go away. The bed so hard and lumpy I had bruises on either side of my hips.
The service is terrible if there is any. The staff surly, unpleasent. impolite and totally unprofessional In the restaurant we waited 2hours 45min for our food to come, we complained many times but we were treated with total indifference. When the food came it was so disgusting we left it there and spent yet another day hungry.
The food is a health hazard 3 of our family were ill, one violently sick on new years eve, before dinner.Another, on the second day was ill and didn´t really recover, I was also ill the second day. Really it is not surprising when you see the horrible buffet. Breakfast, lunch or dinner is the same muck, full of flies and cats wandering around. We ate as little as possible but even that made us ill. Breakfast was a fight to get a cup or spoon or plate then try and get food! On the last day there wasn´t even any bread! All the drinks were revolting and served in plastic cups.
In the restaurant the lobster is 15euros extra but it´s cooked on the dirtiest grill I´ve ever seen so it comes to the table black!! Wine is not included either.
The location is a huge dirty, windy building site at the front, no roads no street lights you need a torch at night. The beach is fine but beware it´s a haven for wind and kite surfers so it is tremendously windy. We had 4 red flag days and of course no lifeguards so if you kite surf it´s great if not, you eat sand all day which is better than the food!
I think the most frustrating thing was there was nobody to complain to. We tried but a Manager didn´t seem to exsist.
We all feel robbed. This is our annual holiday together which thanks to this revolting hotel, we didn´t have.
All I can say is DO NOT GO EVER.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
10  Thank gillvigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for your message. According to the Oásis Atlântico policy, we consider each single complaint and individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

Although we had some very good feedbacks in this period, we know that there is always a few clients that don`t like their experience. Some, even don`t like the destination, as it seems to be the case.

We will continue to do our best to improve our services and product and we will take your notes under consideration in order to guarantee a better client`s satisfaction in the future.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

It s Africa people...so...for one 4 * hotel is pretty good!!! I had a nice room..with some tehnical problems..but they fixed in the same day..with no stress! The most beautiful beach! near to the hotel, clean and quiet!
Food..diffrent..caboverdian food: good to try this!
Animation: very friendly and everywhere
Staff-also friendly and always with a great smile!
I enjoyed every single day. It s a shame that today is the last day but i wanted to say that is a nice experience and we can lear a lot of things here: about people..about diffrent culture!

Room Tip: quiet and renoveted
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the Cape verdian experience! We are proud of our hotel and staff, and for praising the culture of this beautiful country.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

There are many things to say about our 10 day Xmas holiday to Cape Verde but sadly fantastic was not one of them as we had hoped. When we arrived we discovered that no one on reception spoke or understood english that well and then we were taken to a room that had ants in it and the air con didn't work the second bungalow was better though ( takes a bit getting used to) However, the hotel was clean and the staff who could comprehend english were friendly but slow. Customer service is not high on the agenda here the bars were often only staffed with one person who was slow or as they excused it as "no stress" which seems to be there motto here. The food was reasonable but we did eat out in Santa Maria town which was a 10 minute walk away a couple of times. The entertainment was pretty bad to be fair and as for the "gala dinners" for Christmas they left much to be desired. The pools were ok and the beach was lovely, we had a pleasant stay but its not a hotel I would rush back to, if they improved their customer service, I might go for a 5 day trip but no more. if you are in to diving though the hotel offered lots of courses. Also you should be aware a lot of people seem to get diahoerra here we both suffered and consequently ran out of immodium/rehydration sachets there is not a cat in hells chance you will be able to buy this stuff in Santa Maria, I went to both pharmacies and was rudely turned away as they did not stock either, so my advice take your own supplies because you will need them!t

Room Tip: Have a bungalow they are bigger than the hotel rooms but not all of them have been refurbished
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always important for us to receive client`s feedback.

We will take your notes under consideration and we will continue our effort to improve our product and services. We hope you can return again to Belorizonte Hotel!

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

everythink perfect! Nice room, nice restaurants and beautiful beach!!! Novorizonte and Belorizonte show me a perfect staff, very kindness employers. The small town of Santa Maria is pretty close- 5 minutes and you can have there an other image of Africa..
We liked a lot, we had great time with animations and all them program, we were asked dailly about out accomodation here: if is everythink ok, if we need something....what i can say more..: Congratulation Africa- Sal-Belorizonte and Novorizonte

Room Tip: depends of the taste
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback .

Your review sums up what we strive to achieve for our guests every day.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

always star positive is my attitude in life so lets go.
the beach is one of the most beautiful i have ever seen, location is superb both for town and beach.
the hotel is quite bizarre, people will speak to you if you speak to them, considering they are operating a leisure facility for money it would not be unreasonable to suggest that someone on reception might speak a little english!
the rating of the hotel would be 3star max, we did'nt starve but the food left a lot to desire!service was poor nothing stocked up general scrum for food and could'nt quite work out self service for drinks at meals.
thomson now dictate only long haul get entertainment and food on flight so do not qualify as 15mins too little! beware small pizza and i mean small and ten chips cost you a fiver!
if you arrive on a tuesday from birmingham it seems accepted that you do not get a bungalow but a room and have to move the next day as hotel overbooked so beware!they take a 30 euro deposit for two beach towels and remote for tele no credit cards accepted anywhere.
the whole of the front of the building is a massive building site and you are not given a true picture by thomsons almost like the horror stories you hear about in the 70's.
would i go to cape verde again yes but not to the oasis.

Room Tip: bathrooms are death traps!
Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank tessworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OasisAtlantico, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Oasis Belorizonte, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message.
According to the Oasis Atlantico policy, we consider each single complaint and individual feedback as a great opportunity to continuously improve our services towards our guests.

We deeply regret not having met your expectations. We will continue our efforts in order to guarantee a better client satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

CRM Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews