We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Nearby Hotels
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Odjo d'agua Hotel(Santa Maria)
$120
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa(Santa Maria)
$162
$145
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
VOI Vila do Farol(Santa Maria)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Morabeza(Santa Maria)
$150
$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Les Alizes(Santa Maria)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa(Santa Maria)
$178
$167
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
115
182
57
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
182
57
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet hotelprivate balconybreakfast includedsmall friendly hotelminute walkcape verderelaxed staynice poolhotel designnearest beachfree internetbed breakfastpool areahalf boardsuperior roomthe ground floorfree sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 382 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice place , a bit of the centre but thats ok , to the beach is about 7 minutes walk , which is very quiet and peacefull , Dunas is nice it is not like the factory of RIU hotel which is nearby.
Rooms are ok , beds a bit hard, breakfast is good, swimmingpool a bit cold in february but still ok. So no complaince to be honest if i go back to cape verde I am almost sure I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanVeghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We booked this hotel upon the fotos we saw on internet. They do not correspond to the reality.
The hotel rooms a very basic, wash basin in the ROOM, not the bathroom. Very uncomfortable beds with plastic underlay. The balcony is shared, not private. However, the breakfast is good, but we checked out after 1 night, due to the road works all around the hotel, wich will probably last until summer. Check before you book, they start working at 7 am hammering away......
The beach is near to the hotel just a few minutes walk and towncenter about 15 min walk.
We advise to book a nice resort if you are into laying around the pool sipping cocktails. if not DON'T GO TO SAL...there is nothing there at all to do. Renting a car ia a waste of money and time, it takes 3 hours to see the island that has absolutly nothing to offer except sun all year round.

Room Tip: we changed our hotel to Melia Tortuga, great stay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gussieSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great hotel for rest, small and quiet. Good swimming pools and close to the beach. A bit far from Santa Maria (15 min walk). Wonderful staff, and an excellent breakfast (beats some 5 star hotels in Europe). Not the right choice if you're looking to meet lots of people or dance 'till dawn, it is not one of those huge resorts ment to host dozens of party-lover guests.
Do not, however, chose the full or half board options, it can be really expensive when compared to the many options in town.

Room Tip: Rooms faced to the pool are the best, since they have a balcony where you can relax or sun-bathe; those on the ground-floor also have a loan in front, and those on the first-floor have a wider view of the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreiagferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we had a very pleasant week in this hotel. Almost no children at sight, one could read and even sleep siesta in the pool. Breakfast was good and the decoration and atmosphere, simple but cosy.
On top of it, there is a great diving center with a very professional and nice instructor, Joao Guedes. We dove every day twice and we enjoyed it very much. And very comfortable diving, Joao would pick us up directly with the boat on the beach in front of the hotel, and drop us there too, very convenient!
The only bad thing is that the road is being constructed just in front of the hotel. we were not disturbed in the hotel but it is ugly and depressing when you step out of it. It is not so close to the village but if you don't like the big all inclusive hotels, this is a very good option. We would return

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the terrace is individual
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IngridfromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Dunas de Sal is a friendly 49 rooms hotel, it's quiet, only has entertainment (live music) on Friday.
Meals in the restaurant are good and usually based on local cuisine but there are also international cuisine dishes.
Breakfast (buffet) is very good.
The gym is small but free to use.
The beach is 300 meters away and the village of Santa Maria is as far as a 10 minutes walk along the beach or you can take a cab for 2 euros (3 euros at night)
The hotel provides sun shades and loungers for free.
The surrounding area (streets) is temporarily in the works.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrfyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews