We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week, we would definitely return”
Review of Hotel Morabeza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Morabeza
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at the Morabeza for a week B&B with our five year old in early April. Having never been to the hotel or for that matter to Cape Verde before, we weren't sure what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised on all fronts. The setting of the hotel is fantastic - it's grown from a private 1960s holiday home to a large hotel with three pools and several bars and restaurants, but thanks to good design, a gorgeous, verdant setting right by the beach and friendly staff it still has a nice, personal feel about it. Nothing like some of the sprawling complexes further up the beach. Our family suite in the old part of the hotel was a good size and clean. The daily breakfast buffet was superb and in a great setting. When we first arrived it was very windy and quite cloudy - too cold for the pools - but by the end of the week it was much sunnier. The town of Santa Maria was great for bars, shops and restaurants - I recommend OCaranguejo and Genuine Cape Verde. All in all had a fantastic week at the Morabeza and would definitely return again for a relaxing and interesting week in the sun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Emilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 752 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited in 2009 2011 and now in March of this year.Staff standards have been maintained - breakfasts are very good - but that is why we did B&B again - having done half board last time - which was not good.Lunch in the pleasant beach resaurant was sufficient but not cheap.In terms of menus the hotel has not moved on at all in the time we have been coming - which is rather sad.If tuna was taken off the menu it would be a disaster for all concerned.Decided to eat in-house on the last night despite the expense - only to be disappointed , no lobster and no steak ! Yes it probably is the best hotel in terms of location, staff ,setting,grounds etc however good value ? for over 220 + euro a night for B&B I think not.The gym also does not seem to have moved on - antiquated equipment (see photos) and no running machine !!! On last visit I left a hopefully objective critique with the management and did not have the courtesy of a reply.Have the impression this is a comfortable lifestyle business where there is no need to be answerable, innovative or at the leading edge - because they are full and the money keeps rolling in ! With a little bit of effort,imagination and application it could be so much better in my view.

Room Tip: the 600 block is the best location by far - but not cheap ! Has a pool that does not get busy.If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank welshtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for a week and had a very pleasant experience. The Hotel is Clean. Service is efficient and discrete. It has the islands best bar and one of the best restaurants. The room might not be the most personal or cozy and the bed is overly soft but hey, who stays in the room...
Breakfast is very good with a perfect selection of warm, fruit and bread parts. The hotel also features a Beach Club with a very good lunch menu.

Room Tip: Make sure you specifically ask for roomes closest to the ocean. All rooms are the same it is just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have just returned from Sal having spent our first 3 nights in the Morabeza and then 1 week in Boa Vista, returning for a final 4 nights agasin at the Morabeza. This hotel is well maintained and clean and the staff are very welcoming. for our first 3 nights we had booked an executive room which was of a good size with a balcony/sea view and its own pool. The hotel has 3 pools.
There are a number of hotel restaurants all of which are excellent food wise together with an upstairs bar overlooking the central pool and breakfast area. Happy hour [2 for 1] runs from 6.30 to 7.30. The Morabeza is close to the beach and town of Santa Maria which is within 5 minutes walk. In Sta Maria there are numerous restaurants at good value and the main dish seems to be lobster which was delicious. Sta Maria centre has free wi-fi and its worth going in for checking your emails etc whilst having a meal and a beer at the Ocean Cafe. Its not expensive and the food is freshly cooked and hot on arival. They must serve the biggest bruschetta [ham/ cheese and tomato] on cripsy chunky bread.....enough for 2! The Morabeza has other facilities such as a games room with snooker/billiards, numerous games, table tennis and quite an extensive library of books to read in many languages. Breakfast buffet is excellent.
On our return visit from Boa Vista, we were upgraded to a junior suite which was fantastic. Plenty of room, ground floor and within a few paces of the pool area. This has got to be the best hotel in Sta Maria.

Room Tip: Definitely book an executive room or junior suite. Not sure what the standard rooms are like. Sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pentti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is probably among the best in town, with a lovely beach-side setting and plenty of space so that it never really seems over-crowded. Our suite was excellent, with loads of room for two of us, including a private balcony.

For the most part, staff were friendly and reasonably efficient.

The only real negative was the food. Breakfast was just about ok - typical mass catering buffet style, but with lots of good fresh fruit and bread. The cheese and ham were processed and the hot options looked pretty unappetising. We had lunch in the beach club restaurant three time, which was average quality and rather expensive. The deal we were on allowed us three evening meals in the hotel, the first of which was excellent - seared tuna, cooked to perfection. However, the Cape Verdian barbecue evening was a disaster, with huge tureens of bean stew with indeterminate meat, and cremated lamb chops which contained more bone than meat. On our final evening, we were told that lobster, tuna, steak and fish soup were all "off" - leaving very little choice remaining on the menu. This was the last straw for us and I insisted that our dinner allowance was credited to our account and we ate at a restaurant in town.

It was a great pity that an otherwise very enjoyable stay was slightly marred by indifferent food.

Room Tip: We had the Palmier suite, which was excellent and worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Old_StagerStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not much to add about this hotel that has not been written in the other reviews, but it clearly deserves its 'excellent' rating.

The hotel has a wonderful position being an easy walk to Santa Maria but very quiet, with an excellent beach in front of the hotel.

Our room was in the executive wing which has larger rooms; its own swimming pool and is on the edge of the hotel grounds and very peaceful. Well worth the extra.

The hotel never seemed crowded. Plenty of sun loungers; several bars and the lovely Beach Club - literally on the beach! A great ambiance for pre-dinner drinks and the Saturday night BBQ with entertainment was excellent.

We travelled with Cape Verde Experience - who were first class - very knowledgeable and they have Tracey, their excellent representative on Sal.

Finally - don't miss the walking tour of Santa Maria, organised by the hotel and run by Jorge. A great insight into the island, its history and people (most of whom Jorge seemed to know by name!).

Simply enjoy.

Room Tip: Executive wing - rooms 601 onwards. Lower floor is poolside and ideal for a swim from the room or su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank noxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hotel Morabeza is certainly everything we have read about. We have just returned after two weeks in Sal, Cap Verde, and would like to tell anyone thinking of going to this island that the place to stay is The Morabeza Hotel. Everything was just right, great position, right on the beach; we had a standard room, which was perfect for our needs; the food was great , we had the bon appetit package, which meant we could also eat in the town, as well as in the hotel. The staff were all very helpful, and the bedroom was kept spotless by the friendly cleaners. It is the ideal place if you want to windsurf or kitesurf.
A good place to eat out in the town is the Tam Tam, the Irish pub, and if you want to keep track of your football team while away, this is the place to go.
To sum up, Sal and The Morabeza Hotel is a fantastic place to go for a totally relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Llana Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $152 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing