We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for lounging”
Review of Hotel Morabeza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Morabeza
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Excellent for lounging”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here three nights. The hotel was not busy so it was particularly peaceful and relaxing. There is plenty of space in the extensive gardens. The standard rooms are surprisingly spacious. We usually prefer smaller, homely guest houses/smAll hotels but this was absolutely ideal for re-charging our batteries.

The hotel iis very well located. I did find the restaurant/breakfast areas a bit gloomy and unenticing. So we had a drink but did. not eat in the restaurant. internet access is not free.

One small gripe- you are advised against drinking tap water. Normally when this is the case I have found hotels provide drinking water in your room every day. There was only one bottle provided on arrival. The supermarket is in town but is closed on Sunday. This means you could end up paying double for water at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Milonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    247
    63
    21
    17
See reviews for
134
425
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Morabeza had been mentioned to me as the best hotel in Cabo Verde. I dont know if that is the case but it is surelly a place I would go to again and again for a nice holiday. The location is the best you can expect: on the beach, 3 minute walk away from Santa maria "city" center, 15 min away from the airport. Morabeza is a concept - do NOT go if you are looking from this huge family, all-in oriented hotels where you are recognized by a colourful bracelet. Morabeza is owned by a belgian family for about 50 years, having a responsible attitude. It is not a luxury hotel but if luxury is what you are looking for, maybe Cabo Verde is not the place to go. The food is correct, the prices are fair (Sal is not cheap...) and the all place is very quite. The only thing to regret is the service, not very friendly or helpful. But that is a problem generaly spread in Cabo Verde, to be honest.

Room Tip: ask for block 600
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we went to Sal ( name of the island where Morabeza is situated) we werent sure if we were going to le it. But we really loved the pace. And the hotel was great! The location is perfect, the beach is next to it. The staff is extremely friendly. Our friends had a child and sent him to Kids Club. The woman who was in charge played hours with him although he was the only one there!
we went to yoga classes.Really great! and show programm on saturday was also good (and bufet was delicious). Tennis is free!
we ate at different restaurants at santa maria and really enjoyed it. but it is not cheap, be aware.
the oly sad thing is cucarachas. be ready to meet one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent over one week in this hotel and decided to stay over for another couple of nights. This is absolutely one of the best hotels I've ever been to. The cleanliness is extraordinary, the staff deeply cleaned the room every morning; the facilities are amazing, we had a swimming pool almost for our own; the staff is really nice and competent, one of the best hotel staff ever; the food is high quality. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rucapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

In my opinion, only Odjo d'Agua can compete with Morabeza in terms of location along Santa Maria beach. And I have to say, the beach and the surroundings are like paradise! The rooms was satisfactory, however, I must say that this hotel is NOT for families traveling with small kids, as we did. The pool area was small and not child friendly. It also needs some attention as it seemed quite old. There were no playgrounds except the beach of curse. The breakfast buffet was nice and had "what you need", but not even close to what you get at Riu for example.

All in all, a very nice hotel for couples and adults. If you are traveling with children however, you might want to consider other options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erikss0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Morabeza in Cape Verde. We arranged the holiday with 'Captivating Cape Verde' and from day one, back in January, the whole experience was stress free. Shirley and Sharon couldn't have been more helpful, answering even the silliest of queries. On arrival we found that the hotel was all we'd been promised and more. We had an executive room and the swimming pool outside our room was always quiet with plenty of sun loungers. The beach was just a stone's throw away and the sea beautifully clear and easily warm enough to swim in. The service and facilities in the hotel were excellent. We were on 'Bon Appetit' board basis and the three meals at the hotel were very good. We also had several lunches at the beach bar and would definitely recommend the cocktails at 'Happy Hour' in the hotel's bar which also offered entertainment on some evenings!
All in all, a great holiday in a lovely location!

Room Tip: The executive room was definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beverly326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has lain in perfect situation of the resort Santa Maria. Short way about the pedestrian's promenade to the beach with superfine sand and turquoise-coloured crystal-clear water.
Hotel rooms are perfect. The service is very friendly and helpful. A room is to be recommended in the upper floor in the main house, there one has a very nice view to the sea and the sun does not burn too strongly.

Room Tip: Take a room in upper floor of main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BerndGruebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,896 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Llana Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Property: Hotel Morabeza
Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing