We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good food, good sleep, good experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Morabeza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Morabeza
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, good food, good sleep, good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Morabeza had been mentioned to me as the best hotel in Cabo Verde. I dont know if that is the case but it is surelly a place I would go to again and again for a nice holiday. The location is the best you can expect: on the beach, 3 minute walk away from Santa maria "city" center, 15 min away from the airport. Morabeza is a concept - do NOT go if you are looking from this huge family, all-in oriented hotels where you are recognized by a colourful bracelet. Morabeza is owned by a belgian family for about 50 years, having a responsible attitude. It is not a luxury hotel but if luxury is what you are looking for, maybe Cabo Verde is not the place to go. The food is correct, the prices are fair (Sal is not cheap...) and the all place is very quite. The only thing to regret is the service, not very friendly or helpful. But that is a problem generaly spread in Cabo Verde, to be honest.

Room Tip: ask for block 600
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    233
    58
    20
    15
See reviews for
132
397
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we went to Sal ( name of the island where Morabeza is situated) we werent sure if we were going to le it. But we really loved the pace. And the hotel was great! The location is perfect, the beach is next to it. The staff is extremely friendly. Our friends had a child and sent him to Kids Club. The woman who was in charge played hours with him although he was the only one there!
we went to yoga classes.Really great! and show programm on saturday was also good (and bufet was delicious). Tennis is free!
we ate at different restaurants at santa maria and really enjoyed it. but it is not cheap, be aware.
the oly sad thing is cucarachas. be ready to meet one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent over one week in this hotel and decided to stay over for another couple of nights. This is absolutely one of the best hotels I've ever been to. The cleanliness is extraordinary, the staff deeply cleaned the room every morning; the facilities are amazing, we had a swimming pool almost for our own; the staff is really nice and competent, one of the best hotel staff ever; the food is high quality. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rucapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

In my opinion, only Odjo d'Agua can compete with Morabeza in terms of location along Santa Maria beach. And I have to say, the beach and the surroundings are like paradise! The rooms was satisfactory, however, I must say that this hotel is NOT for families traveling with small kids, as we did. The pool area was small and not child friendly. It also needs some attention as it seemed quite old. There were no playgrounds except the beach of curse. The breakfast buffet was nice and had "what you need", but not even close to what you get at Riu for example.

All in all, a very nice hotel for couples and adults. If you are traveling with children however, you might want to consider other options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erikss0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Morabeza in Cape Verde. We arranged the holiday with 'Captivating Cape Verde' and from day one, back in January, the whole experience was stress free. Shirley and Sharon couldn't have been more helpful, answering even the silliest of queries. On arrival we found that the hotel was all we'd been promised and more. We had an executive room and the swimming pool outside our room was always quiet with plenty of sun loungers. The beach was just a stone's throw away and the sea beautifully clear and easily warm enough to swim in. The service and facilities in the hotel were excellent. We were on 'Bon Appetit' board basis and the three meals at the hotel were very good. We also had several lunches at the beach bar and would definitely recommend the cocktails at 'Happy Hour' in the hotel's bar which also offered entertainment on some evenings!
All in all, a great holiday in a lovely location!

Room Tip: The executive room was definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beverly326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has lain in perfect situation of the resort Santa Maria. Short way about the pedestrian's promenade to the beach with superfine sand and turquoise-coloured crystal-clear water.
Hotel rooms are perfect. The service is very friendly and helpful. A room is to be recommended in the upper floor in the main house, there one has a very nice view to the sea and the sun does not burn too strongly.

Room Tip: Take a room in upper floor of main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BerndGruebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a holiday in Cape Verde and stopped in the Hotel Morabeza. A lovely hotel right next to the beach and near to the town inself. The hotel is immaculate and very well maintained and was a perfect choice for a lovely holiday and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to stop at.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank djb600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#6 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#10 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Property: Hotel Morabeza
Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing