We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Morabeza in Sal, Cape Verde”
Review of Hotel Morabeza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Morabeza
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Cape verde is a fantastic place, its tropical location makes for the perfect winter escape which retains its unspoilt charm, hard to find in a destination these days. Being so close it is perfect for just a week away but the diversity of the neighbouring islands make for a great place for those who wish to explore. I am sure this charm will not last long due to developments being constructed. The next few years will be a good time to make the most of this destination, the airport, medical facilities, roads etc are being put in place to cope with these developments which installs a sense of security. For these reasons we have visited these islands 3 times in as many years. The first hotel we chose was the Riu, not knowing much about the destination we chose the Riu because we wanted all inclusive, on our first trip we were not sure what our dining out options would be and at the time there were not many other options. Last year we stayed at the Tortuga, this hotel was fantastic, a great complex ideal if you just want accommodation and food but it is very remote and the first of several hotels in an area of development. There is continuing building work in this area with a large hotel complex being constructed next to this one. The hotel had only recently been finished and was very clean but the pool was too cold for us to enjoy and the beach was not safe enough for the kids to swim. The family got bored quite quickly as the town and best beach in Santa Maria was a cab ride away.

The reason for this review is because I felt that I needed to share our experience we have recently had at the hotel Morabeza. Whenever we go to the beach in the Santa Maria bay, we cant help but be jealous of the people sat around the pool and bar at the Morabeza. This year we chose the Morabeza and it was a different experience. It is a very special boutique hotel which has a personal feel and the staff were so friendly, something which you will not find when you go to larger all inclusive resorts. The hotel is right on the beach in the middle of the bay which means I could sit around the pool while the family played on the beach or we could just take a stroll into town to get a snack. There are places to hire windsurfing and kitesurfing equipment just a matter of yards away. The fishing trips, diving trips and the Neptunas submarine all leave from the beach next to the hotel. You can sit in the Morabeza bar and watch the fishing boats pull up to the pier and walk over to see their catch. Or if you are like me you can sit at the bar on the beach with a drink and just watch the world go by, something which I missed being able to do at the other hotels. The evening bar and restaurant were outstanding.
A fantastic experience and I am looking forward to seeing the guys at the Morabeza soon, it will be our choice for future trips.

I must also mention our travel agent, 'Captivating Travel' they have been fantastic, always available for any advice whatever hour of the day, they have made the whole experience pleasurable from day 1 and they will definitely be our agents from now on, the staff have a real passion for the locations they sell.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 757 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

we went there for a week last month (november) the staff are very friendly and helpfull. as you walk through the door you can feel the chill out time hit you. the food is good rooms very good bar nice and relaxing. capr verde evening on saturday night was good with the dancers getting people up dancing. we were totaly relaxed and did not even bother to go out of the hotel to try other restraunts. we will have to for 2 weeks next year and maybe we might get around to doing something or not, well done morabeza. footnote there is not much going on in santa maria but who cares just relax.

Room Tip: book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first time in Cape Verde and we’re so glad we chose this lovely hotel which has a great location on the beach and 5 minute walk to Santa Maria town. The staff and other guests were polite and friendly and the food was excellent, we had lunch at the Beach Club a couple of times and ate in the restaurant on the Cape Verdean night which was good, the bar is also a nice place to sit in the evenings. There is crazy golf, tennis, ping pong and other sports going on at the hotel if you get bored lying around in the sun. It’s not a huge hotel so entertainment isn’t as varied as you get at the all inclusives but we much preferred it and felt that we had a proper Cape Verdean experience staying at this hotel.

Santa Maria has a good choice of cafes and bars and we found the locals to be very friendly and approachable and not too pushy. We were on a B&B basis as we like to try different local restaurants, our favourites were Baracuda, Zum Fisherman, the Hungry Frog and Angelos, all offering great seafood at reasonable prices. The restaurant at Odjo d’Agua hotel has a fantastic setting right on the seafront as does Azul restaurant – these are a bit more pricey but you can just go for a drink to admire the view. For bars we liked the rooftop reggae bar and for live music, Ocean Café, 9MM and Blu Bar. We did a tour of the island with Blinky’s Tours which was a fun day out – you can find Blinky on Facebook and she organises other trips too. Sal isn’t for everyone, there’s not much to see or do unless you’re into watersports and it can be very windy with rough sea that you can’t always swim in, but the beach is beautiful and we loved walking along it watching the kitesurfers and the locals on the pier preparing the fish that had just been caught.

We generally don’t come back to the same location twice for a holiday, but Cape Verde and Morabeza are both easily accessible and special so we may well be back, preferably soon before the island gets too much more built up. If you’re looking for some sunshine and to get away from the typical British package holiday experience and want a good local hotel offering complete relaxation, a great beach and access to fantastic seafood, then Morabeza is the place for you.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
10  Thank GlobeTrotterKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location close to the beach and town, beautiful building with excellent service and good food the Beach club is extremely good and you must try the upstairs bar in the evening.The staff are very friendly. The hotel is constantly being improved to keep the quality to a high standard . Good for couples , and with the pool, and extra activities also suitable for Familys.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Englishmanabroad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our second holiday in Santa Maria, Sal took us to the family run Morabeza. Within 15 minutes of arrival we began to relax and unwind into the most delightful atmosphere of this charming family run hotel.

A welcome drink and meeting was provided by guest services and their attentiveness to our needs was most reassuring asking if our room was adequate and if we needed anything. We were based in one of the rooms towards the back of the hotel looking over the crazy golf course and was private and peaceful.

We took bed and breakfast option and was not disappointed. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and hot food cooked and brought out to display often. Breakfast could get a little busy at times but the staff made every effort to get us a table quickly.

Guests were predominantly european which made a refreshing change to the "english dominated" Riu hotel down the road. Guests with courteous manners and a respect for the hotel and staff was a joy to be a part of.

There are a few dogs within the hotel which was not an issue for us at all. A resident Jack Russell, an elderly mongrel and the most delightful stray who moved in one year ago with wonky teeth and crazy pointed ears, she charmed everyone. We took a real shine to her and often played with her on the beach running with her and have her follow us back to our room.

The hotel is facing the wonderful beach and has a wonderful lunchtime restaurant and beach bar called "Beach Club".

There are 2 pools one of which is for pure relaxation with a mutual respect for silence so guests can read their books and just unwind, the other pool had a bar and snacks to buy in the day.

The evening bar was based upstairs and looks down over the pool and outside eating area and hosted live music most nights. The local tipple is a Caipirinha made from local grog (sugar cane rum), lemon juice and ice. Lionel made a mean one and they can get very moreish.

I would certainly stay at the Morabeza again and highly recommend this hotel for a holiday of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank palmtreeseekerEastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is an excellent hotel with lovely food and an excellent beach bar. There are two sizable swimming pools. One quieter than the other and the hotel is a stone's throw away from the beach. The staff are so helpful and can't do enough for you. Many at the Children's club is superb. My two children adore him. This is in my view is one of the best hotels on Sal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked this hotel after it was recommended in ok magazine and was rated the best hotel on the island of sal. I also fancied going somewhere different this time.
This is not a 4 star hotel in my opinion, more like a 3 star. Don't believe everything you hear and read. The room was very basic and they don't provide enough toiletries for the bathroom. The food of the hotel was awful and limited especially breakfast. Some of the waiters were not friendly. There was nothing i ate that i liked even the restaurants outside in town were dredful. The location of the hotel is very good, right on the beach and right in town. Santa maria town is a very small sleepy town. The beach was very nice. Although had a nice relaxing break, i would not come back to cape verde. Booked the holiday with cape verde experience, the price i paid was expensive/overpriced and not worth the money. There is absolutely nothing to see or do on the island. Cape verde is very backward and poor, the poverty is quite shocking and sometimes you feel like you are in mainland africa but i didn't come across any beggers and you don't get them coming to you which is good. The island is very dry and baron. Sal has got to be a good 30 years behind Tenerife. All i can say is that if you fancy a relaxing wintersun break and don't want to go that far then your better off going to the canary islands, much cheaper, nearer and much more developed and much nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#8 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,871 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Llana Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $143 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing