We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest hotel in Santa Maria, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Morabeza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Morabeza
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in Santa Maria, lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Morabeza for a week in early-July, and had a wonderful stay - and from looking at other hotels in the area, I think that this is definitely the best hotel in Santa Maria.
Our room (booked through lowcostholidays, so one of the more basic rooms I imagine) was good, with a lovely modern bathroom, and a view out towards the beach over the crazy golf area. I know some people in previous reviews have mentioned the noise from the renovation work that is being done, however we were not disturbed by it at all, and from looking at the plans of what renovations are being done I think that the short-term disturbance for some guests will be worth it once everything is completed.
We had a welcome meeting with Thomas from Customer Services, who couldn't have been more helpful. He recommended some great local restaurants, and also advised how to change currency to ensure you got the best rate if you couldn't be bothered queuing at the bank.
Also very helpful was one of the duty managers (no name I'm afraid), who interrupted her dinner to come and assist us when we managed to forget the code to the safe in our room (doh!).
We were out every morning scuba diving, and found plenty of things to fill our afternoons, both in Santa Maria in general and in Hotel Morabeza. Morabeza has a good range of activities such as petanque, crazy golf, swimming pool, games room, library etc so that I'm sure most people can keep themselves well entertained.
The food (we were staying on a bed+breakfast basis) was good with plentiful breakfasts and a wide choice of food. We ate in Restaurant Tortuga one night and the food there was lovely too.

Overall, we had a great stay in Hotel Morabeza, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travels_ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    240
    59
    20
    15
See reviews for
134
411
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Perfect hotel for a romantic and no stress vacation. We speed 10 dans there in October 2011. The hotel is beautiful located on the sand dune On the Island of Sal 500 meter from the town of Santa Maria. We had a nice bungalow, the standard was ok, bathroom was a plus. We had an all inclusive package. Breakfast outside under the umbrella was marvelous. Dinner in the evening was more BBQ like with international dishes as well as Cape Verde specialities. WIFI was available by purchasing access. Poor WIFI coverage was a minus. This is a place I would like to visit again. Completely Stress free and few tourists. The sandy beach must be one of the best in Europe and Africa. If you go there during spring you may get the possibilities to watch turtles. There is also a dive center nearby, I went for a deep dive and wreck dive. Clear water and a lot of fish to see.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Upon arrival in Cape Verde I noted that the rest of the full coach of tourists disembarked at another hotel leaving only the two of us for the Morabeza. Upon arrival the hotel grounds resembled a ghost town but believing that other guests had gone out to sample the delights of Sal we thought nothing of it at the time but although reception staff were polite and a porter kindly took our suitcase to our room we did begin to feel quite isolated when we realised we were the only people in that block. After unpacking we made our way up to La Torque on the first floor. We spent a pleasant evening there listening to the excellent live band and waiter service seemed fine. However, the next day we awoke at 8.00 am to the persistent sound of Jack Hammers, major drilling, some sort of electric saw and lorries with heavy plant machinery outside. A fairly rude awakening by any standards! not least of all a hotel purporting to be four star. As an older couple we were not looking to be off site during our stay and were simply looking for a relaxing holiday to unwind and recharge our batteries, so dips in the pool and eating at the restuarants, one of which was situated on the beach seemed ideal. Thomson clearly have a somewhat naive view of "minor" building works if as stated in the letter sent to us in England on the Friday prior to a bank holiday and Queens Jubilee they felt that the noise and dust caused little disruption to paying guests. The sound actually pervaded the entire pool and communal areas making it impossible to linger. The construction site (since that is what it was) covered the entire ground floor which housed the main restuarant Le Palmiers with all its facilities. As a result this left only two amenities open for business, Le Torque and after a brief walk the Beach restuarant. Compounding this both restuarants were closed all afternoon so we were forced to go off site for food and refreshments something we would have preferred not to do. Sugar free drinks were never available when we asked so my husband, a diabetic had water with every meal. I asked if freshly squeezed fruit was available one day and was told yes so was fairly bemused when I was presented with a sugary obviously bottled mix!!!! Having read reviews about the friendly welcoming hotel staff we were surprised to discover that even this was a mixed bag with some staff being exceptionally pleasant whilst one or two were dismissive to the point of rudeness. The majority of hotel residents were Portugese, French and German at the time we visited, so although people were not unpleasant a language clique was a further barrier for English speakers. We managed to speak to Karina, Thomsons hotel rep on the Friday of our holiday and outlined some of our concerns about the noise and the fact that the hotel's beach beds were being used with impunity by stray dogs that populated the beach without any attempt by staff to chase them away. Some of the dogs were clearly infested with fleas so we chose not to use the beds ourselves but we felt sorry for those bravehearts who did use them when the dogs chose to lie alongside them. I witnessed guests trying to shoo them away whilst receiving no help whatsoever from the staff who stood around watching and who seemed to tolerate them weaving in and around tables in the eating areas (although to be fair this seems to be a feature of most restuarants on the island). Karina and the hotel's own Guest Services expressed sympathy but in real terms nothing was done to remedy matters whilst we were there. Thomson and the hotel seem to have taken a damage limitation stance and are obviously prepared to weather the storm and presumably offer financial recompense via individual customer complaints. All well and good for them but sadly not so great for the poor customer who finds their holiday ruined. After trying to rest by the pool one day the noise had stretched my nerves to the point of exhaustion so at my own behest we were finally given an alternative room which was slightly further away from the site of the noise (It's worth mentioning that the room was offered very reluctantly and only after animated discussion between the receptionist and a woman who appeared to be the hotel manager) Even then after we went to all the trouble of packing and unpacking again, the very next day, building work commenced in the adjoining rooms to us which made the whole relocation exercise seem a complete sham. As a last resort, to get any semblance of peace and quiet we were finally forced to book off site trips via the local tourist board (which by the way were a good 40 euros cheaper for the same activities offered by Thomson so buyer beware). Cape Verde is an expensive island by any standards so expect to pay a "tourist" premium when locals hear a foreign accent. Thomson were advised by hotel management in January 2012 that building works were planned which begs the question why did they choose to inform guests only days before departure? Bottom line is If planning a holiday at the Morabeza be prepared to make your own entertainment at least until the end of July 2012 when I understand building will be complete since there is nothing to recommend it at the moment. I am told at its optimum best that it is normally a good hotel but unfortunately my husband and I will never know since the whole affair was such a disappointing experience we would not choose to go there again. One positive note, If visiting Sal I would recommend Angelo's restuarant, cheap, cheerful and the food is good.

Room Tip: Choose a time to go when the hotel is at full capacity. The management have a somewhat cynical vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank EuroBrit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deganwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

When we arrived our rep informed us building work going on, namely the extension and rebuilding of one of the resturants but as a goodwill gesture they gave us a reduction in the price, there and then in cash. The room was spacious and the bathrooms large and fully equipped with a double shower, bidet, 2 sinks. Soft towels." 2 pools, walk straight out over grounds onto beach. Good breakfast, could have eggs any way you wanted them with or without the usual bacon, tomatoes, frankfurters, beans, plus fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, various breads as well as toast, seet things, a variety of teas, proper coffee. We used the hotel resturant one night which was excellent but went out for the other nights as we were on a diving holiday and the dive guides were so friendly we ended up going out with them into town some evenings to all the local places - brilliant. The one thing that really stands out are the people are so friendly and just get pleasure in the fact that you are enjoying yourself. Even when we had a quick snack at the hotel pool bar, it was are you sure everything is alright? would you like anything else? and always smiling - you could not help but be happy here. We will be coming back and will be booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Block 3 with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank h2omaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just returned from 11 nights at the Morabeza. We travelled with Cape Verde Expereince who informed us at booking that there will be some building work going on, but as a goodwill gesture they gave us a reduction in the price. We had a seaview room in block 3 which was perfect, waking up to the beach and sea and watching the world go by. The hotel is very quiet which is what we wanted and I was also informed that even in high season the hotel is still quiet. Breakfast is currently served in the beach club, which is perfect and the sunbeds on the beach are free for all bon apprtite, HB and FB customers. It is only a short walk to local bars and resturants which we went to every night. The people are friendly and it is NO Stress as they say. We booked our trips with Blinky Tours (contact details on website) and had a great time. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will be returning before the area gets built up.
weather was brilliant and the wind was ok and was able to sit on the beach for the full 11 days.

Room Tip: Seaview is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLW070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We are a couple in our late forties. We stayed at the Morabeza 17th-24th May. We arrived on a thursday afternoon. We were the only two from our flight staying at the hotel so we were a little concerned as to why. Everyone else went to the all inclusive hotels. We were only informed of the building works at the hotel by a letter handed to us by the Thomson rep to be read on the coach to the hotel! Transfer time from airport 15 mins. The reception staff were reasonably friendly and we were supposedly upgraded to an executive room by Thomson by the adult only pool due to the building works on the main restaurant. It was a smart modern clean room but not sure why it was considered executive. We did find the bed very comfortable. After unpacking and a very quick dip in the adult pool, we had the Thomson welcome meeting and Karina was very apologetic re the works, (they had only started the week before our arrival) and also very informative of the island and the available trips. Then we went straight into a welcome meeting with Mannee from the hotel guest services, to include a welcome drink which is very similar to a mojito, lovely but deceptively strong. He informed us of all the hotels activities, which were numerous and also about the island and available trips. After the 6 hour flight and the drink we found it all a little overwheming. It would have been nice to have had a little more time to 'arrive' but we found Mannee to be very helpful and friendly thoughout our stay. The building works did start around 8am every morning and some days there was a lot of noise, but not all day, and others not so much. Our penultimate day was the most disturbed. It is a very windy island and for two days the wind was too strong for us to go into the sea or sit on the beach. However, the remaining days we went to the beach and the fabulous aquamarine sea was like swimming in filtered watered and the soft white sand went on for miles, which we walked along quite regularly. We checked out a couple of the other hotels closest to us along the beach and I have to say we were glad we chose the Morabeza, (although the other hotel in town looked ok, but its beach area was not so good). Between the hotel and the beach club and beach, is an unmade road and a raised promenade. The road was very rarely used, mostly by the truck loading or unloading the building workers. We quite enjoyed people watching the from the pool area, although it was never that busy. It is low season so the hotel was very quiet (mostly!) and very relaxing. The other guests were mostly french or german who were pleasant enough, although i have to mention that on my first morning at breakfast I was hard pushed to get a smile out of anyone! but that did improve. The plus side of the building works was breakfast at the Beach Club on the beach. I kept humming the coldplay song 'Paradise' as it was a lovely start to the day. We stayed b&b and although breakfast was the same offerings each day, there are enough options to vary your diet if wanted and the cooked breakfast, on request, is lovely. We ate at the hotel a couple of evenings and the occasional lunch and each time the food was very good. The Hotel puts on a Cape Verde evening on saturday which is a buffet consisting of local foods and entertainment, it gave a me chance to try Gooseneck barnacle!! The entertainment, especially the dancing was ok. Overall the hotel entertainment was not to our taste but that is not unusual for us. We ate in the small town at other times and were never disappointed. I do think the building works to the main restaurant, however necessary, did spoil the look of the hotel and its grounds as they were situated in the centre of the property. I expect when the works are finished one will be able to fully appreciate the relaxing environment. However, overall it did not spoil our enjoyment. The works are due to finsh at the end of July. The sky was mostly cloudy but the sun was still hot enough to burn if not careful!, I used SFF50 for the first time and was glad of it, I still tanned and didnt get the prickly heat rash that I sometimes get in the sun. A real plus is no mosqitos.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor of 600 block, by the adult only pool. that meant restricted sea view, up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Westward18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We are a couple in our early 30s, who live in London and wanted a relaxing break away from it all. This is exactly what we got in May this year. Every bit of this holiday was like this - except for a couple of minor things which I will highlight later

The hotel is independent and family owned - which was a big attraction to us- it has character and a sense of history about it, and has a beautiful main building. We stayed on B&B basis, in the newer 'block 6' right next to an adults only pool. I think May is quite quiet on the island and in the hotel, we often were 1 of only a handful of couples around the pool, which was just what we wanted! The hotel team are relaxed but helpful. the culture of the islanders is 'no stress' which came across in everything they did.

The beach is literally just a few metres away and its stunning. The sea does have quite strong currents, but we swan every day without problem, altho there isnt much to see in the sea by way of snorkelling, but I believe if you walk down to the harbour area there are lots of beautiful fish, including a statue of Christ on the ocean floor to welcome the fishermen back in safely.

The weather was beautful, really sunny, but it is very windy! Which means you can get caught out in the sun, which is really strong anyway. So be careful! Evenings could be cool in the wind, so take a cardi.

They are currently renovating the main restaurant, so breakfast is in the Beach club- which is wonderful to look over the white sands as you wake up. the selection of food was fine. But as they have to import everything onto the island, dont think they have speciality dietary options well catered for. (e.g. soya milk etc). There was some noise from the renovations during the day but it did not bother us at all.

The room was very spacious indeed and stylish. The rest of the hotel is nicely spread out so that you dont feel like you are on top of others (Unlike the other hotels in the area) the pool areas are lovely and the bar and restaurant (the upstairs one due to the downstairs renovations) were lovely. Food great. Also excellent happy hour 6.30-7.30pm. There are a couple of dogs that live at the hotel, a little jack russel and a gorgeous old dog called Shengan who is struggling with his hips a little now! They are around the hotel property, but never bothered us. However there are a few more dogs on the beach, but they didnt come near the pools and were good natured.

The town itself is small, just literally 5 minutes walk away (The streets are cobbled, but rough cobbles- avoid heels!). The locals do try to ask you to go into their shops, and mostly they took no for an answer except for a couple who were a little more persistent. Altho I understand that they rely soley on tourism for their economy, this was one of the only downsides, but didnt get in our way too much. If you want to avoid them, there are a couple of bars and restaurants that you can access from the beach, so you avoid any attention. Our favourite was the restaurant of the at the 'Odjo d'Aqua hotel, as this was one of the only ones to literally sit right next to the sea with a beautiful view down the beach.

There are a few bars in the town, a few of the main ones (TamTam and Leonardos) were shut when we were there as its low season, but there are several places to have a relaxed drink after your meal should you want. The hotel and the town are relaxed, so no need to get dressed up - jeans, tshirts etc all fine.

The island does have an African vibe to it, with lots of brightly painted houses and some more shack-type housing, but its all very clean and it does appear to be under development now. So I'm glad i got chance to see it before it gets too busy

We did one trip - the half day tour of the island in the jeep. There isnt much to see on the island (Which suited us) but this gave us a perfect flavour of the place and also got to swin in the salt lakes which was great fun.

We spoke to a few other holiday makers at other hotels and genuinely feel this was the best hotel (For what we wanted). The Riu may be better if you have children that will want to socialise and be entertained, as they ahve the facilities for this.

We travelled with thomson. The rep, Karina was absolutely lovely. The flight tho, was very budget! Whilst you do now get a meal, there is no drink included - so you have to purchase a cup of tea to drink after your meal! The space was very tight too. No entertainment/tv to watch, wvene tho its a 5.5 hour journey. So take drinks, and books etc

Overall - the most genuinely relaxing holiday i have had in a long time. Highly recommended for couples wanting to chill out and spend time together

Room Tip: Any of the sea view rooms, but in particular those in block 6 are new and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank frogeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.8 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morabeza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morabeza

Property: Hotel Morabeza
Address: Ilha Do Sal | Caixa Postal 33, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Morabeza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Morabeza We are located on the beautiful Santa Maria Beach on the southern most part of the island of Sal, Cabo Verde. We are confident that you will find your stay at our hotel to be a most enjoyable and memorable one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Morabeza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morabeza Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Morabeza Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing