We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and relaxing holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good and relaxing holidays”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a good resort for families. The rooms are not that spacious, but good in general.
With a good service this is a nice place for a good and relaxing holidays.
Food was good with plenty of choices.
Not much to do though. Pool areas many times crowded, difficult to find an empty chair. Access to the beach could be better looking.
The night entertainment was good a different every night. Good atmosphere outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmmatias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,411
    441
    142
    76
See reviews for
890
2,048
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My partner and I, went here for 1 week in the beginning July 2013.
First of all, i must say the Cape Verde island are very barren, and apart from the hotels, there is very little to see or do. Only say here if you are wanting a sunbathing week.

Right now the review of the hotel. First this is not just one hotel, it is 2 that are joined together, you have the Riu Funana and the Riu Guropa, each hotel has its own restaurants and pools and are exactly the same. The guests in either hotel can use the facilities in both. One of the only differences is that you can only access the beach from the Funana side. so if you are in the Guropa you have a long walk to the beach.

The Hotel is well set out and is set up like Caribbean hotels with small apartment blocks dotted around, each is not to far from the pool, beach and main lobby/restaurants. The hotel is very clean and well maintained.
The pool area is massive and contains 2 pools, a small pool at the bottom and the quiet big pool at the top. there are tones of sun loungers. You get your usually English crazies, reserving their loungers at 5:00am, but there are plenty until around 11am, then they start to fill up. The small pool houses the bar which also has a swim up bar, and service was very quick.

The rooms are basic and clean, all have a balcony and mini fridge (with 1 bottle of water), powerful shower (no bath) and a separate toilet. the TV has about 7 English channels on it including Tcm movies, Fox, BBC world News, CNN and some other movie channel. The maid cleaned every day although not to a great standard, but that doesn't bother me too much.
If you want more bottled water the maid will NOT fill it, you have to go to reception to get your water and lug it back to the room.
But in each apartment block, there is a store room, (usually unlocked downstairs), where they store tones of bottled water, so we used to grab a 6x 2ltr pack and put them in our fridge. no need to trek to the main lobby lol.

The Hotel sits on the beach although the sea is about 100 metres away from the back of the hotel. The beach itself is lovely and has lovely white sand mixed with volcanic black sand in places, 5 minute walk to the left and the quality of the beach is similar to that of the Caribbean. The sea can be ruff as it is the Atlantic and is quite cold.
They have Turtle eggs buried on the beach just outside the Funana, but they were not ready to hatch until the 12th august, so if you are going then, you're in for a treat.

For breakfast you have the main buffet restaurant, which has a choice like ive never seen, you have fresh fruit, yogurts, teas, coffees, omelettes, pancakes, breads, fruit juices, cheeses and meats, toast, jams. and your usual cooked breakfasts really everything you could want.
The only thing missing was an omelette station, they have omelettes but not cooked to order.

Lunch time you have a choice of 2 restaurants, the main buffet again which has more what i would call "meal, meals", then you have the pool restaurant, which has all your snack things, like burgers, chips, hot-dogs, rice dishes, salads etc.. again there is a massive choice and it is all covered and freshly cooked.

Dinner you have the main buffet again or you can choose one the the a la Carte, all lovely.

The staff here are some of the most depressing and moody staff i have every come across in all my travels. Its like everything and everyone is a hassle for them. it is quite clear there is a problem at a higher management level here somewhere and it is filtering down to the staff at lower levels.

The only other thing that spoilt this holiday was the quality of English guests at this hotel during our week, we wanted just a chill out week with little or no noise. But be warned there are lots of family's with children here.
Parents who just want to get drunk or sunbathe all day and not look after their offspring. The result is a group of kids running and screaming and dive bombing in the pool when people are sunbathing next to it.
You have your loud alcoholic British group who sit at the bar from 10am until sunset, getting completed wasted then shouting and swearing, not thinking about the kids next to them.
You do have some funny things to look at tho, like the middle aged housewife who thinks she is still 20yrs old, and gets her saggy breasts out at every chance she gets, no matter who shes talking to or what shes doing. Hilarious!!!

Everything at the hotel is very expensive, but that is because they ship almost everything in. bottle of Nivea deodorant was 8 euros,i couldn't believe it.
Do not expect to get any bargains out here lol.

Overall the hotel is very nice, well maintained, but the moody staff and guests let it down big time. If you want a chill out holiday without screaming families etc.. go somewhere else for similar money. This is the kind of place that is upcoming, but i imagine in about 5-6 years time its going to be the same as the canary islands. Shame really as the island and beaches are very nice.

Room Tip: Late check out costs 30 euros and is well worth it as normal check is 11am and you are not picked up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from riu funana, we stayed for 7 nights, weather was good with a breeze. Food was very good and plenty of choice, my boyfriend loved the pizzas! beaches were lovely although there was a strong under current. There isn't much to do so if your looking for a chill out holiday this is the place to be. Staff where friendly, I will say pool area was nice but needs some attention in places.... Entertainment was was good but one week was enough. This hotel is on a large scale with its sister hotel next door which you can also use... Both very clean. I'd recommend the African and Asian restaurants, we heard mixed reports about the Cape Verde restaurant. Overall we would recommend this hotel and Cape Verde had a great time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in June With my husband But its good for families too. if you want to be entertained (kids too) this will be for you and if not they leave u alone . Weather boiling but didn't feel it coz of the breeze . Recommend the jeep island tour ( booked thru travel agent jeeps seemed better ) was lucky and had local guide in the jeep with lots of local info ! Thanks David . Nothing too much trouble the people are amazing ! The all inclusive is the best we've ever had ! In a word perfect ! One downer sorry ...the flight ... First choice flight shocking .. Plane filthy . But that wouldn't stop us going back !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in july 2010 there were 4 of us we had a great holiday the hotel was good food good only fault was that u had serve yourself in restaurants but great food. Its not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties as its a fair walk to restaurants because u have go near reception for them.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattnlou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

we are just back from riu funana after a fantastic 2 week honeymoon, there is nothing but praise from ourselves about the rooms, food, drink, staff everything was outstanding. Fantastic pools, massive lovely complex, very very hardworking friendly staff, beautiful beaches, cleanliness of rooms and all around was phenominal and my husband and i cannot praise this holiday hotel/destination enough! So so much food choices and 4 themed restaurants, free jacuzzi what more could honeymooners ask for FANTASTIC!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5116
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicky19710905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Riu Funana and what a fab holiday we had! Rooms were big with plenty of space and maids did an amazing job on keeping them spotlessly clean! Pool area was fab with plenty of sunbeds and were able to get one at anytime of the day...Pool towels are provided fresh everyday so save the extra kilos in suitcase weight! Food was good, plenty of choice however was a bit repetitive at lunch with the same burgers, hot dog, chips and toasties. We tried 3 of the 4 a la carte restaurants, the mandalay being the best..african was good and grill was ok, didnt try the cape verde as this was fish. A la carte restaurants can be booked up to 3 days in advance at reception and have two time slots 1900 or 2100 but they do get booked quicker. Entertainment was ok, but they did try their best however one night they did the rock station show which was absolutely fabulous. Animation team tried their best and did a good job around the pool joining in with the activites such as aqua aerobics and rifle shooting. As for the island itself really baron but still things to go out and do, Santa Maria was around 30 mins walk from the hotel but was 3euros in taxi during day and 4euros at night. We did the 4x4 island tour and the catamaran with Thomson and really enjoyed both. Few stops we did on the Island tour were fantastic such as the blue eye and the mirage and the salt lakes are a must! However when stopping in little villages felt really pestered. All in all it was a fabulous holiday!

Room Tip: We had room 5121, next to pool and beach and sea view was fabulous just a longer walk to reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwatsonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,926 reviews
1.3 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Funana
ClubHotel Riu Funana
#5 of 20 in Santa Maria
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde
Address: Cabocan Lote A2, A3, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Situated on the island of Sal in the Cape Verde Islands * Main building and 2-story annexes * Situated on the beach front together with the ClubHotel Riu Funana * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 1.5 Km to Santa Maria * 15 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Funana Santa Maria
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo Verde Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing