We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value a bit hidden away”
Review of OCaranguejo

OCaranguejo
Ranked #16 of 115 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Pizza, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Venha saborear o melhor da gastronomia Portuguesa num ambiente único e acolhedor, com rede WiFi gratis. Esperamos por si com todo o gosto / Come and enjoy the best of Portuguese cuisine in a charming and exlusive environment, With free WiFi network. It will be a pleasure to welcome you!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very narrow entrance on the Main Street.
Staff nice but a little disorganised got a few meals mixed up but don’t be put off soon sorted.
I had the local steak dish included an egg and spinach unfortunately asked for medium but almost walked on the plate,quickly sorted and very tasty when it was returned.
My wife had the very large prawns again good.
So much neither of us could finish all the chips.
Enjoyed a great bottle of Portuguese rose only €13.
Another couple regular visiter for the last few years say they never miss an evening here.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank portugal563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCaranguejo, Gerente geral at OCaranguejo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there..
thank you for your lovely review. We hope you enjoy the rest if your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back. All the best from us all here in the OCaranguejo..

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 404 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2019

We ate here on two nights. Both times were surprised that the bill was not more.

Ok it serves pizza, which was good. But they also have some other dishes and one night I had baked white fish on a potato and spinach mash. Very good.

Service was excellent and it got very popular by 8pm

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019

my wife had a steak meal which was very tender with rice chips and salad. I had a pepperoni pizza and my friends wife also had pizza my friend had steak with p eppercorn sauce which he said was delicious
Really nice food didn't have wine as we all had water all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PJP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

I didn't select 1 as score only for the waitress' kindness. The restaurant is located in the centre of Santa Maria, easy to find. We ordered a "bruschetta" and a pizza. There are lots of different pizzas on the menù. I found them, sorry for the frankness, an insult to the Italian culture. The bruschetta was made with soaked bread and the pizza was a frozen food (Margherita) with 2 o 3 pieces of the extra ingredient. I spent 7 days in Santa Maria and that was the only bad experience food-related. Please, if you have to prepare italian food like this, it would be better not to do it at all. As I said, never again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank pierpaolod690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui M, Gerente at OCaranguejo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Dear,

We are OCaranguejo.
We are an awarded restaurant that is proud To have quality food in all our menu.
Our pizza are homemade with fresh ingredients and daily made bread.
We kindly invite you to visit us ( OCaranguejo restaurant) and enjoy a lovely dinner with our pizza and more.
Because this do not happen in our restaurant.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

Just average.
Pasta undercooked,chips cold,starters came with mains.
Much better restaurants and service available in town.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank TMonica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OCaranguejo also viewed

 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to OCaranguejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing