We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cooked with enthusiasm and talent!”

'Sapo com fome' The Hungry Frog
Ranked #7 of 68 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great food, cooked with enthusiasm and talent!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is only a small place, tucked up a side street. Cooking powered by gas bottles, electricity supply a bit dodgy at times, a tiny kitchen where the cooks and waitresses manoeuvre round each other like holidaymakers in a small caravan.
But bright and clean, friendly and enthusiastic. And the food was reasonably priced and extremely tasty. Try the octopus! And the Prawns! Absolutely excellent! They also have local wine from the Island of Fogo at an affordable price. Well worth trying!
Just goes to show that a little place with enthusiasm and talent (plus good ingredients) can just blow away the food produced by huge hotels with armies of chefs and kitchen equipment to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapocomfome, Owner at 'Sapo com fome' The Hungry Frog, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for your colourful review. We strive to do our best and it's great to read such positive feedback. I hope one day Santa Maria will have mains gas ! All the very best and we hope to see you again soon here at the Hungry Frog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    196
    53
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & warm hospitality”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

No holiday in Santa Maria is complete without at least one visit (you won't stop at one though I'm sure) to the 'Sapo com fome' The Hungry Frog, tucked down a small street near the Ice cream parlour its not to be missed and great value. You can sit and watch your food being prepared or tuck yourself out of the way in the pretty rear room, whichever you choose though you are guaranteed a fantastic meal, my personal recommendation is the fish stew, only tried on my final vist, but I wish I had had it earlier, never mind, next time. Dianne is the perfect host (and Nick!) with an excellent command of English, and her mother cooks the beautiful traditional fare in the kitchen. See you all again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TA1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we visited this restaurant a few times while were were on the island. It is a small restaurant in a small street off of the main drag. the staff were very friendly and helpful, when I was asking about the local dishes. The fish and seafood dishes that we tried were probably the tastiest and best value for money, and we will going back theter when we visit the island again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank d_p_r_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fish!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We nearly didn't eat here despite having seen it recommended on Trip adviser because it looks a bit like a cafe trying to attract UK tourist rather than a Cape Verdian restaurant. the food was amazing though. My husband had a local fish caught that day on the pier and my daughter had king prawns which were beautifully cooked and half the price of the other restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cornmillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don’t miss it”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Don’t miss it; it is a family run restaurant with fresh food served with a smile. It a small place in an ally to the main street, book a table if you will be sure to get one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1.gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'Sapo com fome' The Hungry Frog also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to 'Sapo com fome' The Hungry Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing