We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime”

Restaurante Barracuda
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Reasonable meal at lunchtime - we asked for tuna but had wahoo which is similar. Great position right on the beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lin4847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    364
    135
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset,UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overated!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Good for a drink but consider whether to eat there. We were very disappointed with the portions considrring other place along the beach.
Have a look at others meals first.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharkyfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spanish waiter is wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We came here the first night if our stay in Sal. We were completely out if our depth & our taxi driver recommended it. Was definitely a good decision as although the waiter does not speak much English, the menu is pretty easy to read. In typical Verde style it is half translated in places. The house wine, red & white is very drinkable & gets better as the carafe empties!
Smoked salmon was wonderful starter & the fish kebabs were lovely. They do not have a kids menu but do child size plates if you ask. My husband had the octopus & although I'm usual vomiting at the idea, it looked amazing & to my surprise was quite tasty! Dad had the barracuda, he said it was perfectly cooked & we all had salad with our meal (which we were worried about), however no one suffered from a funny tummy.
We enjoyed the food & our funny Spanish waiter so much that we returned on our last day to have lunch, play in the sand, drink the house wine & ended up staying for dinner again!
Perfectly restful!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Try the Percebes - you like it! Had a family dinner with pasta fish and meat, all where happy. High music was somewhat disturbing from the bar next door.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice romantic setting, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, nicely lit inside and outside for a romantic atmosphere and luckily no loud livemusic and good and cheap red local wine at the good pure food. We came back several times. Also good free internet for checking the IPhone. Serene view at the Beach.

Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Barracuda also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Restaurante Barracuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing