We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid Holiday in a spacious, beautiful House”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa
Villa Pool Patio Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Villa
Villa Pool
Patio Dining
Lounge
Dining
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2
Lounge
Villa
Kitchen
Bathroom
Patio Dining
Resorts Tennis Courts
Santa Maria
Local Restaurant
Local Bar/Restaurant
Neptunes Submarine
Local Beach
Local Beach
Local Beach
Kite Surfing on the Local Beach
Ponta Preta Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tanja S
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid Holiday in a spacious, beautiful House”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very spacious, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, large living room. In the kitchen all necessary equipment is present. In the garden you find a nice swimmingpool, sunbeds and a BBQ. Within a few walking minutes from the Villa you are on the beach. We had a really good vacation in the villa. Our children loved to play in the pool, watch their DVD's on the tv, or take a look from the terrace on the roof of the villa.
The Villa is situated on the Villa Verde Resort. This Resort is very large and quiet, many swimmingpools, children playgrounds, supermarket, restaurant etc. So, everything you need is nearby. Within a few driving minutes you are in Santa Maria with a beautiful beach, many nice cafe's, restaurants and shops.
We would recommend this villa to everyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space of the villa
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy H
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, lovely holiday”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We recently stayed in this lovely villa and had a great holiday. It was really spacious and very new with large terraces for relaxing on the comfy sun-beds. It has an enclosed garden and small pool, which the kids loved and its location is great. It's been tastefully furnished and everything you could possibly need is included. A little bit of advise, take a couple of tea towels with you, as the maids didn't supply us with any.

The resort was a little quiet when we were there, as it had only just opened, but it suited us fine, as we just wanted to chill out and relax, which we certainly did. We would recommend going into the local town of Santa Maria for restaurants, many of which are located right on the beach, as the one on the resort is not as good as those in the town. Santa Maria is about 4/5 minutes by car or taxi (3 Euros). The owners send you a really handy "information pack" whch proved very useful. The resort also provides a shuttle bus that runs 4 times a day which takes you into Santa Maria, which is very convenient.

We all loved Cape Verde, which is so different to European countries, we will definitely go back again and also stay at the villa again as well, a really great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating out in Santa Maria
Liked least: It was a little quiet but the resort had only just opened, it suited us
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperman...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Impressive Sal Island Villa!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Back from 2 glorious weeks in the winter sun and the combination of an excellent modern Villa (just as described), a short walk to the local white sandy beaches (stretching for more miles than you will ever cover), and the quaint local town of Santa Maria (mixed in with the friendliness of the Cape Verdean people) has left us totally chilled from our "wintersun" holiday in Sal over the festive period.

If you love your water sports or just watching them, enjoy warm winds meeting the Atlantic waves, constantly dry hot weather, good local food/hospitality, and the simple charm of a relatively undeveloped island, then this is for you.

Being in a less economically developed area may mean experiencing some utility/servicing issues from time to time but don’t let this put you off as overall the location is a gem of a place and the villa owners will do their utmost to support you to ensure you have a great time during your stay.

Will we return then? the answer is a definite yes to enable us to spend a longer time out there so as to include some of the other islands as well and to revisit Sal - before too much development of the region has occurred to cope with the mass tourism that will inevitability follow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: West facing Villa position - protected from the wind but able to see sunsets into the sea!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe C
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic winter sun holiday in luxury villa”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Firstly the information that is given by owners, Paul and Sandy, is great. There are comprehensive details about the villa, the surrounding area, taxi charges etc. There is a list of restaurants - their cuisine and prices making the choice in the evening very simple. There is even listed the name of a taxi driver and his number to you can book a taxi.

The villa itself surpassed our expectations. It is extremely comfortable with every mod con available. Small things like having plenty of glasses, cutlery, cups etc so you are not having to wash up all the time. The villa is furnished to a very high standard. The sun terrace outside is definitely a sun trap at all times of the day. The pool is great for cooling off in. We walked to the beach each day, the bar serves great salads. We ate out every night and always felt safe walking around Santa Maria in the evenings.

If you are looking for guaranteed sunshine, a no hassle holiday, in a very comfortable villa then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort of the villa and the sun terrace being in all day sunshine
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllisonB2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely villa, close to Santa Maria”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Villa is located at Villa Verde a large resort just outside Santa Maria. The resort is newly opened and there was just a small supermarket and restaurant open on the resort. It was also extremely quite which suited us. The villa was very well equipped, everything was brand new and good quality. We didn't use the Internet in the villa, as we were advised by the reception that the signal wasn't very strong in that area of the resort, it may be better to purchase a dongle locally.

There is a bus that runs from the resort to Santa Maria a few times each day, alternatively taxis are also very cheap and it takes less than 5 mins to get there. Santa Maria is a small town with a few shops and a variety of restaurants catering for a range of tastes and budgets.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet location - a great place to chill
Liked least: Very little fresh veg/fruit in the shop
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete W
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“save your money”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed at the Vila Verde resort. On Arrival nice clean villa. Not long before problems arise. Wonderful views.. only if you like looking at corrugated iron and building machinery. Only aircon in the lounge so bedrooms really hot at night . Wind howls through the villa so awake most of the night.
No electric for 6 hours after a storm (be careful as safe runs off electricity so all our cash, cards etc stuck in there. No water for 18 hours as apparently when the water runs low in Cape Verde they cut you off. So no showers
The resort reminded me of a scene from Will Smiths " I AM LEGEND" searching for human life. Basically this resort is not open. There is one supermarket with hardly anything on the shelves and a restaurant that looks more like a supermarket cafeteria and its not open very often. All other shops are still empty with no sign of anyone moving into them. Walking around the resort is dangerous as there are many holes where the paths have lifted. After the worst 4 days holiday we have ever had we moved out and into the excellent 5 star Melia Resort and enjoyed an excellent 10 days. What a difference it was just moving across the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: moving out
Liked least: everything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2012
With regards to the services being off for a period of time, this was due to a thunderstorm, which obviously we had no control over. This applied to all the resorts and properties on the island, not just the villa.

The client is correct in stating that there was air-conditioning fitted to the lounge/dining area only and not the bedrooms. This was a temporary situation, as the villa has been constructed for the installation of air-conditioning. The reason why they were not fitted to the bedrooms is due to the resorts construction company, Tecnicil Immobilaria, who have experienced delays in importing enough air-con units to complete the installation in all the villas and apartments on the resort. Therefore, they decided to install 1 large air-con unit into every property and fit the remaining units when they arrived on the island.

We are pleased to advise that the air-conditioning units have now been fitted to all 3 bedrooms.

As far as the resort is concerned, it is quiet at the moment, as it only opened earlier this year, but there are 15 commercial units where leases have been signed, so therefore it is just a case of time before there are more facilities available on the resort. However, there is a supermarket, bank, and 24 hour reception available on the resort. There are also numerous restaurants, bars, supermarkets and shops in the small local town of Santa Maria.

We hope this is of some help.

Paul & Sandy Withey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpooleyuk
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Holiday in Cape Verde - Vila Verde Resort”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Traveled to Cape Verde (Sal) with my family ( wife + 2 boys ) to experience the warm weather, wonderful sandy beaches & the Island's culture & our wedding anniversary.
If you expect all the mod cons from the main tourist town Santa Maria, then Cape Verde may not be for you. Sal is certainly progressing & in my opinion may take another 5-7 years before the cleanliness meets most people's high standards. However, saying that it was still a lovely place to visit & witness the local community work/play together to achieve their belief 'No stress'.
The Italians have been visiting Cape Verde for some 20 years & that is evident in some good restaurants serving good local food especially fresh fish caught that day & sold on the pier. (Check out the tuna)
The beaches are amazing - warm clear blue sea & just perfect. especially Ponta Preta beach which was a 10 minute walk from our villa in the resort Vila Verde.
Our accommadation was a 3 bed villa with private pool.
On entry the villa was very clean & very well presented.
However on closer inspection we then discovered that in fact, there was only air-con in the downstairs open plan living area & NOT in the 3 upstairs bedrooms. To sleep at night was unbearable & all my family were forced to sleep downstairs for 11 nights, once we had carried the mattresses downstairs. (The owner should really make this clear for future rentals).
The owner also advertises internet. This is NOT the case!! You have to walk some 10 minutes to the main reception to pay for 1/2 to 1 hour sessions, to then sit & use your laptop. (Again the owner should really make this clear for future rentals).
A TV & DVD is provided, however there are no real English speaking channels, so take some DVD films for the kids to watch when they need some time away from the sun.
Vila Verde Resort is very new & was like a ghost town. There is a supermarket on the resort which is owned by an English family.
The clubhouse was not open & there was NO evidence of them ever serving food/snacks & drinks before/during our stay. (Once again, the owner needs to make reference to this for future rentals, to avoid disappointment). A good place for snack & drinks during the day close to the villa is the restaraunt on Ponta Preta Beach. You can't miss it , it's the only timber building on the beach.
There were several items missing in our villa ie; tea towels to dry up dirty plates & cups. No cushions for the outside sun loungers & we had to ask the owner to request the pool to be cleaned. On our stay for 11 nights we had NO cleaners or fresh laundry, so my wife was forced to wash towels & bed linen in the washing machine provided.(Not the holiday rest she had hoped).
Taxi's into Santa Maria are approx 5 Euros. Taxi from Sal Airport 10 Euros.
Would we go back to Cape Verde? - Absolutely YES !!! - Already looking to visit again over Xmas 2012. Beaches are superb. Good local food.
Would we go back to Vila 9 on Vila Verde Resort - Absolutely NOT !!
There is better accommadation in Santa Maria (Please email for suggestions) that provide air con in all living area's including bedrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private Pool
Liked least: Having to sleep downstairs to keep cool.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2012
I would like to thank the above guest for his comments. However, I would also like to respond, as below.

AIR-CONDITIONING

Firstly, this client is correct in stating that there was air-conditioning fitted only to the lounge/dining area and not the bedrooms. This was a temporary situation, as the villa has been constructed for the installation of air-conditioning. The reason why they were not fitted to the bedrooms is due to the resorts construction company, Tecnicil Immobilaria, who have experienced delays in importing enough air-con units to complete the installation in all the villas and apartments on the resort. Therefore, they decided to install 1 large air-con unit into every property and fit the remaining units when they arrived on the island.

We are pleased to advise that the air-con units have now arrived on the island and all the bedrooms will be fitted with these units on September 5th 2012.

SWIMMING POOL MAINTENCE

We have a contract with a professional swimming pool maintenance company, who are contracted to clean and treat the pool every day. The pool was cleaned on the morning of the arrival of the above guests, (this has been logged with the resorts management). The reason why the pool had some leaves in it was due to the time between it being cleaned in the morning and the guests arriving late afternoon, as the winds in Cape Verde don’t help the pool situation, this is the reason why the pool is cleaned every day.

TEA TOWELS

Tea towels are provided and cleaned when the laundry is changed.

CLEANING/LAUNDRY

The villa is cleaned and new laundry supplied every week. If your stay is more that 7 days, then you will receive a mid-stay clean with a change of towels and bed linen. I have checked why the above guests were not supplied with new laundry and mid-stay clean and it was an error on behalf of the house maids, for which we apologise for. They have been advised of this in no uncertain manner and we have been assured that this will not happen again.

INTERNET

We advise on our web site that internet is available, we don’t advise that it is in the villa as the signal strength is limited. However, in the information pack that we send to all guests, we recommend they purchase a mobile dongle. These can be plugged into your laptop and can be used anywhere on the island, including in the villa. These can be purchased in various shops in Santa Maria and are only 12 Euros, which work out a lot cheaper than buying a voucher on the resort.

TV

There are limited English channels available, but there are 2 or 3 where you receive 24/7 news from the UK.

I hope this response is of some help

Paul & Sandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$1,007
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing