We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We've just returned from a week all inclusive stay. All inclusive is a must as the closest restaurants/supermarkets are located in Santa Maria which is a 10 min drive away (taxi €3). There is a buffet restaurant which had a variety of foods, which we thought were very good, my main gripe was they didn't serve diet coke/coke zero at the restaurant. Bottled water was available from all bars. Aqua restaurant was a choice of 3 set menus served by waiters, again good food. O Grille was located at the beach with beautiful views, snacky food was available at lunch (sandwiches/pasta/burgers) and again a choice of 3 different set menus at dinner with waiter service, only complaint was smoking was allowed inside the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful although a little sparse at busy times. The beach was great, plenty of sun loungers and a life guard on duty. There was never a problem with getting a sun lounger at the beach or pool but it wasn't school holidays when we went. The pools were freezing! Towels were available for €20 deposit and could be changed as often as wanted. The rooms were clean and modern, the first floor rooms had a batter balcony. The kitchen had a fridge and microwave, which was handy as we had a baby. Santa Maria is worth a visit, especially the Thomson tour on a Saturday morning. The hotel operates a free bus service 3 times a day. I didn't use the spa as usual it was way overpriced! Security were present but I felt safe at all times. Wifi was available but was chargeable which was disappointing considering it was a 5 star resort. All in all a great resort/ island and we'll be back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank becsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear becsmile,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some time to review our hotel.

From reading your feedback I am pleased to know that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments about our staff who work very hard to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and at home with us. We have coca cola zero available at the bars and I am quite surprised regarding the smoking, as this is the first time that we received such feedback since our restaurants are all non-smoking, we will surely investigate into the matter and make the necessary amendments.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback, we are very happy to know that you will be returning as we are already looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Melia Tortuga this morning. It was great & we really enjoyed it. We were give a 2 bedroom & 2 bathroom apartment close to the main pool which was cleaned daily. Good choice of food & the staff really are excellent (especially Elvis & Marli). For the people who have said that “there is nothing to do” I would advise you first do your research before setting off!! – there IS a lot to do but you need to book excursions & decide what you actually want from a holiday…. this is not Benidorm or the Canaries & the tourist industry is quite new.

We used the gym & attended yoga classes, both were good.

We booked an 8hr quad bike tour (through Sal tours) which took in the entire Island including the salt flats, desert mirage, fishing ports & shark bay. This was E140 for both of us & lasted all day with lunch. If this is a little too energetic for you, why not treat yourself to the “Bali Bed” experience (book a bed on the beach) and relax all day. You can have lunch at the beach bar, take a dip in the sea & sip champagne as you watch the sunset.

At £700 each for all inclusive with flights I think the hotel is excellent value. Yes there may not be 24hr entertainment but this very much depends on what you want from a holiday – “cruise ship” entertainers are not really our thing!!. Take some low value euro notes & coins with you too – they are easier to get than escudos. Although the resort is all inclusive remember that It’s a relatively poor country & tipping is appreciated.

The wine isn't great but so what?.... there is a choice of spirits, cocktails & beer. Some of the food can be bland (they do need to cater for all tastes so this is to be expected) but the fish is good & sauces are available if you ask.

Advise you take insect repellent (there are some mosquitos) lots of high factor suncream because the sun is very hot!!.... if you don’t have children book during school term time if you can as it's cheaper & there are less screaming kids…. Also try to learn a few words of Portugese, although English is widely spoken it’s only polite….

Great hotel & exceptional staff – we will definitely recommend to all our friends & family

Room Tip: Rooms around the main pool are convenient....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LRmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear LRmanchester,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your holiday experience with us and with fellow travelers on Tripadvisor.
We always welcome the feedback from our guests as they enable us to gain an insight into their expectations and preferences thus allowing us to provide an even better service in the future.

From reading your review, I can clearly perceive that you have had a nice and enjoyable stay at our resort which gives a sense of satisfaction to us for knowing that you have made the most of your holidays. As you have indeed indicated, tourism is still quite recent in the island and it is a growing industry, and due to the specificity of the location it is recommended that people seek more information about the location prior to visiting so as to avoid wrong expectations.

I am also pleased that you took the opportunity to take a tour around the island and visit all the interesting points. There are indeed a lot of activities to choose from, especially for those who enjoy doing some water sports.

We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the staff and our services as well as the useful information shared with future visitors. We thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family and we hope that you will give us the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went for a relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got, all the staff were very friendly, management were always walking around the hotel (not hiding in their offices like other hotels) we didn't have the opportunity to try the waterside restaurant as it was having maintenance work done but the other restaurants made up for it. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment (room 107) always spotlessly clean near to reception but we never heard any noise. The staff were all very friendly ( with the exception of one girl on the pool bar who didn't look like she wanted to be there) we didn't have to wait too long to be served with drinks try the Mojitos and coco locos fantastic, a special mention to Guildo in the O Grille and Jose in the Sway bar always smiling and always went the extra mile. A very big thanks to Thomson rep Trish (aka Chrissie) what an excellent rep we went on the free walk she does on a Saturday to the town very informative and interesting, do the 4x4 half day trip you go all over the island and see some fantastic views. Make sure you take high factor sun cream start with a 50. Already planning on returning next year.

Room Tip: Room 107 had a double balcony with a view of the sea and near to reception very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shesh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Shesh63,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you both have had a relaxing holiday and that our services were all according to your expectations. In order to continuously offer our guests the best quality service we carry out regular maintenance work on our outlets to maintain everything in tip top condition. We would like to thank you for your kind comments not only regarding our services but also regarding our staff who work hard to ensure that everyone is satisfied and comfortable, we will gladly share your comments with everyone and I am sure that they will greatly appreciate your feedback.

It is wonderful that you are already planning to return next year as we are already looking forward to welcoming you as our guests then.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked (privately) a two bed apartment for my husband and I and our 17 year old daughter. We had planned to go self catering, but on visiting the two local supermarkets, were horrified by the extreme lack of any food! We ended up paying a fortune for fully inclusive at the hotel for mediocre same-y food.
Not nearly enough sun loungers around the pools once the hotel started filling up for the Easter holiday. And the pools are FREEZING!!
Staff very friendly and polite, check-in and out quick and painless. Evening entertainment left a bit to be desired! Hotel was very clean and modern.
Unfortunately the beach, whilst lovely sitting on the sun loungers with the cafe and bar on the beach, does not lend itself to swimming in the sea. There is a rocky ledge which, with the big waves, makes it impossible to get in! I didn't see anyone swim the entire time we were there.
We took a trip to see the island, the best part being the Blue Eye (think that's what it's called) but make sure u get there at the right time of day...around midday I think, then the sun is in a perfect position to make the effect.
We also saw baby lemon sharks in their natural nursery (very shy creatures, so make sure you get there at high tide as they will be closer and easier to see).
All in all, if your palate doesn't have high expectations, and you would just like to laze by a pool/on the beach, then CV is perfect!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the main reception area (noise at night from evening entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspattendeni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear mrspattendeni1,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

It was a pity to know that some aspects of our services did not meet your expectations. However, I must disagree with you regarding our products, as these are supplied by the exclusive suppliers for hotels such as ours and we choose only the best quality for our guests. We do understand that each person’s preference can be very different from what we have to offer, however, we do offer quite a large variety of dishes to choose from.

In April the average temperature of the water is 22 degrees, which can hardly be considered as freezing, however, the perception of temperature also vary from person to person.

We thank you for your comments about our staff and we are glad to know that you took the opportunity to visit around the island of Sal. We recommend any guests planning to visit Sal to try to find more information about island prior to visiting so as to avoid wrong expectations.

We hope that you will give us the chance to change your opinion about some of our services by visiting us again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

It is a nice, but crowded resort. Our favorite restaurant was the O Grille. Directly located at the beach. The were not enough beach beds (since the hotel
Was fully booked?). Go see the baby turtles at the Rui-hotel, next to the Melia (when you leave the O Grille go left along the beach for a 15 minutes walk).
Very large rooms/ appartments. Two bedrooms, a kitchen, and a living room. Nice gym and scuba diving possibilities. For diving they take you by car to Santa Maria were you take to boat to the diving spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear MCC38,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

It is nice to perceive that you have had a nice stay at our hotel and that found your suite as well as the hotel facilities to be up to your standards. Our resort exudes an atmosphere of relaxation at any time of the year due to the layout of the buildings. There are enough sunbeds here for our guests and we recommend against the reservation of sunbeds as these are often left idle for very long by those who are not even using the swimming pool.

Sal is a great place to try watersports and our guests can enquire information about water related activities at the hotel. I hope that you will give us the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just back from this hotel, it is probably one of the best in the location. That said expect a windy experience, fierce sun and varied eating outcomes alongside poor house wine. Stick with the Pina coladas Service is good, staff very attentive, especially Guildo in the Grill. The rooms are very good, lots of space, a sitting area, large patio and 2 bedrooms and bathrooms plus 2 TVS ! Pool areas and overall styling is impressive. This is a new resort and you should manage your expectations accordingly. Santa Maria is a little town, scruffy round the edges with a few good bars and restaurants. Too many souvenir shops all selling the same! Taxis are plentiful and the beach is spacious and well positioned for the bar and sunsets. Not really a 5 star albeit some aspects might be, but overall worth a try if you want something just a little more experimental. It is a cross between the Med and Caribbean experiences. The price reflects the poor relationship to it's two more experienced well tried and trusted comparitors. Had a good time and glad of the experience.

Room Tip: By the pools and on the 1st floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Trevor H,


Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays with your friends and for having set aside some of your time to review our hotel.

It is a pleasure to perceive that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel infrastructure, the rooms and the staff service are all according to your standards. We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff especially Gildo, we have mentioned your feedback to him and he was very happy to hear from you again.

I am glad that you had a good time and I hope that you would not hesitate to recommend our hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Cape Verde. I also hope that you will give us the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

So sad to see such bad reviews about this hotel. Our room was a studio. 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Wow. very high quality, maid service every day. All inclusive drinks served in glasses, not plastic cups like some resorts. Max wait at any bar less than 5 mins. Beach bar served Steak, chicken, burgers, fish at lunchtime!!!! Had to wait sometimes as very popular. Give yr room no to Gildo and he tells you when table ready. Main restaurant had good choice of food, even near to closing time and fruit in abundance at breakfast lunch and dinner. Did not try al a carte ones as only there 1 week and food was good enough every day. Plenty of sun beds to go round, purposely walked round two pools at 8.30 and not a single towel on any lounger. Beach lovely but a bit windy at times, still plenty of loungers. Trish, Thompson rep very helpful, sorted our room change in less than an hour and got a sea view. Special mention to Jose, Steven and Agnelo (hope that's right spelling) the bar staff who stood out above all the rest, always smiling and excellent service from them, also one girl who I can't remember her name but we joked about being Stevan's Girlfriend was also very very good. I was so worried when I read the bad reviews, but on arrival my worries were dispelled. Welcome cocktail drink,smiling, friendly efficient reception staff. What more can you ask for. Don't know what some people expect from a Country that is so new to tourism and not yet discovered by the Russians. The bad reviews are so unfair. I would recommend this hotel for families , couples and honey mooners without any doubt. We even met an English couple with a 4 month old baby, who were delighted with this hotel. It's a no brainer.

Room Tip: Rooms next to reception are a bit noisy but this part of evening entertainment stopped at 10.30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denbo463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, Assistant of the General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear denbo463,


Thank you for having selected Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your holiday experience with us and fellow travelers through Tripadvisor.

From your review we are very pleased to perceive that you have had such a pleasurable stay at our hotel. We also would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, it will surely be shared with everyone and you can be certain that they will be very happy to hear from you again and even more motivated to keep up with their good work.

We appreciate each feedback that we receive from our guests as these are their personal opinions, each one of them is very important for us and taken into account for further improvement of our services. From our side we will continue with our effort to offer our guests the high quality service that they deserve and ensure that their satisfaction through a continuous quality control.

Once again we are grateful for you having recommended our hotel to future guests, we hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.


Kind regards,
Anna Landim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Cabo Verde Sal Resort
Hilton Cabo Verde Sal Resort
#15 of 20 in Santa Maria
120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
797 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range: $155 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing