We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Since I retired in 1998 we have stayed at many hotels around the world, including some of the” best” but our 3 week stay at Melia Totuga was the most relaxing and enjoyable. Very good food and friendly helpful service

We certainly plan, if possible, to return next year.

Room Tip: West facing rooms get the best sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Brian M,

Thank you kindly for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the trouble to share your opinion with us.

I’m very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, it is always nice to know that our guests have had a relaxing time with us.

It will certainly be a pleasure to have you again as our guests next year and greet you personally then.


Warm regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,399
    1,014
    433
    149
    81
See reviews for
931
1,592
30
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

just came back from Cape Verde Islands had a lovely time very relaxing and a great all inclusive hotel, great weather and the contant wind took the edge off the heat, we sun bathed on the beach as there are quite a lot of Germans/Scandinavians staying at the resort so most of the sunbeds around the pools were held ransom by towels just after dawn, which we were very happy with the only drawback was that the sea was too dangerous to swim in for the 5 days we were there but views were lovely.
Hotel has a Gym although very small and limited equipment especially when 25% of the machines were out of order so I went for a run each morning to make the most of the weather.
Food was good for a buffet style ate 2 nights in the pre-book restaurants really wouldnt bother as menu very limited.

Room Tip: one as near to the beach as possible as the local drum music on twice a week on the piaza outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear karen c,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

It’s nice to read that you have had a lovely relaxing time at our hotel. During this time of the year, depending on the weather condition, the sea could be rough, for this we place a red flag on the beach to warn our guests, unfortunately there is not much we can do with nature.

I have made note of your comments and feedback and will discuss this with my management team during our quality meetings.

I hope that you would return to visit us again the near future and enjoy some more relaxation under the sun.


Kind regads,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely relaxing holiday,6th March -13th,the weather could not have been better,constant breezes,you do have to use high factor lotions or suffer.The restaurants where really good, food was of a high standard as someone else has said odd meal a bit cool but was no problem,staff would amend this issue.Our favourite restaurant was Grille Bar on the beach staff again very happy crew, Daniel the head waiter so accommodating a star.Also Aqua Restaurant really good Italian cuisine and head waiter Hermeng'ldo excellent, made our night.In fact all the staff on resort where really pleasant & helpful, Hotel General managerJose Luis Cueves was always popping into different eateries, really nice to see him and his undermanagers available if you had any problems,worth the six hour cramped flight from Thompsons hopefully that has to change.Don't miss out on the sunsets on the patio in front of My Bar with really relaxing music with a beer or cocktail .Bliss

Room Tip: We had a south west facing junior suite two bedroom with kitchen on perimeter, sun was there between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear brianeddy,

After having read your review, I’m very pleased to know that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for your time in sharing this experience with us.

It is nice to know that the restaurants are up to your standards and thank you for your kind comments on our staff and on my management team. Here we strive to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one and we are always available to listen and assist any of our guests.

I’m already looking forward to another visit from you, hopefully very soon.


Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel Melia Tortuga is really perfect for holidays. I spent there some days and I was really satisfied. Rooms are clean and beautiful. Live music in a bar and some activities you can enjoy during whole stay. I can only recommend this nice hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear lilian n,

I appreciate you having elected our hotel for your holidays and you having taken the time to share this with us.
I’m glad that you were happy with your room and the daytime and evening entertainment.
Thank you once again for having recommended Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa to other fellow travellers. I will look forward for another visit from you in the near future.

Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just returned from staying here. Weather was lovely but as others have said the windy conditions did catch us out, will definitely take a higher factor next time. Food was lovely. Found having to order food hours before for Grille rather tedious but lunch there was amazing the view being picturesque. Aqua was an Italian/Mediterranean and we thoroughly enjoyed this. Spice had a good variety and the mousse was lovely. Although you can only have coffee in here in the mornings. Spice was quite hectic in mornings but if you went to waterside it was a much more peaceful breakfast. We had no problems getting a sun lounger and by the afternoon everyone was fighting for shade.
Amy was amazing as on arrival we had an infestation of ants and was moved to another apartment immediately.
All areas were very clean but my only concern was people smoking by the pool and as there were no ashtrays or bins they were leaving their cigarette ends on the floor!!!,
Jose made the best hot chocolate and he was very helpful and Hamilton made us some wonderful cocktails.
Would we return oh definitely. If you want somewhere to relax and chill out this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tishy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Trish H,

I appreciate you having elected Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and the time that you have taken to share your experience with us.

I’m quite pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the food was up to your standards. Dinner reservation is implemented to allow our guests a swift and personalised service.

There are bins at the swimming pool areas, it is a pity that some guests have forgotten to use them, and moreover the public areas are being constantly cleaned to ensure that everything is in an optimal condition.

I’m already looking forward to more future visits from you in the not too distant future and greet you personally next time.


Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a fabulous week. Food was wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Elisabete ( hope I spelt that correctly ) for introducing us to some good local wines. A walk on the beach is a must felt like we were the only couple there very romantic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMcCahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear LMcCahon,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

I’m very pleased to learn that you have had a fabulous week here and that the staffs were very friendly and helpful. I will surely forward your message to Elisabete who I’m sure will be very happy to hear from you.

I’m already looking forward for another visit from you, hopefully very soon.


Warm regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent two weeks at the hotel in February and thoroughly enjoyed escaping from the English winter which seems to be going on for ever! Quite a bit of wind the first week but this reduced to a cooling breeze, and no humidity. What I would describe as perfect English summer weather with temperatures up to around 29C during the day reducing to comfortable 18C at night and no need to use the air conditioning which is a blessing.
Excellent apartment accomodation, (two bedrooms, two bathrooms, lounge, large kitchen and balcony) great facilities,acceptable (but not cordon bleu) food at a range of restaurants and most enjoyable and varied entertainment.
This was our first experience of an 'all inclusive' break and it was wonderful to enjoy the very good local beer and a variety of cocktails (local wines and spirits) without having to reach into a pocket or sign chitties with all the practical issues that can create when settling accounts at the end of a holiday.
A very clean and fast developing island. The local town of Santa Maria is well worth a visit as is the trip around the island,
Not a huge amount to do other than to relax but if you want a relatively short flight (about 5 1/2 hours) with only a one hour time difference then Sal and this hotel have a lot going for it.
The hotel is rated 5 star but do not expect luxury Western style business standards or fine dining. The enthusiasm and demeanour of the staff plus the location and its facilities more than makes up for any deficiencies in my book.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geronimo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear geronimo001,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your review with us.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed your two weeks winter escape with us, it is also very pleasing to know that you were happy with your accommodation, the food and the entertainment. The all inclusive concept does allow our guests to just relax and let us take care of the rest for them.

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and our hotel, this gives us a motivation to keep up with the good work.

We hope that we can look forward to more visits from you in the near future.


Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
741 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,926 reviews
1.8 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing