We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic winter break”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just spent two weeks at the Melia Tortuga and had a great holiday. Friendly staff, good food, clean apartments with loads of space, some good live music at night - a fantastic first All Inclusive experience. If you want to spend your holiday relaxing, eating and drinking - this is the place to go. When we first arrived we noticed some minor problems with service but were pleased to see them all be rectified pretty quickly - the staff and management are definitely putting major effort into making this a great experience for their guests (especially F&B manager Kais). There's not loads to do on the island of Sal, but we were more than happy to make the most of the hotel facilities. You can walk back from Santa Maria along the beach and the day trip to the volcanic island of Fogo was definitely worth the money. Hopefully with all the developing holiday resorts on the island, Sal doesn't lose it's Cape Verdian identity. This really is a country (and hotel) worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ruth L,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to share your review with us.

It’s nice to read that you’ve had a great holiday with us, I’m glad that you were happy with the staff service, the room, the food, the cleanliness and the entertainment. I also thank you for your kind comments regarding our F&B Manager, who will be pleased to hear from you.

We strive to offer our guests the best quality service that they deserve and we always appreciate it when you give us a feedback on our services since it will give us an idea on how we can improve our services.

It’s also great that you took the opportunity to visit the volcanic island of Fogo, we are aware that the preservation of the culture and identity of Sal is very important and goes hand in hand with our commitment in developing a sustainable tourism.

I will look forward to your future visits to our hotel for some more relaxation and fun under the sun.


Sincerely yours,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    998
    430
    148
    81
See reviews for
902
1,586
30
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhenen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent a great week at the hotel and really enjoyed the place. We have been to Cape Verde multiple times and I can honestly say this is a great place to spent a quiet sunny holiday. The menu had a lot of variation and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Jerrroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Jerrroen,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your family holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to share your review with us.

It gives me a great satisfaction to know that you’ve spent a great week here and that you’ve enjoyed our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging our staff service, we take pride in our staffs friendliness and helpfulness and we will forward your message to them to serve as an incentive to keep working in the right direction.

I hope that I can look forward to receiving you and your family as our guests again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel divides opinion like no other I have visited. So , to be clear , we travelled as a couple expecting sun , a beach and a reasonable hotel. We knew from the price for this all inclusive stay meant that we were NOT going to the Ritz and to be fair we did not have kids to manage and please.
The weather was great 26C in January , and a beach 500 metres of clean sand. Our room was clean , comfortable and serviced properly. We used all four restaurants and each were very good. The Beach Grille was our favourite where the head man Daniel and his staff gave great service. At lunch you can get a Caesar salad and entrecote steak plus as much booze as you could wish for from staff that worked hard at a time when the hotel was 100% full.
The booking system for tables at night is easy enough to deal with too....you just ask in the bar in hotel reception !
We were impressed by the staff who were all locals and who had clearly been well trained.
This is an all inclusive hotel with a mainly european clientle , if you want exclusive this is not what is on offer. What you get is a hotel which tries very hard and largely succeeds at this level.we would recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for second floor rooms looking towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ahomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear ahomer1,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to share your opinion with us.

I’m very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your holidays here and that you were happy with your room, all the restaurants especially the OGrille and our staff service. Thank you for acknowledging Daniel and his staff at the OGrille, I’m sure that they will be happy to hear from you and your message will serve as a motivation for them to keep up with the good work.

All the comments and feedbacks from our guests are very important for us as they will also serve as guidelines on how to keep developing a service that ensures their complete satisfaction, which is our main aim.

Thank you for recommending our hotel, we hope that you will return to visit us again as we value greatly our loyal customers and I will look forward to greeting you personally during your next visit.


Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wittering
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in the Melia for a week just after new year as a family with one young child. First of all the good points. We loved our room it was a huge apartment with full facilities and the best room I have ever stayed in. Sadly there's not much else I can compliment, although the managers were friendly and lovely to see them around every day doing their job - very professional.
There were a few very friendly staff, but also many who seemed shy and unfriendly, mostly in the restaurants. In the restaurants it was very hit and miss if you were going to be offered a drink, sometimes nobody would come around, sometimes they would. We were shocked one morning we were up and had breakfast at 6.30 when it opened - nothing was ready! - we waited a few mintues, ate, then came back an hour later for seconds - the table we had first sat on was still a mess! There were only about 5 people in the restaurant!
We did not enjoy the food at all and felt very let down. The bread rolls were rock hard, would have been easy to give them 10 minutes in an oven before serving they would have been so much nicer. The puddings were terrible i didnt recognise what i was eating and very cheap quality. The main food, there was a variety but not good enough and i felt had not been prepared with much experience. Much of it was let go cold before being topped up. Anything 'Italian' was smothered in dried oregano and was absolutely disgusting!!!! Sometimes, meat dishes were lovely and tender, sometimes chewy and awful - again hit and miss. The sandwiches that are served by the beach are laughable - 5* no I do not think so!
There was not much for children, the kids club seemed like an added afterthought for the hotel and I thought it was a bit grubby, my child was too young to be left there and there was nothing else for him to do which was a shame.
Overall we are disappointed and were disappointed with Thomsons as well. If you are going to make the effort to travel 6 hours, you might as well make the effort to go to the Caribbean, you will get a more comfortable flight and a better experience. I just don't think Cape Verde is ready yet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosarios101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Rosarios101,

Thank you for having chosen Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa for your family vacation and for having taken the time to share your review with us.

I’m sorry to read that you were not happy with our restaurant service and our food. Most of the comments we receive from our guests are that our staff are friendly and helpful, therefore I’m surprised when a guest complains about the staff service. I understand that it is not easy to please all taste buds, we do our best to cater to all the international palates of our guests and most of our food is imported from Europe according to a high quality care and safety standard. I’m going to investigate into the matter and discuss it with the concerned department.

According to the company policy young children under 5 year old must be accompanied by a parent or guardian. There are a lot of activities designed for young children at the Kids Club, it’s a pity that you did not take advantage of this service.

I hope that you will change your mind about returning to visit us again in the near future and give us a chance to prove to you that we can ensure your complete satisfaction.

Sincerely yours,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Melia Tortuga for a week of winter sun and were not disappointed. Yes this is not 5star Caribbean or maybe not to the standard of some other Thomson Platinum hotels, however this is very much reflected in the price. The island is developing it's tourism business but it is very much in it's infancy. Having said that all the staff are very friendly and were always willing to help. At busy times the restaurants were full but so long as you waited to be seated by a member of staff you were subsequently looked after - barge your way through then you may get missed and have to wait for a table to be relayed. Hot food was hot and cold food was cold and it was of a good quality and what ever your tastes there would be something you would like and probably explains why there were burgers on at breakfast. Everyone we spoke to enjoyed their holiday and found it very relaxing. If you come expecting Magaluf or Playa de las Americas you will be disappointed but if you want a good quality hotel, friendly staff, on a great beach then look no further than Cape Verde and the Melia Tortuga

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Ruth P,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to review our hotel.

I’m glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our food and our restaurant service. We do our best to cater to all palates of our guests as your satisfaction is our main concern and our staff will do their best to ensure that you have a memorable stay at our hotel. Your comments and suggestions are highly valued as they will enable us to keep developing a high quality service.

I very much appreciate you having recommended our hotel and I will also look forward to welcoming and greeting you in your future visits.


Best regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

stayed at this resort which was privately rented from Mr Withey. The apartment was fantastic and was fully equipped with everything, and i mean everything we needed. The islands are still very up and coming but the people and staff at the resort were so friendly and helpful.
I was a bit unsure about renting privately at first but was not disappointed as taxis were easily accessible from the airport to resort. The hotel itself was fabulous, boasting fantastic pools and beaches. We could choose to go all inclusive or just have drinks packages. AI was well worth it even though we ventured outside the resort to Santa Maria which was a short and cheap taxi away. We also went on a few excursions through the Thomsons reps to see a bit of the island. We had a day on a catamaran which was brilliant and it did a full circle of the island. We also went on a Jeep safari which was a bit bumpy but again well worth the effort.
I wouldn't book through a travel agent again after experiencing booking privately. The cost ended up being much more value for money doing it the way we did.
I can't wait to revisit this island and resort and would recommend you look at the Owners direct website before you book through a travel agent. Look for Paul Withey as his apartments and villas are second to none!!! Thank you Paul

Room Tip: Middle of the resort is best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Tracy S,

Thank you sincerely for having shared your review about your stay with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and other fellow travelers.

It’s pleasant to read that you liked the island, thank you for having mentioned about our hotel, our service, the friendliness of our staff and our All Inclusive package. It will be a pleasure to hear from you again in the future, we are at your disposal for any information or assistance.


Kind regards,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I can honestly say this hotel is one of the worst managed hotels I have ever stayed in.
Myself my wife and 2 children stayed here in January on our honeymoon after staying at the Rui Tourage in Boa Vista the previous year, which we really enjoyed it!
I run my own catering company so the only real time we get off its a family is in January!
The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are excellent too.
Problems started when having a shower !
There is only enough hot water for 5 mins so it was like a military style operation trying to fit a family of 4 in the shower !
We reported this to reception and received a poor follow up and told they could not solve the problem.
Outside our room is the bin store with flies everywhere and a constant smell of raw sewage which we complained about and received a poor response from reception!
During the day the kids club is limited and I was dubious whether my child was being supervised after turning up and nobody being there on more than one occasion!
At night time there is nothing for children to do ! No disco no activities at all shocking!
The food and management of restaurants was the worst of all. My god sack the chef your a disaster my friend.
When we arrived at the restaurant you basically had to clear your own table and clean it as there just was not enough staff to do it!
There was no leadership and no management taking control of the flow of the restaurant.
When it got to the food it was poorly cooked, poor quality, dishes clearly not labelled and worst of all stone cold.
How can u serve roast chicken and beef burgers for breakfast it's beyond belief!!!
We went down to the grill one day and I saw the chef putting French fries in ramekins and burgers all laid up and no wonder it was cold it was like something out of the krypton factor!
Food should be simple tasty fresh and HOT why make work for yourself and above all make the customer wait 60 mins for a burger !!!
To you the manager who replies to comments on trip advisor don't bother this time!
Instead of doing so why don't you try and sort out the many problems at your hotel because you have so many !
By doing this you might find the future customers haven't wasted there money!
Tip of the day ! Sack the chef

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Respect123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortugaManager, General Manager at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Respect123,


Thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays with us at Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa and for having taken the time to share your review with us.

Your comments and feedback are very important for us as they will enable us to identify which aspects of our service need to be improved and adapted to cater to your needs.

In turn it is also very important for us to answer all our guests’ reviews, be it positive or negative, to demonstrate to you that we care about you and to give you our side of the story and feedback.

I’m very sad to read about the different points mentioned in your review, it’s a great pity that since you were discontented during your stay you did not try to contact me or any member of my management team to clarify some points or to rectify anything that was not right. We are always available to listen and to assist our guests in the best way that we can.

I have made note of your comments and will discuss this with my management team at our quality meeting. Nevertheless, please allow me to clarify each point to you:

- The hot water: because there are children in the room, the temperature is regulated at a safe level according to the local safety regulations.

- Our hotel grounds are cleaned several times during the day, there is a routine disinfestations procedure at our hotel and during this time of year with the lower temperatures, flies are not a problem.

- There is always someone in the Kids Club who is supervised directly by the entertainment manager. Our entertainment concept is soft entertainment, we do not offer club entertainment.

- There are attentive waiters at our restaurants at all times, during busy hours some patience is required from our guests.

- We are very proud to inform that we work with the best chefs in the island with over 20 years of experience in the international cuisine. All of our food are freshly prepared with the highest standard of hygiene and quality and controlled by the executive chef and the nutritionist.

- Our menu is primed to cater to the tastes of all of our international guests of any age group and we offer a personalized service as each one of our guests are very special for us. Please note that roast chicken is not part of our breakfast menu rotation.

Once again thank you kindly for your comments and feedback, I hope that I can persuade you to return and visit us again in the near future and allow us to give you the exclusive five star service that you deserve.


Sincerely yours,
Jose Luis Cuevas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,896 reviews
1.8 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Urbanizacao da Cabocan | ZDTI Ponta Preta, Cape Verde - Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Maria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Maria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 star Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive Resort is located in the southeast of the island Sal, only a few minutes from the colourful town Santa María and Amilcar Cabral international airport. During your stay you will find relaxation and fun right on the fabulous Algodoeiro beach, with its white sand and turquoise waters. The resort offers spectacular suites and villas with up to 4 bedrooms, private garden and swimming-pool. Set in gardens there are 2 magnificent adult pools and 2 pools for children. Experience Yhi Wellness with sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool, thermal circuit, fitness facilities, massage and beauty treatments. Dining options include a variety of 4 restaurants and bars, offering a selection of international and local cuisine. The Melia Tortuga All-Inclusive is also the perfect destination for windsurfing, kitesurfing or scuba diving. Events for up to 200 people can be organised in 2 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tortuga Beach Resort & Spa Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing