We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not expect much”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked a junior suite sea view. We got an apartment with no view at all, the balcony looking at the neighborhood building. It was placed on the 3rd floor (no elevator, narrow stairs). Bedroom and bathroom was on the second floor of the apartment (4th of the building). Inside the apartment stairs were even more steep and narrow, obviously all luggage had to be carried up as wardrobes were upstairs.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, but only managers (one of them Katharina - really pleasant) spoke English.
Internet was supposed to be available at the public areas, but it was very poor coverage and often it did not work at all. Public area was dark after 19 because the hotel was saving energy. There was no place outside to sit in the evening and I already mentioned the balcony. The ones that had "sea view" were not much better - I don't think you can see the sea from the hotel at all - it looks at the street with multiple taxis. If you decide to stay there, plan for your evenings as there is absolutely nothing to do at the hotel.
We saw a cockroach in the toilet.
Restaurant Bombay in the same building was ok Indian food alternative, inexpensive.
We wouldn't stay there again even if it was quite cheap.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the review, don't think it matters what side your room is on, but we had a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anavi52, Owner at Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
First of all we do apologise you not getting a sea view apartment, the majority of our apartments are sea view, but we have been having a lot of overbooking recently.
Regarding your suite being on the 3rd and 4th floor, there are only 2 floors in our apartotel. There are a few duplexes in the 2nd floor, which are more expensive. There are buildings with more than 2 floors in Santa Maria.
Please let us know which problems you encountered in our restaurant, as we would like to improve our service, facilities, and appreciate clients´ comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
11
35
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Despite locking the windows before leaving the bedroom, when I came back after having spend the day out, I found the windows opened and sign of robbery in my bedroom. I went to the police hoping for a document to transfer to my insurance. After 2 hours of interrogation, I asked for a copy of the report. The policeman didn't wanted to give me any copy and beat me with his
bludgeon. I have 2 visible marks on the body and one on the face.
I felt deeply insecure and did not received any support from the hotel staff.
Sad to admit that Santa Maria suffers from a highly corrupted police service. Beware of your belongings and if something happens better wait to get to the airport police to ask for robbery report.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank clementine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very dirty &filty & loud Hotel and that for 60 Euros at night ! Rooms are very dirty ,lamps are not working !
Kitchen is a joke , We hat dumping ground view from the Hotel as ouer nice Hotelview !
Company behind the hotel is working with chainsaws every morning at 7am !
Hotel has in the middel of the house no roof its called sun lounge ... but at nights when its windy and bowing all doors from the hotel are moving .. so it realy its very loud .
I hate Hotels for 8 Euro at night in Bangkok (K.S.Road ) wich where Cleaner as that 60 Euro Aqua Suites .
Location was the only good think about that Hotel !
Wifi is only working in front of the router ..we were lucky it was next to ouer door , everybody else were outside from the room in that so called sunlounge to can use Wifi .
No Pool No Gym !
That Hotel destroyed ouer holidays ..as we where in High Season found no other Hotel and we payed upfront !
Cant believe that anybody would stayed there a second time !
The Portug. Managerin should not only sit downstairs in the entryhall and do nothing she should check the rooms ...

Fazit.never again and i never saw a dirty hotel like this befor!

Ok i guess pictures says more an 1000 words !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noksukou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquamarinasuites, Manager at Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments firstly please accept my apologies for having had such a bad experience in our premises.
I would have liked to meet with you personally to discuss all the matters and use your valuable opinions to help us improve.
We will look into you email carefully, but from the majority of the comments we have had, it seems yours was an isolated case, so I will investigate to see what occurred in your visit, and to make sure that this dos not repeat itself.
As far as the facilities and prices, these match those we advertise.
From your comments we assume you will not stay with us again, but if you are ever in Sal we invite you to come and visit us, and hopefully we will be able to see together that these problems don't exist.
Once again please accept our sincere apologies for your not so happy stay.
Avinash Daswani
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here, being on a budget and wanting to be nearer to the centre of santa maria. It is well located to the local amenities without feeling in the middle of it all. The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a wonderful experience at Aquamarina Suites. I was looking for a nice hotel where you can relax, away from all the "All Inclusive Hotels" on Sal, Away från all the "noisy" tourists. I got a very nice apartment in two floors, 3 toilets, 2 bathrooms, room with twin beds and a room with king size bed.....all by myself! The breakfast is served in the room. You just have to arrange which time the breakfast has to be served (sometimes I slept too long, but then I just have to open the door and one of the maids came with breakfast). You have to make the coffee yourself and egg if you want and you can eat quietly by yourself and take your time. The hotel has its own Indian restaurant, which is fantastic (try some of their specialties). The only thing which was not so good (and it's not the hotel's fault), or you have to think of before traveling, is, that VISA is not that common on Cape Verde, så bring EUROS, even for the hotel As I said, it's not the hotel's fault. So if you want to get away from all the stress, get a good night's sleep and get away from all the stress you have in your every day life, I will warmly recommed Aquamarina Suites. Jens Willumsen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens_Willumsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location is amazing, and the personal touches make everything possible at this location. Price is also very competitive. Will definitely repeat.
Also the adjoining restaurant give a good and easy dining option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArBy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good hotel, double floor with 2 bedrooms and bathrooms. Kitchen large and abundant breakfast. The staff doesn't speak english well, but OK.
I recommend this hotel for all, but in particular for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Bonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontao
Hotel Pontao
#15 of 20 in Santa Maria
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#4 of 20 in Santa Maria
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odjo d'agua Hotel
Odjo d'agua Hotel
#11 of 20 in Santa Maria
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#6 of 20 in Santa Maria
2,473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 20 in Santa Maria
1,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 20 in Santa Maria
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection

Property: Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
Address: Rua 1 de Junho 175 | Santa Maria, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 123, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally, in the very heart of the Atlantic Ocean lies an enchanting place that will make you live quite an experience: Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection. On the Macaronesian island of Sal (Portuguese for “salt”) in Cape Verde, we find this resort that doubtlessly is a dreamy location to relax and get lost. Surrounded by an astonishing landscape, Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection disposes of 23 cozy rooms and a restaurant. The interior design evokes the sea: the decoration follows the zen lines with oriental elements, so that you can find the peace and the harmony to fully enjoy your vacations. Naturally, the charming indoor patio is the place to rest in the comfortable furnishing while the sunlight reaches you from above. Located in the fishing town of Santa María, Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection is not only one step away from the paradisiacal waters, but also in a touristic enclave offering a great gastronomic choice and leisure activities. As the inhabitants of this exceptional island, this is how our staff is: hospitality and naturalness are the essence of the service and the treat we offer you. Spectacular views and a lovely location: this is all you need to enjoy a perfect vacation on a piece of Africa in the middle of the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing