We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you've got to treat yourself”

Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 68 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chic and comfortable, the Leonardo Cafe can give its customers the taste the flavor of "made in Italy". Located in the center of Santa Maria a few steps from the sea, you'll enjoyintimate and relaxing atmosphere for lunch and dinner, with a wide range of wines. With these words Leonardo da Vinci referred to his hometown and to the areas on the hills of Montalbano where the land yields genuine products and good will.Here, where hills, villages, priories, villas and farmhouses are surroundedby vineyards and olive groves, the presence of the Great Genius can still be felt.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sometimes you've got to treat yourself”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Being on Sal for a while makes you long to some good European food. After all.. everyday chicken and chicken is just a bit boring. So one of the last days I went with some good company to Leonardo Cafe for a long and nice dinning. Make a reservation because it's always full. I had a tree course mail which was really really nice. When you compare the food, please compare it to the food on Sal and not to a star restaurant back on the mainland in Italy or something.
Everything was fresh and had nice flavors, the service and staff were friendly and helpful. The portions were good. I think the food is a bit expensive, but you're on an Island so i can live with the price/quality. I would go here again with good company and for a special occasion, don't look at the bill and just enjoy your food!

+ nice atmosphere, good food, quality, service
- you have to pay for it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    174
    87
    52
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The setting is very nice, but the food was a dissapointment and so was the service. The waitress didn't understand english but pretended she understood what we were saying. Not once we were asked if we were enjoying our meal while it was clear we didn't. Conclusion: pretentious

Helpful?
Thank NielsKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth visiting even if you are 'all inclusive'”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Having booked an 'all inclusive' holiday in Sal I was apprehensive about visiting a restaurant in Santa Maria and paying, however I'm glad that the wife and I did visit Leonardo's. Although a bit plain on the outside once you enter the decoration and friendly staff are a delight, seated in a quiet corner we were offered a glass of white wine each while we consulted the menu. The food was excellent and filling, after a starter and main course there was no room left to try a desert. The cost of €100 for the two courses and a bottle of chianti was well worth it and we will be going back again before we leave Sal at the end of our holiday.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reborn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was a fabulous restaurant - knowledgeable staff excellent food. Great pizza as well as great choice of fish and meat.
Mid price range

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangbrook
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not sure how long this has been in Santa Maria but we've never seen it before. It is down a side street so if you're looking for it, it's well signed; you won't just happen upon it.

I must admit to being a couple of bottles of wine the wrong side of sober when we are here but reception, service and food were excellent. I ate everyone's left over pizza so tried most types and the fish I ate was perfect.

Setting and ambience are superb.

One of the best on the island.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dave_hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardocafe, Proprietario at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We wait you to another holiday in Cape Verde and another fantastic dinner at Leonardo Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing