We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 77 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chic and comfortable, the Leonardo Cafe can give its customers the taste the flavor of "made in Italy". Located in the center of Santa Maria a few steps from the sea, you'll enjoyintimate and relaxing atmosphere for lunch and dinner, with a wide range of wines. With these words Leonardo da Vinci referred to his hometown and to the areas on the hills of Montalbano where the land yields genuine products and good will.Here, where hills, villages, priories, villas and farmhouses are surroundedby vineyards and olive groves, the presence of the Great Genius can still be felt.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere. Try the seafood risotto, the seafood spaghetti and the tempura prawns - gorgeous!!

Thank Elspeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardocafe, Proprietario at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in Leonardo Cafe!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 608 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We saved this place until our last night because we saw that it was a bit more expensive than other places in Sal but we had also heard good things about it. Whilst the food at Leonardo's was very good and the restaurant had a great atmosphere, particularly upstairs, we felt that the prices were a little too high for the quality of food we were served and would have to say it wasn't great value for money. Having said that, it was a nice treat to spend our last night in this beautiful restaurant with good food (just try not to think about the bill!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank selcouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardocafe, Proprietario at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.
We guarantee that our prices are average in Santa Maria.
We hope to welcome you again in Leonardo Cafe!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good service, italian food but you feel more like in europe not in Africa. We would not come back to this restaurant

Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardocafe, Proprietario at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in Leonardo Cafe!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had never been there before despite several visits to Sal, as I thought it might be too formal, and maybe a bit expensive..

We, 2 of us, had just come back from a trimaran trip to Boa Vista, (will probably review this as it was great), so we were very casual in shorts, tee shirts, and clutching plastic bags full of swimwear etc. However, the staff were very welcoming and we reserved a table for an hour's time to go and slake our thirst in a local bar.. :)

On our return we were shown to our table upstairs which had a nice atmosphere.. The manager said it would be cooler, and, being low season, the downstairs area was not being used that night, a Wednesday.. The clientele did vary from the smart to the casual, but we didn't feel out of place..

The food and wine were excellent, tempura prawns and clams for starters, and we both had the fillet steak, which was cooked perfectly to both our tastes. As we had had a couple of beers we didn't want a full bottle of wine and we were able to be served a half bottle of excellent Chianti.

All in all a very good first impression, and as the cost was European equivalent, imo, not too outrageous..

We will definitely be back..!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SunnySalVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardocafe, Proprietario at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback..
We hope to welcome you again in Leonardo Cafe!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A bit of a treat as a touch more expensive then most other restaurants but was certainly worth it,the seafood risotto for a starter was the best starter i had during my 2 week stay,
Beautiful venue to boot.

Thank ianjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardocafe, Proprietario at Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback.
We guarantee that our prices are average in Santa Maria.
We hope to welcome you again in Leonardo Cafe!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Leonardo Cafe Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing