We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bailey's Cafe Bar

Bailey's Cafe Bar
Ranked #27 of 68 Restaurants in Santa Maria
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

A very nice family bar and restaurant especially if you're from the UK and feeling a bit homesick. Worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    100
    49
    33
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Helpful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Landed in Baileys Cafe after having a very bad back.
Manager so helpful - he even helped my husband try and explain to the local shop assistant next door that he needed some Iburophen, which he kindly bought for us and simply added to our bill.
Had large coffee, a main meal and sugary desert - just what Doctor ordered.
Thank you.

Cape Verde isn't cheap, and if you want a Cafe type experience, meal (wide choice of food) and a drink that won't break the Bank, plus get free internet connection, this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HandN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not recommended, very bad Pizza!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Were were on Sal for ten days, and had the worst of our dinners in Bailey's. The seating is not too neat, yet nice enough so that we gave it a try. The Shrimps in honey sauce were richt in fat but quite okay, but the Pizza was close to disguting. There are much better eateries in the close neighborhood!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aranjaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The bar man was superb nothing too much bother think he was the manager scouse dave they called him
Also food was good quality and reasonal priced english talking and very family friendly i will go back many times to sample the delights of baileys

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salsaqueen1969
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Felt Invisible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I thought the 'Manager/owner' very rude!!...On the few occasions my partner & I went there he didn't even acknowledge us...not the attitude to take when it's your own business I would think? It's also put about that it's a 'free WiFi bar'....Mmmm yeah well I didn't think the drinks were that cheap so maybe that's were their getting the money to pay for the 'free WiFi'?!?!

I felt it was very 'clicky' ie. if your faced fitted in you where given the managers undivided attention!

On a PLUS though I really did enjoy 'Silky Bev' who was the entertainer on the nights that we were there, a very talented, friendly & pleasant lady...unlike the manager!! :0(((

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsaqueen1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Cafe Bar also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Bailey's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing