We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta
Ranked #7 of 13 Santa Maria B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want a huge hotel with a dozen swimming pools, entertainment staff and all-you-can-eat buffets the Sabura is not the hotel for you - try the Riu across the road! There is not a lot going on at the hotel but the rooms were a good size, beds were comfortable enough (and clean), the breakfast was good and its a two minute walk to ponta preta beach, or a 2 euro taxi into town. Moreover, the hotel manager could not have been more sympathetic and helpful when we had some money stolen in town one night (very unlucky, this is not a common occurrence on the island). All in all if, like us, a hotel serves simply as a place to lay your head at night after exploring the island/ laying on the beach during the day, then the Sabura is an excellent choice and offers great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank selcouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    17
    13
    12
See reviews for
4
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is isolated and surrounded by scrubland and uneven terrain. The beautiful sandy beach and turquoise sea are a good 20 minute trudge away and there is no direct route. The Riu group of hotels opposite which are on the beach are out of bounds. The town of Santa Maria is a 5 minute (3 euro) taxi ride away and are willingly ordered by Reception staff. There are a few nice places to eat/drink in town, and wonderful Italian icecream bar. There is nothing to do or see at the hotel. The shallow swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi were out of order for most of our stay. For the first 3 days we had no communal sitting area, bar, or access to mid morning and mid afternoon refreshments, despite being on an All Inclusive holiday. The hotel does NOT change any currency, even to split a high denomination CVE for tipping the staff. The room was basic and cleaned regularly, usually in the afternoon. Our bed was very comfortable. Most of the staff spoke English, and though it was limited were friendly and helpful. The food was cooked on site and was appetising with good sized helpings. There was also a Snack alternative. The worst part of the holiday was the isolated position of the hotel, but the best part was the weather!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just returned from hotel Sabura in Santa Maria Cape verde .the staff great .nice and quiet .very clean .food great bit slow serving .weather and beach fantastic.When we decided to book we wanted somewere different .all inclusive but not buffet style .although the hotel sabura in sal cape verde was only classed as a 3 star the small number of rooms and waiter service was just what we were looking for and in that respect exceeded are expections

Room Tip: rooms on ground floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

i found this hotel really nice, very close to the beach which was amazing. The staff are always really helpful and always had a smile on their face. It was always clean but the only problems i had with the hotel was that the beds were not the best, i found it hard to get a good night sleep due to the pillows and also i didnt like the balcony that faced everybody else's balconies. Nice bar upstairs and even had a nice pool table. Oh yeah, the TV was really bad, scrolling pictures.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viren666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a lovely time. Rooms very clean. Problems with swimming pool/jacuzzi whilst we were there. However, who wants this when you can have clear azure blue sea to swim in. Bar man very friendly. Kiosk (Tourist info) near communications office in town of Santa Maria is best place to get hired cars, trips from. English lady works here and she is very helpful. We were told that the hotel changed currency but when our friends asked the receptionist said they did not. No plugs in bathroom but two wash basins, bidet, bath with overhead shower and toilet in our room. We asked reception for a plug but they said 'no'. Got the feeling they didn't speak good English. The barman speaks good English. We went all inclusive but the restaurant closes 10am to 11.30am so you need to take a bottle of coke or something with you after breakfast. Hotel 10 mins walk from sea and 20 mins walk from town. Roads not very busy and the roads south of the capital become sand tracks. Be careful here not to get stuck in the sand. Sand covers the whole island which can be seen in less than a day in a hired car. Great island for a chill out but not much to see. Staff in restaurant and bar very attentive but the guy in the bar gets our vote for making the holiday special.

Room Tip: All rooms face the swimming pool and most are overlooked from opposite. one or two in the corner are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LornaB980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Thought I would try Cape Verde rather than the usual choice of the Canaries and loved this island. Hotel Sabura is a lovely little and very quiet boutique style hotel, I often found myself alone around two swimming pools. The food was absolutely fine, I was worried about this reading other revues. There is bacon at breakfast you just need to ask and they never ran out of food and there is water in the mni bar, the mini bar is free if you are all inclusive. Totally spotless the cleaners scrub the place I have never seen a cleaner hotel. It was a little way out of Santa Maria 3 Euros in a taxi or 20 minute walk. Either way no big deal, I did it and I am on sticks. If you like big and busy then there is a big hotel across the road. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is a great guy that runs the bar upstairs. My only regret is having to come home, would I go back...absolutely. Scott

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottG854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
181 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Sabura on Sal. The hotel is an affordable choice for those who have to be in Sal. We decided to visit Cape Verde and our best choice and connection was to fly into Sal from New York--hence Sal. The island is ugly and does not offer neither cultural diversity nor natural beauty. The weather is nice but the water is too rough to swim--at least at this time of year, nor are the beaches inviting--certainly if you compare them to Florida. The Sabura is in a desolate, isolated location about 10-15 minutes to the town center. The hotel is across the huge RIU chain package vacation hotel. Like the Riu, the Sabura serves mainly package tour tourists plus some business travelers (TUI Belgium stations its flight crew at the hotel). While we were in the hotel, we encountered mostly package tourists from the UK, Poland, and Germany, some Dutch, some French, more of an older crowd. The people are very pleasant and quite. Overall, we got three good nights of sleep. There is no entertainment or animation but we picked this hotel particularly for that reason. The pool is clean but it was too cold to swim.
Santa Maria is obviously caught in the economic downscale and building skeletons are everywhere. The lots immediately adjacent to the hotel are empty. There is no construction noise, but the area won't win any architecture awards either--see photo.
The rooms are nicely appointed and very clean. Overall, the hotel is very clean, that includes public spaces. The buffet breakfast is adequate and the food is presented in a very appetizing way. While we were at the hotel, we did not encounter any mosquitoes and only very few flies. I read reviews about people getting sick from the food. While we were there, the food was handled in a sanitary way and always looked fresh--we only had breakfast and were not on an AI basis.
The check-in was slow--certainly after a 11 hour flight and a 14 hour lay over from New York. The staff are professional and do their best, even speaking in English.
Overall, the hotel is a nice stop over for visitors who will continue their travels through Cape Verde. As a vacation destination for Americans, the hotel, nor the location are attractive. But it allows for a gentile introduction to other islands. There are hardly any barking stray dogs that will keep you awake all night like in Mindelo. For those with money to burn, the Morabeza seems to be a better choice: closer to town, directly on the beach, and true luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSonntag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
2,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,870 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
1,687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta

Property: Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta
Address: Urbanizacao de Ponta Preta 2E, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sabura Ponta Preta Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing