We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Antigo Residence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

After 8 hours of travel we arrived at 12.00 at the reception of the hotel. The people were very unfriendly and did not want to help us further and we were referred to come back later in the afternoon for check-in. Other issues were:
- worn-out matrasses
- water supply (or toilet and shower) cuts
- electricity cuts
- no towels replaced for a whole week
- no sheets replaced for a whole week
- terrible noise from the street during night (until 2 AM)
- no WIFI
- no room service
- no phone to reception (in case of issues walk of about 800m)
- no fitness

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vorsy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portoantigo, Direttore at Porto Antigo Residence, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for your review.
I am sorry that your experience at our hotel was not positive, but there are some things I'd like to clarify.I do not know if you have assessed the rudeness of the staff because they could not get settled in the room earlier than expected, but, as in all the hotels in the world, the ceck-in is at 14:00. In this period of high season it is impossible to anticipate it!Normally we change the sheets and towels in the middle of week, I asked our housekeeper and she confirmed that they were also replaced to you. If not, I apologize for the inconvenience.The WI FI is available for a fee, I do not understand why you say that there is not.Regarding the noise we can not do anything .... it is a tourist island where people come to have fun too!
For your other complaints please accept our apologies and the promise that we are working very hard to try to improve our services. thanks best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    102
    49
    15
    11
See reviews for
57
101
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent position ,but apartment is a bit tired needs attention ,old fashioned television ,shower screen broken no cushions for pool beds available so we did not use the pool as the beds were wooden and very uncomfortable, cleaner very helpfull

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portoantigo, Direttore at Porto Antigo Residence, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Customer, Thank you for your review.
I understand, however, that you have not booked your holiday with us, because we have maintenance staff to fix the breaks in the apartments, and we have mattresses with our brand (Hotel Porto Antigo Residence) to put in the pool chairs.
I'm sorry that your experience was not positive, but as Porto Antigo Service we are working hard to provide the best services to our customers
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheadle hulme
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked 2 apartments on Port Antigo 2 with Paul Joos from Belgum.
We were moved at the last minute due to his double booking,ended up for the last 3 days overlooking the back street when we payed for sea view !!
People arrived saying they were booked in to our apartment on the second week.
Sheets were still wet on arrival had to get them dry before we could make our beds.
There was no reply from Paul to any of our problems after several texts & emails.He had arleady banked our £2,000 rental.


Baby cot broken
NO gas for 3 days which we needed to cook for the 2 babies.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CheadleHulmeHenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen area-Holland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed there the last 2 weeks of january. Porto Antigo 1 and 3 is what you see here on the picture. Nr. 2 is a little bit further along the beach. Very nice complec with all kinds of different appartements (each of them owned by different owners, so every appartment is unic). On the street side there (17.1) we stayed one week. nice appartment but no sun and a lot of wind. After one week we moved tot 55, ground floor. No sun either but out of the wind. The staff is very helpfull, there is a nice atmosphere. The appartements are basic , spacey, clean and reasonably for kitchen equipement (better the the Greek kitchenettes). Some suggestions for the owners:
* nice pool but too much chemicals in it.
* you need more and better parasols at the pool
* at the beach you need a better quality of chairs
* you should change towels twide a week in stead of once.

the hotel is near restaurants and pubs and near the bakery. Santa Maria itself is only 3 streets of restaurants and pubs and some shops (most african stuff) and on each corner a mini-market with not much choice. Wine is 9 euro per bottle in the minimarket and about 12-22 per bottle in a restaurant. Good restaurants are: Le Pastis (only 11 tables for 2 persons, they work in two shifts, reservation is necessary).



There is not much (nothing in fact) to do on the island but surf, kite surf and fishing. The sea can be rather wild. Sunbathing van be done. Not much to do for kids from 8-16.

Room Tip: prefer out of the wind and maybe on the second floor (otherwise everubody is walking in front of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanB9627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portoantigo, Direttore at Porto Antigo Residence, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear customer staff of Hotel Porto Antigo Residence thanks you for your review and for the appreciation of our Hotel.
Thank you also for the tips that you give us to improve our services:
-With regard to umbrellas, we have and also beautiful, the problem is that there is a strong wind during this period, as surely you have seen. From April onwards, we can put all kinds of umbrellas.
-We bought a lot of new chairs for the beach, unfortunately break easily, not for bad quality, but, unfortunately, also for due to the use disrespectfully that make some customers.
-Regarding the change of towels 2 times a week: this is an island where there is no water, the water is all that is desalinated with the exorbitant costs. So our choice is to try to preserve as much as possible an asset that is valuable to mankind.
Thank you again for choosing our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This apartment complex is in the best location in santa maria,we stayed in PA 2, not too close to the bars and resturants but still only a 5 min stroll to town.It is located directly on the beach and most of the rooms have a sea view.the only reason it didn't get 5 stars was that the rooms were a little tired and needed a few quid spending on them,nothing mega but little annoying things like drawer fronts coming off when you opened the drawer.
the town itself is fantastic if you dont want night clubs and corden bleu meals, the islands much used motto is "no stress" and that is exactly what you get, just a polite no will usually get rid of the many lucky lucky men and after a couple of days they seem to know not to harrass you.
All in all a fantastic peacefull holiday on a fairly unspoiled island that could well be in the carribean.
I SHALL RETURN !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bean1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the hotel this summer and its location.

I would recommend this location in order to be in the middle of all - large, small and medium hotels and all activities. It is good for couples as well as families with children.

It is very clean, cozy and safe with security onsite. You also enjoy have lots of dining choices around the hotel from Italian family restaurant to Capeverdeans restaurants - not to mention pool and beach at "your feet".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRFVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently returned from a week in Porto Antigo 1, Villa 28 and we can't wait to return. Ideally suited for families, my children 11 and 9 had a fantastic time either in the sea, on the beach or in the pool, they loved fishing from the tiny harbour wall that makes the beach at Porto Antigo 1 so safe for them. In April the wind was average but always there although this just served to keep you at a comfortable temperature both night and day (sun still very strong though). Perfect access for the small town of Santa Maria and abundant restaurants serving fantastic local cuisine, see my review for the Hungry Frog and I can also highly recommend the "bbq restaurant". Most places we ate seemed to be very good value for money especially if you stuck to the the local dishes etc.
Blinky of Blinky tours is well worth a look up (she's on facebook!) she is a font of all knowledge when it comes to restaurants, places to visit etc, we were met on our arrival at the airport and accompanied to our villa, we then met up the next evening for a tour of the places to see and eat in Santa Maria. She was on hand for any questions we had, arranged our fantastic day long boat trip and if we had had any would have sorted out any problems for us.
Villa 28, is clean and basic, and we really weren't looking for anything else. The villas/condos from looking further into it, are all pretty much furnished the same, same sofa beds, same beds same wardrobes etc, the kitchens seem to be all kitted out the same also, with fridge and hob etc but no microwave or over if this is what you pariticularly want, as it happens we were so happy with the variety of restaurants it didn't matter to us at all. The villa was slightly tired in places but any problems were quickly fixed, perhaps enough dining chairs for 6 would be handy as would a couple of some basic sunbed mattresses for around the pool please.
All in all, I would recommend both Villa 28 and Porto Antigo for your first trip to Cape Verde, I'm sure like us it won't be your last.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TA1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
1.2 mi away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Antigo Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Antigo Residence

Property: Porto Antigo Residence
Address: Rua 15 Agosto | Santa Maria Ilha Do Sal, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porto Antigo Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Antigo Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Antigo Residence Hotel Santa Maria
Porto Antigo Residence Cape Verde/Ilha Do Sal - Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing