We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restraurent on Santa maria”

Americo's Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 93 Restaurants in Ilha do Sal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best restraurent on Santa maria”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Felt staff made extra effort, were trained to european standards in service, food was excellent( twice we visited) steak on stone plate was 10/10!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Westham64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    70
    31
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STEAMED LOBSTER”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We wanted to have lobster once as a treat and so researched all the restaurants and spoke to a local who recommended the steamed not grilled as this can be dry. The lobster was very reasonably priced and we were not disappointed with the food. We all ordered a different fish dish and then had a swap round, everything was cooked to perfection. We would have returned but we came on our last night!! Do give it a try. It's on the main street with a large wooden chef with a serving dish at the front, looks a little scruffy but wait until you go upstairs, linen table clothes, excellent food and service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_MChook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Fried Lobster”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stopped over here for a late lunch and decided to avoid the menu at the RIU for a change. It's very simple: The fried lobster is amazing over here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvSchetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upstairs Dining”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Enjoyed this place very much. We were upstairs in an open air restaurant. Lots of Seafood to choose from ,fresh and excellent quality. Don't be put off by the rather Spartan ground floor or you will miss a treat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
African Kid in England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The fillet steak was succulent and well presented. The staff were well presented. The venue comfortable in the warm conditions.Overall a very good experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank global23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americo's Restaurant also viewed

Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Americo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing