We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place in a place witout many alternatives”
Review of Xaguate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xaguate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fogo
Reviewed March 18, 2013

fairly well located in town, walking distance from downtown historic Fogo, with fascinating views of islands in front. Rooms are fine and have great balconies. Restaurant and bar are fine but service is slow. All inclusive package should have included wifi which was problemtic to access in only parts of a dark reception.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Report on the Hotel Xaguate ****, Fogo Island, Cabo Verde


1. Stay in the hotel: March 30 to April 11, 2012
2. Recommendation and reservation: Agency Krioula, Praia, Santiago
3. Payment in advance (half board; no option for change)
4. Observation
a. Management:
• The lady director is not a professional, has no education and does not behave correctly. She does not accept any observation and does not understand foreign languages: it is impossible to have an effective dialogue with her – neither in English, French, Spanish, Italian nor in German; and when she feels guilty, she speaks rapidly Portuguese so that nobody can understand her;
• The director does not undertake any measure to contribute to the satisfaction of the hotel’s guests – indeed she is not interested at all in the wellbeing of her guests. The director is just here to cash – nothing else! Once she replied “If you are not satisfied, you can change the hotel”;
• The red leaflet “Hotel Xaguate***” is a lie and does not reflect the reality;
b. Security:
• Once during the night it was observed that the guardian was not in the hotel and that all doors were closed with a key: it was impossible to open any door! What would have happened in case of fire? The attention of the director was drawn on this severe problem. The answer was: ”No problem, in that case, break a window or the door”;
c. Food:
1) The food is very bad – the breakfast is miserable, lunch and dinner card offer a very poor choice as many of the proposed items are indeed not available: there is no F&B manager in this hotel. All products are deep frozen or from the tin (fruit salad, shrimps, meet and fish dishes);
2) The cook is totally incompetent and cooks with a very bad oil; the smell coming up from the kitchen is horrible,
3) There are different regimes. Some guest receive fruits, others not (for instance, during 10 days there was no banana available).

It seems indeed that everybody on the island knows that this hotel is crazy and should be avoided at any price, but nothing happens.

5. Conclusion
a. For the security services (Police and Firemen): I suggest the closure of the hotel in order to protect the life of guests, till all appropriate steps and necessary safety measures are implemented;
b. For the Ministry of tourism: I recommend to scrutinize carefully the management of the hotel and impose appropriate quality management improvements. The travel agent Aliança Krioula is not trustworthy: it has to be put under a strict control;
c. For travel agencies: avoid this hotel at any price and cost, until fundamental changes have occurred – among others change of the actual management. Avoid also Aliança Krioula.





Jean-Daniel Clavel, PhD
Professor &
International consultant

Room Tip: Choose a room in front of the pool No fitness center!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jean-daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Not much competition on Fogo for Xaguate hotel. However, they do not take this to mean that they can lower standards. The hotel is small and modern, and has internet access. The views to the other islands and sunsets from the pool side rooms are fantastic. We had dinner in the hotel which the staff served with great enthusiasm, not the best food in the world but very acceptable.
I have submitted a few photos (sunset & pool included) taken from my room.

Room Tip: Pool/sea/ islands facing rooms are unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mudgedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The view from the pool at sunset is amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We only had 2 nights here (and spent our one day on a trip to the Volcano) but it was fine. It was a shame we didn't get to use the pool (which looked good). The service was variable - the first night and breakfast it was good - the second night (with a different member of staff) it wasn't. Similarly with the food - varied between good and "not as described". The staff seemed to have minimal English but some were helpful. You couldn't take a phone call in the room but had to go to Reception to take an outside call. We didn't try the internet access. Our room was OK (though fairly small) but the balcony was of a reasonable size and quite sheltered from the wind so a good additional space.

There really isn't much choice on Fogo but this is a reasonable option - as long as you don't want a bar which is open in the evening and any entertainment. We didn't get the chance to walk into town to look at the other places to eat and drink so can't comment on that but Fogo had a charming "feel" to it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I would not call this hotel a 4-star by any stretch of the imagination. This hotel comes with an excellent view of the ocean and a great hotel area. The hotel comes with internet access in the lobby area. You should note that service is not available all times of the night. The hotel lobby actually shutdown after 11.(When we saw our first roach.) We just took care of the problem. None of the employees really understand English or French. Hopefully, you speak Creole or Portuguese. The manager did speak English.
As for the rooms. They will give you an excellent view, but cleanliness was a bit of a problem. We had quite a bit of insects in our room. It started out with an ant problem that got bigger and bigger as our stay went on. Luckily we spent most of the time out of the room. We also ran into a lot of spiders and a couple of roaches. The cable late at night does not work. Not sure why. You can't call the front desk to fix it, so...
The food is not very good. Cape Verde is known for their tuna, but we were served tuna fish out of a can. Breakfast was mediocre at best. There are not many options on the island, so we ate the food. The kitchen also closes at 11pm.
I was surprised by the ratings. I actually felt like the staff tried their best, but it just was not four star quality. The aesthetics are the best part of the hotel, but it can be found wanting in many categories.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kscorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I have seen some reviews about the Xaguate Hotel and I cannot believe it is the same hotel I just visited a little less than 2 weeks ago. Those must have been written before the change in management that I understand took place maybe a year or two ago.

I am a well-seasoned world traveler. I have stayed at 5-star hotels and those that pretend to be 5-star. The XaguateHotel is nearly a 4-star hotel and worth every star. It is anything but pretentious.

The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. The bathrooms are large and modern and there is hot running water for a really relaxing shower.

The restaurant was excellent. There is a large choice of selections on the menu to suite most tastes including vegetarian dishes plus any meal made to order (if you give advance notice). Try the Pudim de Cafe desert ... it is to die for. It is a combination of the traditional Cape Verdean pudim (pudding) with the excellent and flavorful local coffee Cafe de Fogo.

And be sure you spend some time in the pool. The pool is spotlessly clean, the pool deck is huge, and there is a pool bar where you can order drinks. But the best feature of all is the exceptional view from the pool ... apart from the view from near the top of the Volcano, the view from the pool deck at the Xaguate is one of the best on the island. If you are honeymooning, you will probably spend a lot of sunsets here! LOL.

Finally, if you are particular about conservation and you are a clean-energy buff, you will appreciate the efforts they make at the hotel to save energy and to tap solar power.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Worldwidetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fogo
13.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Cruz Grande
#1 of 2 in Nova Sintra
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Ponta do Sol
Residencial Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Grande
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Bell
Hotel Blue Bell
#1 of 1 in Ponta Do Sol
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 mi away
Quinta da Montanha Hotel
Quinta da Montanha Hotel
#6 of 17 in Santiago
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Casas Do Sol
Casas Do Sol
#2 of 13 in Sao Filipe
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaguate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaguate Hotel

Address: CP 47, Xaguate, Fogo, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Fogo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fogo
Price Range: $97 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xaguate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xaguate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaguate Hotel Fogo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing