We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and beautiful”
Review of Casa Velha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Velha Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Casa Velha is a great place to spend your holiday in Boa Vista. We were in the penthouse apartment, which has a great roof terrace with sea-view. The accommodation is clean, well designed and the manager (Michela) organized trips and gave tips for good restaurants. All staff is very friendly, though some hardly speak English. Breakfast consists of dairy and bread with ham, cheese and fruit with as much coffee as you like :-). Only point to improve is that there is not much variation, no things like tomato, cucumber or eggs available. The beds were comfortable. Shower/bathroom fine, water runs cold after a while (which is not a problem really). Fully equipped kitchen. Atmosphere is very relaxed.
Location is walking distance from the sea and beach (<5 min) with about 5 beach-bars close by. Sal Rei is walking distance (5-10 min).

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank Lennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Casa Velha is a stunning place. Everything is at its right place.
The best part: the beautiful peaceful interior patio, perfect to read a book, drink a coffee and hang out with birds.
The beach and surf clubs are just a short walk away and the staff is friendly and they make the best butter cookies.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Vesna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Casa Velha was a really good place to be. Simple but clean accommodation with friendly staff. The appartment was equiped quite well, we missed only the detergencies and towels for the dish washing. The Casa Velha is only some hundred meters from Sal Rai with some nice restaurants and only hundred meters from a nice beach. Only drawback is the rubbish around the hotel (which is in fact a problem of most areas on Cabo Verde). We enjoyed our time in Casa Velha very much away from the big hotels further down the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ThoRa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

What's not to love about this place, this island and it's beautiful people?

We've been to Boa Vista 4 times now, in 2 years, just returned. Casa Velha, located a stone's throw from the stunning Estoril and Chaves Beaches with their smattering of laid back beach bars and cool surfer dudes, is always our first choice in Boa Vista.

We are welcomed like old friends to this elegant place, beautifully designed and staffed by the loveliest people. They work hard to make your stay perfect, whether it's mixing a killer cocktail (Otaldina you know what I am talking about!), arranging an activity or making a dinner recommendation, nothing's too much. And smiles all the way!

Locally try Alisios for GREAT food, wild Mojito's and the coolest staff in Sal Rei. Marcos, Victor and Ailine rock!! Ca Luisa does fantastic pizza...the best outside of Napoli! Morebeza has a great vibe, and great tunes, set in the dunes. And Blu Marlin in the Praca has the best fish served simply.

If you can, pass on the big all inclusives and stay at Casa Velha. It's a gateway to a different kind of experience. You get to slip behind the scenes of Boa Vista, meet locals and make new friends.

It's a privilege to come home from a holiday and feel a sense of belonging and affinity with the island, it's beautiful warm people, and that there's a great place to stay at the end of each day.

Leaving is hard but made easier, so much easier, knowing we will be making trip #5 later this year...

The love affair continues!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank TripMember111420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Downstairs apartment a little dark and lacking utensils but the hospitality and location were stunning. Staff are so friendly and nothing is any trouble at all. Walk to town centre is 8 mins and many fab restaurants and supermarkets

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerryr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my first to Casa Velha and the place on arrival.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and were available to assist in arranging places to eat as well as tours. The apartments are spacious and designed with an eye for detail and kept immaculately clean. The roof terrace is a lovely peaceful space to relax and enjoy the tranquility and the beautiful sunsets. I loved my stay there and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing as are the room at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shakira20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Friendly staff and very nice accomodation. This appartement is perfect if you're visiting Boa Vista with some friends or as a couple.

Casa Velha is also close to the main street so shops, restaurants and taxis are always close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
1.4 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
#3 of 5 in Sal Rei
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#2 of 5 in Sal Rei
47 reviews
3.8 mi away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,017 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
#4 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha Resort

Address: Joao Cristovao | Sal Rei, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $109 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Velha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha Resort, born in 2007 in Praia Estoril, just 200 meters from the beach and 500 meters from the square of Sal Rei. The building, constructed in the Portuguese colonial style, consists of various types of apartments, with one or two rooms, which overlook the characteristic quintal. Each apartment is equipped with kitchen and private veranda. Above, the beautiful terrace overlooking the sea; the lovely bar on the ground floor for the abundant breakfast buffet with fresh local produce and traditional dishes made by our staff and for drinks with a romantic candlelight with live Cape Verdean music. Casa Velha Resort, ideal for families, authentics traveler and sports lovers (thanks the proximity to the most important club of kite surfing and windsurfing). The reception organized on request, yours days with excursions, and guided tours on quad bikes, cars and catamaran; group dinners and cultural events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Velha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Hotel Boa Vista
Casa Velha Resort Cape Verde/Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing